• What happened to all these stars?

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports3.html

Especially the wicked defense of Clarendon College in 2003 dacosta cup. We know what happen with Austin, but what about the others in this article, we are wasting some great talent between high school and rspl.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post

Especially the wicked defense of Clarendon College in 2003 dacosta cup. We know what happen with Austin, but what about the others in this article, we are wasting some great talent between high school and rspl.
    LOL... yuh haffi aks dat??

They were frustrated and ultimately defeated by the criminal negligence of the JFF in not instituting structured local development of youth players

Instead the JFF focused almost exclusively on a myopic and spectacularly failed WCQ-centric plan every few years.... anchored by the hurry come up tactic of last minute injection of foreign based players... many being mediocre, strangers to Jamaica and fellow players and/or not particularly interested in giving their all for Jamaica

In this toxic soup of neglect and ineptitude the JFF was enabled by misguided supporters like yourself who do not realize that the mission of football is to develop good players, clubs and teams at home so Jamaica can benefit from that business

Unfortunately even after 15 years of this utterly failed policy...many Jamaican football supporters still do not realize and openly acknowledge this folly and their error in enabling it by supporting the importation of foreign players en masse... even as they seek to debase locals at every opportunity

Time to wake up and smell the coco tea Stoni... English Breakfast Tea is not what the doctor would order to cure this patient
    Last edited by Don1; October 23, 2013, 09:43 AM.

Well, you did ask, Stonigut!

It is puzzling how otherwise intelligent individuals cannot detect the causal relationship between poor or no structured development of youth....and poor play when they become adults

Even when they seem to understand that simple equation...their prescription to address it is to support finding footballers abroad who have had some development at someone else's expense but are still mediocre

Then when yutes in Jamaica continue said poor play...they blame the yutes or the inanimate competitions they play in which don't and cannot have player development as their mission

Talk about a negative feedback loop designed to maintain mediocrity

The only thing more stupid I can think of at the moment is persons spending time trying to parse the the JLPNP leadership ... in order to celebrate the Tallest Midget in their ranks ...woooiiee

Of our High School extremely talented athletes...not just for football but all the sports...the attrition rate is in the stratosphere.

...and that's a fact!!!

in football ... why?

Stars? woiee mi belly...

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post

If they got enough CXC subjects and entered college or the workforce then ISSA did it's job well. For those who want to be football professionals there is not much opportunity in Jamaica, the Jamaican football economy is not that big. The JFF cannot help many ex ISSA ballers, they don't have the money to do it. Maybe they could help 1 baller per year but that would be it!

LOL... yuh haffi aks dat??

They were frustrated and ultimately defeated by the criminal negligence of the JFF in not instituting structured local development of youth players

Instead the JFF focused almost exclusively on a myopic and spectacularly failed WCQ-centric plan every few years.... anchored by the hurry come up tactic of last minute injection of foreign based players... many being mediocre, strangers to Jamaica and fellow players and/or not particularly interested in giving their all for Jamaica

In this toxic soup of neglect and ineptitude the JFF was enabled by misguided supporters like yourself who do not realize that the mission of football is to develop good players, clubs and teams at home so Jamaica can benefit from that business

Unfortunately even after 15 years of this utterly failed policy...many Jamaican football supporters still do not realize and openly acknowledge this folly and their error in enabling it by supporting the importation of foreign players en masse... even as they seek to debase locals at every opportunity

Time to wake up and smell the coco tea Stoni... English Breakfast Tea is not what the doctor would order to cure this patient
                  Not fair as it is far from the total picture!
                  a) How many players have the requisite skills to have attempted further development of their talents?

b) How many (easily accessible) avenues are available for such kids to venture down?

c) ...and of the avenues how many kids can they accommodate?

e) If the kids are to be moved in specialists institutions or entities for continuing the development of their talents - What is the age at which that transfer from school would take place?

f) If the kids are to be moved in specialists institutions or entities for continuing the development of their talents - How many kids in any one year would be worthy of being helped along that path?

g) If the kids are to be moved in specialists institutions or entities for continuing the development of their talents - Numbers needed to be accommodated during the first say, 5 years?

E.g. Could we find 30 (kids total from the age-group 15 year olds) + 30 (kids total from the age-group 16 year olds) + 30 (kids total from the age-group 17 year olds) each year...90 kids?

Would it be possible to find 90 kids 15 through 17 in any one year? ...or even 300 kids 8 through 17 in any one year?

h) After the fifth year what numbers with the necessary talent in any one year would the JFF need to provide that Youth Development or Player Development assistance you envisage?

The point is, in the context of talent abounds, you are absolutely correct on the JFF not having a Youth Development program or National Team(s) development program(programs)...but the JFF cannot alone be the alpha and omega on what happens to/with our talented youth.

Karl it is the JFF's responsibility to develop football. I cannot answer your statistics laden inquiries but I've already advanced simple and affordable plans to improve football quality using different stakeholder assets but under JFF dominion.

What more do you wish of me?

Actually what you have done is put forward a plan to continue the farce...

Karl it is the JFF's responsibility to develop football. I cannot answer your statistics laden inquiries but I've already advanced simple and affordable plans to improve football quality using different stakeholder assets but under JFF dominion.

What more do you wish of me?
                        JFF has its role...and the so do the other football entities.

Yes.. and it is the role of the JFF as custodian of Jamaican football to organize and galvanize those "other football entities" in a progressive manner to assure development of players

Sadly it does not

All true to a certain point, but you keep missing the third leg, the first two legs are schoolboy ball, the third leg is development of those that are not selected for foreign clubs, the fourth leg is foreign club ball in the best leagues in the world or second best or whatever you can get that pay your bills and keep you as sharp and as competitive as possible. We need it all local development, transition of young ballers and farin pro ball, that is the formula.

Karl, yuh wasting your time like me, the discussion always go back to local versus farin for Don1. We need everything we can get. Best of local by whatever means, best of local stars abroad and diaspora players if we have gaps especially in the areas we are weakest, central defense and midfield.