What happened to all these stars?

Mo I asked what happened to those guys exactly, not one answer yet, you probably have the most knowledge on that.

Where are these players today and what stopped them from having Rudolph Austin like success, was it all about the Jff.
      Titchfield's Denroy Wilson, leading scorer with 16 goals.

Cornwall defender Andre Moore and leading scorer Jahvan Russell who has five goals Lushane Brent Harris, Francoise Anderson, Charles Hind

Top-scorer Errol Bryan, who has scored nine times this season, and midfielder Steven Bennett will return to the starting team along with Ricardo Kerr, who came off the bench on Wednesday, and will join Jeolani Plummer and Alphanso Lewis who have combined for 10 goals so far, in trying to take Frome to their biggest challenge.

For the Portland school to return to the finals for the first time in 21 years, the competition's top-scorer, Denroy Wilson, must be more involved than he was on Wednesday. Anthony Bradshaw, Ryan McNeil

Over-lapping defender Rudolph Austin and Everton Blake, who have combined for 10 of Clarendon's 31 goals.
      Mario Harrison with 11 goals and Kenny Shelly

nope you are misguided as usual...but keep hope alive for your Alice-In-Wonderland Academy League capping out at 1-2 teams by 2025

Now dats a plan to believe inna.....mi belly!!

Was so in track and field for a long time too. We lost half of the best crop going abroad due to culture shock, indiscipline, lack of preparation and we lost all the second tier to no opportunity after high school.

Then guess what happened after someone worked out that LOCAL DEVELOPMENT was key to moving forward (prevailing over massive objection & ridicule)??

That MVP story should have taught you all a lesson by now...but alas...the foreign mind is a strong brainwashing force
            Last edited by Don1; October 23, 2013, 09:40 PM.

Your problem is yuh a build one house wid yuh imported 2nd storey in place...but no grassroots foundation...worries dat

Every whe yuh tun makka juk yuh Stoni
              Last edited by Don1; October 23, 2013, 09:41 PM.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Karl, yuh wasting your time like me, the discussion always go back to local versus farin for Don1. We need everything we can get. Best of local by whatever means, best of local stars abroad and diaspora players if we have gaps especially in the areas we are weakest, central defense and midfield.
                I even take it a little further, Stoni.
                Put our best TEAM on the field at all times. Football is the product and our best TEAM is the face of our football product. It opens doors for all our professionals of the standard that the world buys!

*Without that opening of the door...without that marketplace visibility no one comes a-calling!

The crazy stories...the 'Nancy stories...about not putting on the field our best TEAM hinders local development. It is just that 'Nancy story.

The creation of excellent National TEAMs demand local improvement in quality players and TEAMs.

The wish of our footballers to represent the Nation in and of itself should be motivation for the locals to raise standards such that selection to those National TEAMs is obligatory...i.e. quality of the performance by all in the TEAM is as far as quality of player goes, unquestioned top notch.

...real Badge of Honour to be on merit in TEAM! ...no gwey-weh bwoy a bly yuh get...rather you are among our best players and as competition among our player - local born and foreign born - increase eventually all our national players will be considered among world's best.

*Who would argue that as far as the quality of our local players and visibility of our National Teams in the marketplace draw it is not a stretch to say the quality has "the world staying away"?

Even among ourselves there is discussion on now that we are out of World Cup Qualifiers whether or not any of the teams preparing for World Cup Finals will deem us worthy to come calling. A reflection of quality Reggae Boyz TEAM - and reflection on quality players, local & foreign born - we put in the marketplace 1998 through to present.

Suggests we should move heaven and earth to raise standards - locally and of those we choose from among our foreign born. Any player from any group who by quality of performance is not among those considered best fit to give us 'best TEAM' SHOULD NOT BE SELECTED. Period! Matters not where born.

A player wishes to be in the National TEAM squad - Understated --->Not difficult...just present quality of play to be considered among our best available players who can help to create our very best of TEAM. End of story!
                Last edited by Karl; October 23, 2013, 10:04 PM.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  Karl, yuh wasting your time like me, the discussion always go back to local versus farin for Don1. We need everything we can get. Best of local by whatever means, best of local stars abroad and diaspora players if we have gaps especially in the areas we are weakest, central defense and midfield.
                  You are correct & logical here... but correct & logical only if your focus is akin to the current myopic WCQ-centric JFF strategy i.e. Unnu hurry-come-up

Since you obviously share that short term focus with the JFF and many Jamaicans...sharing the flawed strategy of assembly line "ready to play" imports instead of the healthier, organic local development is to be expected

Pity that this idiotic approach has been allowed to fester for 15 years of failure
                  Last edited by Don1; October 23, 2013, 09:48 PM.

