You expect him to take 9 year olds and work with them for 2018? Yuh have sense? Obviously it is the schoolboys they have to develop for 2018 WC...duh...
Winnie banks on Yutes to stop RBZ losing habit
Originally posted by Assasin View PostAt least I know what I am talking about.
Raheen Sterling, Wilfred Zaha, Cesc Fabregas, Freddie Green, Allan "Skill" Cole, Wayne Rooney, Lingbergh Delepenha, Theo Walcott...and the list could keep going...
Some boys at 16 are professional footballers with top world class clubs...some already in their country's national team...but talent abounds and not just in Jamaica but throughout the world (I often refer to our abundance of talented youngsters)...so most of the talented young will be found at schools. Among those found at/in schools will be some with top exceptional talent.
Many are the reasons why tremendous talent is lost. ...in Jamaica's case the loss of talented footballers - youngsters not going on to fulfill potential has nothing to do with playing in school competition but what happens in terms of discovery by those who could move them on to professional leagues.
Poor football teachers/coaches during early stages of development, loss of motivation, absence of avenues to "showcase" skills to professional teams, poor selection policy of the JFF national teams selection body - greatest of talent hit the selectors in the face but if the kid is not a bruky-boo considered not good, poor national teams programs, taking another career path...etc., etc.
btw - Possible reasons why Freddie Green and Allan "Skill" Cole never had professional careers.
Freddie decided to go to University in Scotland..."Skill" actually landed a professional contract in S. America and gave it up because he did not like the local food.
Just imagine that a player touted as out greatest footballer just got a lucky break while playing on a British Army team in the Middle East. ...just pure 'buk-up' or that talent also would have disappeared. That player is the former Munro and Wolmers athlete Lindy Delapenha.
Schools properly managed is not a bad place to start out on the early development path...as they are for every occupation under the Sun."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Don1 View PostSass the JFF, you & most on this forum downgrade local players & their development.. and want to see the so called "best players" suit up for Jamaica.... quite myopic
You cannot be downgrading our players...and that includes local players...and at the same time be calling for "best (available) players"
To unnu dat always means players in foreign leagues and most especially mediocre English ballas with barely trace connections to Jamaica should be on the field... with perhaps the token local to salve unnu conscience
Every single poster has been calling for improved teaching/coaching...improved teams...and that includes national age-group teams from which national players will be drawn.
Inherent in taking such a position is wish for local programs to achieve that making of Reggae Boyz and other Jamaica teams with either entirely local born players - This would definitely occur at the U-17 level and more often than not at the U20 level.
Above those levels i.e. Olympic & Senior TEAMs as quality of local players and standard of team play improves it would not be a stretch to expect that if "best available players" are consistently chosen that the possibility of 100% local born players being selected would increase as possibility of 100% players born outside of the island being selected would decrease...i.e. move to lower and lower %age composition of TEAM.
What the JFF, you and fellow myopic observers don't realize is that the so called "best players" don't equate to the "best team" when viewed over a broad time horizon.
The "best teams" are formed out of constant high quality practice, exposure to high level play and the development of group understanding and cohesion.. everyone moving on & off the field in concert
Look...it is hoped...it is the aim that as time goes by standards will improve to such a level that a number of players of TOP OF THE WORLD quality will be vying for the same position on TEAM...therefore it becomes a judgment call on who is "best player"..."best player for TEAM.
This can ONLY occur in the Jamaican context by developing a core player set out of Jamaica which can establish those indispensable group dynamics with aforementioned high quality exposure over time...
...that is why you have perpetual renewal (perpetual ongoing enabling of development) of our talented and national teams programs!!!
That I have not heard anyone on this board disagree with from 'wappie waus a bwoy'!
When that is done we can look to fill the inevitable holes and buttress the team with early committing offshore players.. even Snow Ballas
To wit: Basically an updated version of the strategy used for 1998 WCQ... the only successful model to date
...as we seek "best TEAMS" to reap greatest of marketing and greatest of 'sales' of players"...contracts for our TEAMs...and all associated locally developed technical persons. ...to wit 'creation of a football industry' that plays its part in our country's economic development.
But unnu tun Gladdis an unnu nuh ave di time nor patience fi wait fi dat... unnu want WCQ NOW!! .. with disastrous results over the past 15 years of unnu myopic, hurry-come-up policy being in effect
...and yes, we wish WCQ now.
Again you misunderstand - There is no need for failure to field a powerful Reggae Boyz team (national senior team) even as we implement programs and improve standards at the lower levels. Both must occur at the same time!
Any RBZ team policy other than I described (or some version) is destined to neither achieve the primary JFF mission of local development of a football industry nor the entirely secondary mission of WCQ... i.e. the worst of all possible outcomes will be the result... as we have experienced since 1998
Since I've stated that position innumerable times before I didn't expect to have to do so again for your benefit. Please pay attention henceforth....
Thanks in advance
Well...I hope you can see that your way will reap results down the road...I think that in an earlier piece you mentioned some years down the road...while most on this board see that we can start immediately reaping greater market awareness for our 'product' by immediately fielding top quality national senior team and more rapidly improve market share while simultaneously building the local football industry.
Respek!!!Last edited by Karl; October 17, 2013, 06:38 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
yuh ah live yuh life vicariously through Sass ... wha kind weak-heart sitten datTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostYou expect him to take 9 year olds and work with them for 2018? Yuh have sense? Obviously it is the schoolboys they have to develop for 2018 WC...duh...
You have to make up your mind, Mr. Bricktop.
You must stick with your oft repeated saying that 'schools football is foolishness' and 'no development of a footballer can occur in schools'...or agree that schools have a roll to play.
You cannot have it both ways!!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
We don't have academies...we have a schoolboy league...where else the footballers gonna come from...once the academy system kick in and go through couple cycle schoolboy football becomes irrelevant...you up to speed know?
p.s. Leon Bailey was developed at several academies...what a way yuh confused
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWe don't have academies...we have a schoolboy league...where else the footballers gonna come from...once the academy system kick in and go through couple cycle schoolboy football becomes irrelevant...you up to speed know?
p.s. Leon Bailey was developed at several academies...what a way yuh confused
So please tell me which academy? ...and please do not tell me Phoenix Academy although I must admit Butler ran a good training session?Last edited by Karl; October 17, 2013, 07:07 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Him back broada than mineHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Who dat... HL??
Mi nuh tink suh...im ah hide back ah yuh fi fling some pebbleTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Oh I thought the comment was directed at me. Well my back broada than HL'sHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostBut a wah di...
Yuh good...bad!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWhere did he play when Butler took him to Europe?
How long was he in Europe?
btw - How long does it take to attain your "development'?
Just asking for edification!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Shouldn't you know the answer to these questions? You brought up Bailey playing at Genk...yuh realize that is an academy...5-18 is when they are developed...19 yuh supposed to be breaking into the club starting 11...stick around yuh might learn something