How to revolutionize Schoolboy Football for Century 21

• How to revolutionize Schoolboy Football for Century 21

A. ISSA to create two regions for school ball.... Western Region & Eastern Region..... containing comparable numbers of schools... ~50-60 per region

B. Eastern Region to consist of schools from Kingston, St Andrew, St Catherine, Portland & St Thomas....
    Western Region - Clarendon, Manchester, St Ann, St Elizabeth, Westmoreland, Hanover, St James & Trelawny

(ISSA can work out any parish adjustments suh mi nuh bizniz wid nuh quibbling ova placement minutiae)

C. Eastern Region competes for Manning Cup.... Western Region - DaCosta Cup

D. Each region further subdivided into 2 groups Manning Cup Premier League & Challenge League.... same for D'Cup

E. Premier League teams (~16 each region) will be seeded according to the schools with the best results over the preceding 5 years in their competitions. Challenge League teams will consist of those outside that top 16.

F. Premier & Challenge Leagues will be entirely separate competitions. Each year the top 4 teams in the Challenge League will be promoted to Premier...and the bottom 4 Premier teams demoted

G. After 16 home or away games ... the top 4 Premier league teams go into semi-final & final round... with winner taking the Manning & D'Cup trophies respectively.
    Challenge League to have 2 zones with an eventual playoff format leading to a championship game

H. Manning & D'Cup winners meet for Olivier Shield trophy as usual

I. If there's no time for additional games... the Walker/Ben Francis knockout competitions can be scrapped... if there is time ...the top 4 teams/League (8 teams total representing Challenge & Premier Leagues) in each Region compete for knockout titles

So we'll have

1. The best teams competing head to head more often for improved player development

2. Logistics/Cost Control via a more rational regional structure

3. Incentive based system for promotion/demotion

4. Preservation of an irreplaceable 100 year legacy of high school ball

Dis is a high level overview ongly...suh Stoni nuh aks mi fi nuh bizniz plan like ow yuh naw pay mi, Sass nuh tell mi seh Winnie nuh like skoola & Karl.. yes is TEAM wi ah defen..wooiiee

SolomonDon at your service
    Last edited by Don1; October 18, 2013, 07:14 PM.

Yuh still wear yuh JC uniform don't? Yuh really sat down and typed out that rubbish? I think you missed a step...like the player development part

Don't be ridiculous yute... did you even attend skool?? yuh cyaan read??

Dis is about how to reform the competitions...

Mi dun deal wid development lang time

Now run along lika good likkle bwoy an guh dream bout yuh pie inna di sky "academy league"...wooiiie
      Last edited by Don1; October 18, 2013, 07:35 PM.

Preservation of an irreplaceable 100 year legacy of high school ball
        more like a desperate attempt to hold on to a dead paradigm...now go squeeze into yuh blues

Typical response of the jacks playing no hopers who wudda pick up 14 love if dem cudda enta Manning Cup..LOL

Stick to squash while yuh wait fi yuh foolfool "academy league" wooiiee mi cleats

I like it, lots of room for thought and this is a great first step to changing the whole dynamic structure of the schoolboy game and developing a clear ladder oriented meritocracy throughout the program. Cost goes up tremendously but that is already the case for dcup teams today versus mcup teams. Also the watering down of the play with the inclusion of all these schools is dealt with by creating a two tier system. Nice!

But don't see no biz plan on identifying, developing and sustaining the cream of the crop youth to u20 players until export or if not exported maintaining the units of the unexported as competitive teams within the premier league club competition.

The first thing for me would be have the focus being the Oliver Shield. That is what the schools are competing for. daCosta and Manning would be conferences, the winners of which compete for the Oliver Shield. Think of the ALCS and the NLCS in American baseball.

ISSA is too "in the box" to rethink the format. If girls had not started to "outperform" the boys in athletics we would still be having Girls and Boys Champs separately.

Good...scratch that...excellent proposal.
                Such will run up against die-hards who find it difficult to accept change (A nuh di ting run from wappy was bwoy. lef wi schoolboy football.

I wonder how the prep schoos and primary school competions are currently set up. The area wherein those kids operate also need change.