Poor ting start making up stuff now...hush Skechers kick hot...

Yes missa academy league...wid no academies in sight...wooiiee mi spleen

Karl;451374]I even take it a little further, Stoni.
                        Put our best TEAM on the field at all times. Football is the product and our best TEAM is the face of our football product. It opens doors for all our professionals of the standard that the world buys!

*Without that opening of the door...without that marketplace visibility no one comes a-calling!

The crazy stories...the 'Nancy stories...about not putting on the field our best TEAM hinders local development. It is just that 'Nancy story.
                        Specious argument which parrots failed JFF policies for the past 15 years....continuing to follow this nonsense is a prescription for more failure.

The mission of football is that of creating an industry...not creating a team of the so called "best players". A good team should be a by-product of that industry....and the creation of that industry TOTALLY depends on local development

Sensible people know by now that using foreigners en masse instead of exercising patience with local players in a structured, long term development program...severely retards the development of that industry

Are you sensible?

The creation of excellent National TEAMs demand local improvement in quality players and TEAMs.
                        Finally a kernel of truth

The wish of our footballers to represent the Nation in and of itself should be motivation for the locals to raise standards such that selection to those National TEAMs is obligatory...i.e. quality of the performance by all in the TEAM is as far as quality of player goes, unquestioned top notch.
                        This is nonsense.

Standards are raised by great coaching and massive exposure to high level play... not merely by desire to represent the country

I'll allow you to withdraw this crap gracefully

...real Badge of Honour to be on merit in TEAM! ...no gwey-weh bwoy a bly yuh get...rather you are among our best players and as competition among our player - local born and foreign born - increase eventually all our national players will be considered among world's best.
                        This you should translate... it's murky

[I]*Who would argue that as far as the quality of our local players and visibility of our National Teams in the marketplace draw it is not a stretch to say the quality has "the world staying away"?
                        Absolutely...with all those ersatz Jamaicans playing... this was guaranteed

Even among ourselves there is discussion on now that we are out of World Cup Qualifiers whether or not any of the teams preparing for World Cup Finals will deem us worthy to come calling. A reflection of quality Reggae Boyz TEAM - and reflection on quality players, local & foreign born - we put in the marketplace 1998 through to present.
                        This concern is not important in the scheme of things

What's important is that Jamaica learns the lessons of 15 years of failed strategy... and make the required changes to re-emphasize local development over all else...

Suggests we should move heaven and earth to raise standards - locally and of those we choose from among our foreign born. Any player from any group who by quality of performance is not among those considered best fit to give us 'best TEAM' SHOULD NOT BE SELECTED. Period! Matters not where born. [/
                        A player wishes to be in the National TEAM squad - Understated --->Not difficult...just present quality of play to be considered among our best available players who can help to create our very best of TEAM. End of story!
                        Again the focus on so called "best players for the national team" ... this is more specious myopia.

The mission is development of an industry... do that grassroots work and the team will develop at the same time.... even if it means writing off an entire WCQ cycle.. after all we've written off 4 cycles on the trot

Unfortunately unnu too hurry-come-up an cyaan wait fi dat grassroots ting fi werk...aldo wi ah wait in vain fi 15 years fi unnu Fool's Gold of WCQ

That's the paradox of JA ball

It's a very good question, Stoni. Mario Harrison played with some good NPL teams and may have had one or two call ups to the national team. Shane Anderson plays or played for Savannah FC. The other names I don't recognize.

But remember, Jermaine Taylor was from the same batch as Austin, and he has moved on successfully to the pros as well. I remember them both playing for the national U-20 team. They looked like 2 for the future then. Not saying they have not lived up to expectations...well, yes, that's what I am saying!

Tricky to try and predict future Reggae Boyz from schoolboy football. Some are obvious standouts. Other good ones get bulldozed over by adolescent exuberance and bad football.

We'll that is the bottom line point, jff cannot support, develop and harvest all these players we produce, thus we must rely on a combination of strengthening tertiary options to keep them playing longer of course while ensuring that the ones that can continue to tertiary do so, develop academy options for the one percent, send abroad as much as is possible, and develop local clubs from the club level to compete in concacaf region, the last one being the most critical as that will lead to further exports and strengthening of the local league.