Discipline, preparation and winning!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    Yes, yes, when a team can run at you and break you down late in the game that means they came to war and you came to play "dolly house" we saw that in panama game clearly and the two jamaica games as well, we keep seeming to forget this too, USA knocked us out of 2006 or 2002 prehex with a 89 minute goal by Brian Ching in the Office, in our yard, at home, them things should never happen in sequence like that, that shows our calypso mentality, Reggae is rebel music rebels don't get beaten at home, in the final minutes of the match in the most critical match, sheer sloppiness and indiscipline.
    If you have not been properly prepared...too often there shall be times of sheer sloppiness and indiscipline and worse...

Mosiah all I am trying to do is build a ladder of achievement, pure and simple. Local ballers need fi know sey Nuh matter how man boots them up sey dem a baller, that where them is amount to zip and their goal, their focus should be solely on getting a contract outside of jamaica and earn some bread fi dem family, build on them skill, discipline and interpersonal relationship skills so them can go abroad, fit in, work hard and make a contribution.

Man and Man need to know and understand that to achieve and strive to be the best yuh can't stay at home in football, just suh. Therefore maximum props from me to all local stars that leave our shores and make it abroad, those are the real warriors, master level one you move on to level two, as level two does not exist in jamaica.

USA won two games outright, stealing victory from what seemed definite draws with goals after the 90th minute
        You can keep on harping about this "stealing" the USA did against Jamaica. But anyone who is honest with himself knows which way the theft went between the two teams:

It was only thanks to a blatant mistake by the linesman that you guys got on the scoreboard against us at all.

they finished ahead of us ....

Zeppo I rarely if ever protest offside unless it is flat out blatant, we don't have instant replay so little mistakes like this will be made in every level league. The mistakes that I rue are the ones the players make like slack marking or no marking, or there head is not in the game. Those are the mistakes these guys made, marginal offsides call happen every now and then can't really reverse after call is made.

It was not blatant! The player started in an offside position, got lost back in the pack after the kick was taken, and then headed the ball home. Any referee could have missed that call.

Blatant is when you call a penalty when the player was clearly fouled outside the area!

There is no shortcut to success and USA shows us that plainly with what is medicocre players with nothing special talent, but guess what they are going to Brazil and jamaica and panama are not!
                Yeah, Jamaica's got so much more talent than the USA. I guess that's why we played guys in this Hex who are currently competing in the Champions League, while Jamaica fielded semi-professionals. Hilarious.

And wasn't it you back in June, after the USA won in the Office, lamenting the fact that Jamaica has 'not one player with Dempsey's quality'?

But since you prefer to keep on rambling, where was all this talent you keep alluding to? Which players were lighting up the Hex with their dazzling displays? All the outside compliments you got from opposing coaches and players were about Jamaica's size, speed, strength. Too bad the Hex wasn't track and field.

Anyone who truly watched the Boyz play saw nothing more than this:
                Big, physical bruisers in defense and midfield. Speed demon wingers and forwards with poor touch and no finishing ability. Clueless tactical approach and zero creativity. That is the real deal right there.
                Last edited by Zeppo; October 23, 2013, 09:48 AM.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                  Yeah, Jamaica's got so much more talent than the USA. I guess that's why we played guys in this Hex who are currently competing in the Champions League, while Jamaica fielded semi-professionals. Hilarious.

And wasn't it you back in June, after the USA won in the Office, lamenting the fact that Jamaica has 'not one player with Dempsey's quality'?

But since you prefer to keep on rambling, where was all this talent you keep alluding to? Which players were lighting up the Hex with their dazzling displays? All the outside compliments you got from opposing coaches and players were about Jamaica's size, speed, strength. Too bad the Hex wasn't track and field.

Big, physical bruisers in defense and midfield. Speed demon wingers and forwards with poor touch and no finishing ability. Clueless tactical approach and zero creativity. That is the real deal right there.
                  Hmmmm..Normally I wouldn't let such temerity especially from yuh, pass widout deploying mi Tims to yuh structa.... but your analysis is largely correct

Anyhow don't get complacent wid mi forbearance ... it is not endless

Okay, I agree with most of what you say, but did you really mention "zero creativity"?

Red card offense for any yank to accuse another team of that!

You know the argument you make on talent does not hold water?
                      ...or is it when you speak of talent it is a misnomer?

Just think on the Bibical lesson on the use of talents. Among other things it alludes to non-development of same. One nation can have players with "all the talent in the world" but never work at developing same - buries the talent - and another nation with poor talent that is used/developed shall 'whap' the 'buriers' (... Jamaica' JFF and football affiliates) time and time again!!!

USA has football managers of faaaaaaaaaaaaaar greater skills/abilities than Jamaica's. On football managers - USA to Jamaica is like cheese to chalk!
                      Last edited by Karl; October 23, 2013, 07:00 PM.

Okay, I agree with most of what you say, but did you really mention "zero creativity"?

Red card offense for any yank to accuse another team of that!
                        Ok, let me revise that to "little creativity".

From what I saw in this Hex I was not impressed much by Jamaica's creative ability. How often did you see the Boyz carving open opposing defenses to create scoring chances?

And say what you like about the Yanks, but our creative midfielders easily outshone yours over this tournament.

Just look at Graham Zusi. Last year's assist leader in MLS and wasn't even a full-time starter for us over this Hex. First in the Office he was burning your fullback all night and set up Altidore's goal with his cross. Then when he came on in Kansas City he toyed with your defense before scoring his goal.

You'd kill to have a player like him in your midfield, whether you want to admit it or not.

From what I saw in this Hex I was not impressed much by Jamaica's creative ability. How often did you see the Boyz carving open opposing defenses to create scoring chances?

And say what you like about the Yanks, but our creative midfielders easily outshone yours over this tournament.

Just look at Graham Zusi. Last year's assist leader in MLS and wasn't even a full-time starter for us over this Hex. First in the Office he was burning your fullback all night and set up Altidore's goal with his cross. Then when he came on in Kansas City he toyed with your defense before scoring his goal.

You'd kill to have a player like him in your midfield, whether you want to admit it or not.
                          Yay!!! Go... USA!! USA!! USA!!

woiiiee mi stars n stripes!!

Zeppo actually this is excellent, love it, this is the real deal here and you know what even with that and some strong discipline some time together and that would be enough for the hex. But the areas we are weak in is low passing ability, weak tactical approach and poor first touch. I love Dempsey's intensity and approach to the game, sure I will take him over any of our mids or forwards except Austin.

Ouch!!!! But true!!!!

As a bwoy, me granny used to deploy me bigger cousin fi chase me round and round the yard and drag me fi tek "washout". She would literally buss me ass (here I guess that would be considered child abuse) fe swallow the nasty tasting Herb medicine tea. I would bawl and vomit and then they would hold me down again and give me more. I would sh!t for the rest of the day. Even though it is such a horrible experience, it is a firmly held belief of Jamaicans (especially the older generation) that pickney must get a "washout" at the end of the summer vacation before they go back to school in September. No need to spend money on any expensive colonoscopy.

Jamaica's football need smaddy fi hold it down and gi it some 'trong Herb medicine.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015