Call for US style draft for Manning & D'Cup ballas...

The JFF has toyed with such...

...introducing U15 though senior parish teams.

I thinks some of the age-group teams and the senior Parish teams have gone the way of rediffusion, i.e. extinct.

how many world cups have they been to on the trot?

... even if they go to colleges overseas.

Hmm.. Draft players heading into a 'non professional' college system into a professional club system? players Where is my learned friend Gamma when we need him?

I believe that the way they have managed their teams over the years is pretty impressive. They hav e, I think, consistently punched above the weight of their aggregations - Impressive TEAM showings with the player quality in the various squads. ...what is the saying, 'making the sum of the parts greater than the whole'?

Who said TEAM is played out?
          TEAM is the only thing!!!

Totally agree with what you are intimating in your understated way - Aping the USA's program is not 'half-bad'!

Yes, most are already with clubs. And then the late bloomer get with clubs in those latter years when them mash up D-CUP. So who is available for the draft? Campion players? Then again, even their one or two good players are usually attached to Real Mona.

Who needs TEAM...all we need is a playmaker

Whatever happened to TOP OF THE WORLD performances, against the best in the world?! If all we want to do is get to the big dance then...

That alone might render the idea dead from the get-go!

You will not get any sponsorship for Parish Competition and I think that is why the USA changed their system somewhat. The federation monitor it but leave it to the daily running of the club and sponsorship. Now if you are playing for an elite club, you can't play high school soccer in the US. Not sure they would want to do the later in Ja but it is just a consideration.

We have to walk before we crawl, that is one of our problems. We don't set goals and mark improvement. It is all or nothing.

Conflicted article..

The man talking about the Future of Football and then talk about drafting players from Manning Cup and DaCosta Cup ???

The force is strong with the Schoolboy Football Mafia !!

lol ! woiee !!

After all.. FIFA World Cup new tuh dis.. dem know how long Manning Cup a gwaan !?

The purpose of playing football in Jamaica is to continue to develop a compendiium of stories and nostalgia around Manning and DaCosta Cup..

Duh !

That alone might render the idea dead from the get-go!
                          Gamma, Gamma, Gamma come forth with some legal counsel nuh!

well .... there is a bit of a conumdrum. if the player receives any kind of compensation other than expenses for playing football he is considered a professional by FIFA otherwise he is an amateur ... NCAA might have a different interpreation of amateur, e,g, once a person has retained an agent it seems that he is considered a professional ... whereas an amteur may have an agent and remain an amateur notwithstaning until he actual enters into a contract where he is being paid for his footballing skills....

Currently schoolboys can play in the NPL but they can't be paid and can't sign professional contract. Our league is still "Semi-pro".

Some players had problem with NCAA. Player like Ryan Thompson had to sit a year after a complain was lodged that he was a pro player for HV. He was re-instated after his case.

I think they could do that but research NCAA law and make sure it is not broken. Have to research how it currently work with youth players attached to the MLS teams.

Currently schoolboys can play in the NPL but they can't be paid and can't sign professional contract. Our league is still "Semi-pro".

Some players had problem with NCAA. Player like Ryan Thompson had to sit a year after a complain was lodged that he was a pro player for HV. He was re-instated after his case.

I think they could do that but research NCAA law and make sure it is not broken. Have to research how it currently work with youth players attached to the MLS teams.
                                Our schoolboys play in the NPL....mmm?
                                Is the NPL considered amateur or professional league?
                                ...are the clubs considered amateur clubs or professional clubs?