The Importance of Developing the Jamaican Trademark

Take a look. You and your bredrin Burrell can continue to tlak bout needing "proper" fields and stopping high school football while poorer countries continue to churn out international ballers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7NUxOskgbQ

http://www.siaone.com/academy.html

http://www.flickr.com/photos/62055206@N06/?saved=1
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Darn, that first video--just watching it made me want to sneeze. My lungs are burning from the dust.

There must be a better way...

I guess these players were saying the same thing growing up and playing football in their countries:

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/3...otball-history

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/3...rs-of-all-time
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sunday was also one of the first African footballers to play in Europe, despite the fact that he was on the bench most of the time while with Werder Breman. none of the early ones played outside of africa so it was apples and apples.

Overall, Kuffour is the youngest defender to ever score in the UEFA Champions League, and has the most appearances of any African player in the Champions League with 60. what does the highlighted section tell you?

not sure how you have refuted my claim. we would have many more players if we had proper infrastructure in jamaica

there is bibi, rudi, wily boo, wolfe, jason morrison .... so is not like we do not have exceptional talent that can get past that.

Is there really any comparison between Jamaica's and poor African countries' production of top international ballers? C'mon Mr. Barristah, do better than that. These countries are not waiting on "proper" playing fields to export quality ballers.

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1...rs-this-season

With a population of ~25 million, Ghana has a very deep pool of players.

Jamaica, not the same; therefore Jamaica needs all the help it can get.

Agreed, but don't miss my point.

ok....then what is the reason? they are more organised? the african cup of nations?

name the poor african countries? ghana? nigeria? senegal? ivory coast? maybe zimbabwe or even congo... how many of those countries have players out there?

the same could be said of brasil too...youth playing in the favela's etc. but BRASIL has a football centric infrastructure and people are always looking to brasil for brailian players.

do you think the number of spanish players in the premiership has anything to do with Spain being dominant in world and european football? germany and beligium are now flavour of the month...remember when it was france and nigeria ....

no-one is looking for young 14-16 jamaican players, not yet! how old was messi when he went to barca?

Seh Missah Men.

Dat look like Cbar field.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Good points , Jangle our problem isnt fields but poor coaching.When Simoes was at his height we qualified for Fifa youth tournaments frequently.Granted the style of play was ugly.
                        Last edited by Sir X; November 4, 2013, 07:55 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Good points , Jangle our problem isnt fields but poor coaching.When Simoes was at his height we qualified for Fifa youth tournaments frequently.Granted the style of play was ugly.
                          Xactly!! Gamma is not the only one that. is using this "field " thing as a prerequisite to our football development. I see Burrell tek $25m from the chiney man with one hand and a use him other hand a dip inna dem pocket a talk bout dem fi improve the clubs fields.

I see schafer advocating a all on board approach where clubs, schools, business , coaches come together to set up a program.

An academy alone will not solve our problem ,we have to have an holistic approach and this i see as the problem , the JFF will have to be more transparent with the stake holders.

Rene simoes was an average coach that got us to the World Cup based on the foundation of chemistry, common freaking sense , get a group of guys gel them together over years and qualification seems posiible.

What Burrell did post Simoes was use the hack and chop method , calling players a week before a majour tournament and it was not was exclusive to the seniors but dictated to the youths ,cc : Courtney who failed the youths.

Personally , I would sack Schafer and hire a bonafide experienced youth coach and build our program.Brendan Rodgers would do well .

Yuh always haffi spwile a good post eeh

Bad field - Demand development of particular type needed

skills.

a) Touch period - but repeated exercises on passes that arrive at the receiver in the air. The ball is often received as 'straight' 'air ball' or one bouncing around.

The touch has to be great...or should be great, to subdue that 'bouncing' or 'air' beast.

b) Foot/eye coordination;

c) Volleying;

d) Long cross field passing;

e) Awareness on surroundings=what happens on the field...movement of teammates & ball. Granted this happens on 'billard table fields' also. However, attention to more precise passing would go some way to mitigate against those unpredictable 'bounces'.

f) Should also encourage better tackles and swifter passing=less dwelling on the ball as effort to avoid tackles and prevent or lower the number of times player 'hug up di groun...' after all is said, di dutty tuff.

...do we want only 'billard table playingfields' damn right. ...but we are were we are!

g) Many 'air balls'=nuff eadin and that should translate into more attention being paid to good heading technique - demand for good heading technique.
                                Last edited by Karl; November 5, 2013, 06:23 PM. Reason: Correction