• Winnie banks on Yutes to stop RBZ losing habit

... hmmm dis bears some watching to keep Winnie honest

WINNIE DOAN TAP ATALL!!!: MANNING CUP FI LIFE!!

Youth at forefront of Schäfer's plans ... wants youths to lead the way forward
    Published: Thursday | October 17, 2013

Deshorn Brown is lifted by Je-Vaughn Watson (partly hidden), and Adrian Mariappa (left) and Wesley Morgan (No. 7) celebrate Jamaica's goal, while Honduras' goalscorer Carlos Costly looks on, during the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying football match at the National Stadium on Tuesday night. The match ended 2-2. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographe

Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter

With Jamaica's Road to Rio campaign having come to a slow and painful end, Winfried Schäfer has ambitions of charting a new course with young players in an effort to put the country on a path to Russia 2018.

Schäfer's contract was due to expire at the end of the Reggae Boyz final match of the CONCACAF Qualifying, which saw the Boyz draw 2-2 with Honduras inside the National Stadium on Tuesday.

Schafer, however, expressed a desire to stay on and help develop the country's football programme.

"Captain (Horace) Burrell and I will talk about the future and if we agree we can build a very good national team, and not only a national team, but more power in Jamaican football," Schäfer said. "We have to change many things, it is clear, and I see good players who need more training and special training. We have to talk with the clubs, as we need the cooperation of all clubs."

Schäfer has shown a willingness to call young players to the senior team, having drafted in 23-year-old Romario Campbell, 21-year-old Kemar Lawrence and 22-year-old Deshorn Brown.

This is not a new approach, however, with players such as 21-year-old Marvin Morgan, who was called to the 2010 Caribbean Championship team and made two appearances scoring two goals; 22-year-old Jermie Lynch, who scored in his lone appearance for the senior team in a 1-0 win over Guyana in May 2012, and 18-year-old Jorgihno James, who scored a spectacular goal on debut against Cuba in February 2012, having been called up by previous coach, Theodore Whitmore. But these players, having been given the initial opportunity, found themselves in the wilderness despite performing creditably.

"We have to take on the young boys and let them work, work, work," Schäfer said. "We need matches for the future, we need work. Our young players want training. We have good schoolboy footballers - 17-year-olds - so for 2018 our future is in these young players."

Despite the country's football federation coming in for criticism for the number of non-Jamaican-born players that were drafted in for the final phase of the campaign, Schäfer does not seem keen to do away fully with the practice.

"You can't use only local players, you have to work for those players to get better and better and take other players," Schäfer said.
    Last edited by Don1; October 17, 2013, 11:43 AM.

We talking two different things. Young for Winnie is not 21 and 22 year old. Young for Winnie is 15 to 17. As I said. No top class youth at 19 should be playing Dcup and Manning cup.

Sass fi yuh literal, linear & limited reasoning style is not interesting at the moment

At least I know what I am talking about.

Yes.. you know garbage well

We have to take on the young boys and let them work, work, work," Schäfer said. "We need matches for the future, we need work. Our young players want training. We have good schoolboy footballers - 17-year-olds - so for 2018 our future is in these young players."
            Winnie ave sense ... nuh choo Sass

that a you fi judge. What he has been saying is what many people have been saying for a long time. What is so different and new in what he is saying?????

Can you tell me.

You're clearly out to lunch... gwaan nyam

Can you answer a question??? thanks.

Sass the JFF, you & most on this forum downgrade local players & their development.. and want to see the so called "best players" suit up for Jamaica.... quite myopic

To unnu dat always means players in foreign leagues and most especially mediocre English ballas with barely trace connections to Jamaica should be on the field... with perhaps the token local to salve unnu conscience

What the JFF, you and fellow myopic observers don't realize is that the so called "best players" don't equate to the "best team" when viewed over a broad time horizon.

The "best teams" are formed out of constant high quality practice, exposure to high level play and the development of group understanding and cohesion.. everyone moving on & off the field in concert

This can ONLY occur in the Jamaican context by developing a core player set out of Jamaica which can establish those indispensable group dynamics with aforementioned high quality exposure over time...

When that is done we can look to fill the inevitable holes and buttress the team with early committing offshore players.. even Snow Ballas
                    To wit: Basically an updated version of the strategy used for 1998 WCQ... the only successful model to date

But unnu tun Gladdis an unnu nuh ave di time nor patience fi wait fi dat... unnu want WCQ NOW!! .. with disastrous results over the past 15 years of unnu myopic, hurry-come-up policy being in effect

Any RBZ team policy other than I described (or some version) is destined to neither achieve the primary JFF mission of local development of a football industry nor the entirely secondary mission of WCQ... i.e. the worst of all possible outcomes will be the result... as we have experienced since 1998

Since I've stated that position innumerable times before I didn't expect to have to do so again for your benefit. Please pay attention henceforth....

Thanks in advance

you need to believe your rubbish, go and read and talk to me.

Your problem is you join right in the middle of an argument and have no humility, just slinging.

When we got by the first round of qualifiers I was on here stressing that we only needed a few player to strengthen our team. Said no less than three and no more than five. I clearly stated the positions we need to strengthen while many on here cuss me bout we needed a new team and we had better English players. I stressed that any player who didn't join after the first round shouldn't play.

I have no idea how you come up with these things, When have you hear me talk anything about "best team"?????

Kindly take your bullsheet oneside. I will not disrespect anybody who represent us. If I feel they didn't play well I will say it but that is the difference between me and you.

YOu argument is voided.
                      I

Kindly take your bullsheet oneside.
                        I
                        SLAP!!!!Them man yah a look yuh inna yuh yeye, smile wid yuh and shot yuh betwix yuh yeye. Cold-blooded ASSASIN!!!!
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

y
                          YOu argument is voided.
                          I
                          Gwaan Sass!! wooiiee

Here comes Bricktop? Dis yah fool-fool...

"We have to take on the young boys and let them work, work, work," Schäfer said. "We need matches for the future, we need work. Our young players want training. We have good schoolboy footballers - 17-year-olds - so for 2018 our future is in these young players."

Ooooh Bwoy!!!!

SLAP!!!!Them man yah a look yuh inna yuh yeye, smile wid yuh and shot yuh betwix yuh yeye. Cold-blooded ASSASIN!!!!
                              Dat mi a say Jangle. The one Assasin no jestah ...

Runn it 'ssasin...rrunnitt yes.