How to revolutionize Schoolboy Football for Century 21

He keeps yapping on about doing so. ...but I wonder if he knows what a top world academy looks like.
    An academy looks like any other business does

Have asked that question many times...asked for *his numbers. Nary a peep from him. Just rambles on about academy being the only way to go for Jamaica.
    The only number that matters is the price in Euros that will be paid for the final product

Guess you mean in Jamaica...if so, Not one solitary one.
    That would explain our poorly developed players

*Expected numbers on attendance, numbers in each age-group, those "best of the best" he shall have each group play against outside of his academy - numbers of matches, etc., etc.
    Keep trying to reinvent the wheel...this analysis has already been done and is being implemented around the world...no need to burst yuh likkle brain

Do not expect him to give numbers on investment "seed" money, operating expenses, staffing, property size, etc., etc? ...but surely, if he is at all serious, he must have ideas on the other numbers
    Once again...there are numerous successful academies operating worldwide...no need to burst yuh likkle brain...we already know the cost per year to develop a single player...we also already know the transfer fees that are paid for developed talent...all that matters is that the latter outstrips the former...which we already know is the case...you and Don2 can now go back to helping each other squeeze into your school uniforms

Bdl, no, I saw your comment, but chose to still push forward, thinking that your selfless devotion to Jamaica's development in any form football or otherwise ould precede! No.... preclude the thought of compensation and earthly material/easy gratification desires, I could be wrong though as you are resident in the greatest pen of gratification of such desires and resisting such would be...well....pretty tough!?

God Bless America!!!!!

BTW if it was an education project I might livicate the time to tease it out...and even promote it beyond the Rum Bar... but alas

A. ISSA to create two regions for school ball.... Western Region & Eastern Region..... containing comparable numbers of schools... ~50-60 per region

B. Eastern Region to consist of schools from Kingston, St Andrew, St Catherine, Portland & St Thomas....
          Western Region - Clarendon, Manchester, St Ann, St Elizabeth, Westmoreland, Hanover, St James & Trelawny

(ISSA can work out any parish adjustments suh mi nuh bizniz wid nuh quibbling ova placement minutiae)

C. Eastern Region competes for Manning Cup.... Western Region - DaCosta Cup

D. Each region further subdivided into 2 groups Manning Cup Premier League & Challenge League.... same for D'Cup

E. Premier League teams (~16 each region) will be seeded according to the schools with the best results over the preceding 5 years in their competitions. Challenge League teams will consist of those outside that top 16.

F. Premier & Challenge Leagues will be entirely separate competitions. Each year the top 4 teams in the Challenge League will be promoted to Premier...and the bottom 4 Premier teams demoted

G. After 16 home or away games ... the top 4 Premier league teams go into semi-final & final round... with winner taking the Manning & D'Cup trophies respectively.
          Challenge League to have 2 zones with an eventual playoff format leading to a championship game

H. Manning & D'Cup winners meet for Olivier Shield trophy as usual

I. If there's no time for additional games... the Walker/Ben Francis knockout competitions can be scrapped... if there is time ...the top 4 teams/League (8 teams total representing Challenge & Premier Leagues) in each Region compete for knockout titles

So we'll have

1. The best teams competing head to head more often for improved player development

2. Logistics/Cost Control via a more rational regional structure

3. Incentive based system for promotion/demotion

4. Preservation of an irreplaceable 100 year legacy of high school ball

Dis is a high level overview ongly...suh Stoni nuh aks mi fi nuh bizniz plan like ow yuh naw pay mi, Sass nuh tell mi seh Winnie nuh like skoola & Karl.. yes is TEAM wi ah defen..wooiiee

SolomonDon at your service
          Nice try Mr. football purist but ISSA is not primarily a football player development organization. It is a high school recreational sports organization that is run by principals. ISSA and the sponsors are not to going to support a system that kicks an academic focused school like Campion College out of the Manning Cup. Also if any of the traditional boys school drop out of the Manning Cup then people would be demanding to scrap the challenge cup. Please note that I am not saying that your idea is a bad idea, I am saying is not suitable for Jamaica's High School Sports Recreation.

This is another outdated win at all costs model...the focus being shifted away from development of players into the first team...in academy leagues, the result of the games are secondary...the important feedback from the games is performance...not result...

Here he goes round the mulbery

bush!

This is another outdated win at all costs model...the focus being shifted away from development of players into the first team...in academy leagues, the result of the games are secondary...the important feedback from the games is performance...not result...
                What does the below tell you on relationship between learning the skills of trade (football player), competitions (playing to win) and chances of Academy graduates 'making it' in professional leagues (chances of 'making the Euros' to make such a venture profitable in Jamaica)?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenal_F.C._Academy

It may just be telling you that your previous research - (Did you really do any research?) - on exactly what is an academy points to your needing to do more research? ...and that only if you are serious about founding an Academy in Jamaica?

It tells me that the only league that they record results in is U18...which makes sense because the next step is club football which is results oriented...how much did Bolton sign Bibi for? You're a joker or what?

Originally posted by Time View Post
                    Nice try Mr. football purist but ISSA is not primarily a football player development organization. It is a high school recreational sports organization that is run by principals. ISSA and the sponsors are not to going to support a system that kicks an academic focused school like Campion College out of the Manning Cup. Also if any of the traditional boys school drop out of the Manning Cup then people would be demanding to scrap the challenge cup. Please note that I am not saying that your idea is a bad idea, I am saying is not suitable for Jamaica's High School Sports Recreation.
                    You don't know what you're talking about.