Add good teachers/coaches to aid improvement and we would be on the way. This in no way would interfere with Bricktop's efforts at setting up an Academy League quite the opposite as it would be easier for his Academy scouts...and National teams scouts to do their work.

The first thing for me would be have the focus being the Oliver Shield. That is what the schools are competing for. daCosta and Manning would be conferences, the winners of which compete for the Oliver Shield. Think of the ALCS and the NLCS in American baseball.

ISSA is too "in the box" to rethink the format. If girls had not started to "outperform" the boys in athletics we would still be having Girls and Boys Champs separately.
                  Girl's Champs was collapsed into Champs because few were going and ISSA was losing money

Just how would you make the Olivier Shield the focus?

That would mean playoff system between the top 8 or at least top 4 teams islandwide.

They would be playing til New Year's

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                    I like it, lots of room for thought and this is a great first step to changing the whole dynamic structure of the schoolboy game and developing a clear ladder oriented meritocracy throughout the program. Cost goes up tremendously but that is already the case for dcup teams today versus mcup teams. Also the watering down of the play with the inclusion of all these schools is dealt with by creating a two tier system. Nice!

But don't see no biz plan on identifying, developing and sustaining the cream of the crop youth to u20 players until export or if not exported maintaining the units of the unexported as competitive teams within the premier league club competition.
                    Why thank you kind Stoni... very discerning

I think the restructuring would at worst be cost neutral. The geographic envelope for DCup teams would be reduced and MCup increased

Please see my comment re biz plan as this request was anticipated

Thank yew Karl .... I believe in working with what we have and improving our models in an affordable, systematic way... given our penury of course

However please explain this:

This in no way would interfere with Bricktop's efforts at setting up an Academy League quite the opposite as it would be easier for his Academy scouts...and National teams scouts to do their work.
                      Is there an effort by Btop to set up an “academy league"?

How many academies does a league require? 2? woooiiieee

How many academies currently exist? mi belly!!

Thank yew Karl .... I believe in working with what we have and improving our models in an affordable, systematic way... given our penury of course

However please explain this:

Is there an effort by Btop to set up an “academy league"?
                        He keeps yapping on about doing so. ...but I wonder if he knows what a top world academy looks like.

How many academies does a league require? 2? woooiiieee
                        Have asked that question many times...asked for *his numbers. Nary a peep from him. Just rambles on about academy being the only way to go for Jamaica.

How many academies currently exist? mi belly!!
                        Guess you mean in Jamaica...if so, Not one solitary one.
                        Bricktop, I think, believes putting up a building means he has an Academy?

*Expected numbers on attendance, numbers in each age-group, those "best of the best" he shall have each group play against outside of his academy - numbers of matches, etc., etc.

Do not expect him to give numbers on investment "seed" money, operating expenses, staffing, property size, etc., etc? ...but surely, if he is at all serious, he must have ideas on the other numbers
                        Last edited by Karl; October 19, 2013, 11:49 AM.

He keeps yapping on about doing so. ...but I wonder if he knows what a top world academy looks like.

Have asked that question many times...asked for *his numbers. Nary a peep from him. Just rambles on about academy being the only way to go for Jamaica.

Guess you mean in Jamaica...if so, Not one solitary one.
                          Bricktop, I think, believes putting up a building means he has an Academy?

*Expected numbers on attendance, numbers in each age-group, those "best of the best" he shall have each group play against outside of his academy - numbers of matches, etc., etc.

Do not expect him to give numbers on investment "seed" money, operating expenses, staffing, property size, etc., etc? ...but surely, if he is at all serious, he must have ideas on the other numbers
                          LOL “if he is at all serious“??

mi belly!!

keep in mind that these are publicly funded schools. What role does education play seeing that only 13% of the students are passing math. Thanks.

I am already implementing a system to support STEM education ... I am extremely pleased at the model created and want to see it expanded nationwide. I welcome any assistance or even moral support

Since boys also need to run up and down for physical and mental wellness. .. this is my offering for this to be done in a more sensible fashion than obtains at the present without any additional resource allocation
                              Last edited by Don1; October 19, 2013, 01:25 PM.