Sponsors dont care about Campion or any such school.... . since they have no mass base of appeal in any major sport. If Campion decided not to pursue football in the Manning Cup I don't believe there would be even a whisper of protest or consternation.. especially among the Campion community

If any school doesn't have the requisite quality they should be placed with their peers and be allowed to improve at their own pace

No team should be getting 12 love in a competition... it indicates an imbalance which needs correction....which is why a 2nd tier is appropriate

Your contribution is noted but sadly is of little value
                    Last edited by Don1; October 19, 2013, 07:31 PM.

If Campion 'decide not to' is different from if Campion is 'kicked out.' Those who control the money get what the want and Campionites are well represented in both the decision making team of sponsors and the market that the sponsors are trying to reach.

If ISSA make changes that will kick out a school like Campion then they will be sending a message that the manning cup is about football skills and not participation. That is what football purists like you cannot see, Manning Cup participation is bigger than skills and results.

Finally, all schools are not equal. Many schools were left out of Champs because of late entries but society kept quiet until brand name St Georges was left out for the same reason. ISSA cannot design a rule that leaves out any traditional high school out of the Manning Cup.

Listen yute... no one is saying ANY school should be left out. If you're able to comprehend what I posted you eventually will realize that ALL are accommodated in the school competition I proposed

When a team is picking up regular 7 love, 10 love & 12 love whippings...something is wrong. The competition is devalued by such a travesty ... so cease your silly, thoughtless prattle about sponsors being concerned about Campion... that is absolute nonsense. Sponsors are concerned about EYEBALLS and MOVING PRODUCT. Very few eyeballs are on Campion football...and those that are should be seeing that school in a 2nd tier competition where if they have the capacity they can improve...or not

As to your crap about "traditional high schools" that type of thinking is ridiculous. The system must be based on merit...not some ossified opinion about social standing

Mind the "roti-eaters" charge you with plagiarism A to G is almost exactly how schoolboy football competition is structured in T&T, except the country is divided into five zones each with a "premier" division and a lower league. Schools are relegated and promoted accordingly. Winners of each zone meet to decide the overall island champion.

Then all teams compete in a FA Cup style knockout competition for a second trophy.

In addition to the schools league, there are several active clubs that run academy style programmes throughout the year... they however defer to the schools' competition during the competitive season which is like JA, Sep to Nov.

See my son's club's website here:http://www.skhyfc.com/ If you check their calendar they still have matches scheduled even during the schools' football season as many players might not be on their school team, or, like my son, attending a school that has opted out of the league for whatever reason.

I think the clubs like SKHY and others that I know of have a good relationship with the local schools league organizers. IMO it is these clubs that are really developing the HS ballers for their relatively short season as they are running 12 months a year. This year my son went to two tournaments in the US with SKHY and next year they will also be going. Those tournaments like the Dallas Cup are the real eye openers for these youths as the level of play is better, IMO, than what they encounter on local soil.

Anyway, I like your model and it is one that is not exclusive of academies. Schools football will always be with us but it doesn't mean that academies have no place. As I mentioned, whether you call them academies/clubs/ whatever, those organizations that run continuously will be the real developers of talent, playing for school is for bragging rights, but we know where the training and moulding is really taking place.

Mind the "roti-eaters" charge you with plagiarism A to G is almost exactly how schoolboy football competition is structured in T&T, except the country is divided into five zones each with a "premier" division and a lower league. Schools are relegated and promoted accordingly. Winners of each zone meet to decide the overall island champion.

Then all teams compete in a FA Cup style knockout competition for a second trophy.

In addition to the schools league, there are several active clubs that run academy style programmes throughout the year... they however defer to the schools' competition during the competitive season which is like JA, Sep to Nov.

See my son's club's website here:http://www.skhyfc.com/ If you check their calendar they still have matches scheduled even during the schools' football season as many players might not be on their school team, or, like my son, attending a school that has opted out of the league for whatever reason.

I think the clubs like SKHY and others that I know of have a good relationship with the local schools league organizers. IMO it is these clubs that are really developing the HS ballers for their relatively short season as they are running 12 months a year. This year my son went to two tournaments in the US with SKHY and next year they will also be going. Those tournaments like the Dallas Cup are the real eye openers for these youths as the level of play is better, IMO, than what they encounter on local soil.

Anyway, I like your model and it is one that is not exclusive of academies. Schools football will always be with us but it doesn't mean that academies have no place. As I mentioned, whether you call them academies/clubs/ whatever, those organizations that run continuously will be the real developers of talent, playing for school is for bragging rights, but we know where the training and moulding is really taking place.
                            LOL noice!
                            Now mi know di Trini dem smarter dan wi
                            Yes in a normal world club academies are the way to go. In Jamaica's bruck pocket environment if we're to wait on clubs to develop academies we would be waiting forever.

So the quick, affordable transitional step is to have a central JFF youth academy supported by the school system

Good luck to your son
                            Last edited by Don1; October 19, 2013, 10:21 PM.

All we still talking about your system that is going to kick Campion out of the Manning Cup and into a Challenge Cup?

Originally posted by Time View Post
                                All we still talking about your system that is going to kick Campion out of the Manning Cup and into a Challenge Cup?
                                you seem to be a Campion groupie with this yappin... ok that's your prerogative

i proposed a merit based system where performance is what counts... where schools are placed will and should depend on their results and not on what you or other like minded people think of them

feel free to advance a system which is devalued or which satisfies whatever twisted personal agenda you may have

dismissed
                                Last edited by Don1; October 20, 2013, 08:40 AM.