July 2nd, 2009, 06:20 AM
    Jangle
    Reggae Ambassador

I agree 100% with TK. While winning the GC is the ultimate prize, I think that once we reach the finals, that in itself would be a major accomplishment. Whichever way we fans want to spin it, we are nowhere near the level of consistency as the US, so we must temper our expectations and be realistic. This team gives us the best chance at winning and the timing is right.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

July 2nd, 2009, 07:30 AM
      Jangle
      Reggae Ambassador

"quote: "the beatings will continue until morale has
      improved".

In 2006 when Brasil got knocked out in the quarters, were the people of Brasil happy? When Brasil lost in the final of 98 , were the people of Brasil happy? What if the Brasilians were to say ah it's Europe and that's a tough place to win the WC, at least the played in the finals with France."

I agree with these points that you put forward 100%, but unfortunately, they cannot be applied to Jamaica because of this:

"The Prof. gave us the blue print to the science of the game and ball. Ja should now lay this question at the feet of the NPL.

Does any NPL team have tryouts? Does any NPL team scout for talent outside of the high school leagues? Do they scout the small tournaments or put out a listening ear for who is the king of scrimmage or street ball?
      How was R9 found?"

I was one who opposed your argument last year about playing better quality teams like Mexico over the weaker Caribbean teams. I understand that we must set goals in order to improve, but sometimes, I think we as fans tend to set the bar too high. Without the proper infrastructure in place, a decent local league for one, we have overachieved by qualifying for a WC. That has led meny to believe that we had arrived or even close enough to the other top teams in CONCACAF. Last year, after we had done the rounds of playing those small teams, you wanted us to jump to the bigger teams when we struggled to beat those same small teams. There were so many issues that the Prof needed to work out that playing better teams, in my opinion, would have done us more harm than good. The team started to gell just prior to the start of the qualifying rounds. Simoes used the wrong tactics in those 3 early games, but by the time Tappa got the team, they were a unit then. Tappa succeeded by changing tactics and tweaking the squad. Right now, the team is on an upward trend, but all would not be lost if we don't win the Gold Cup. However, anything less than reaching the finals, can be viewed as a minor failure if we don't play with heart, intelligence and competitiveness.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

July 2nd, 2009, 08:01 AM
        Jangle
        Reggae Ambassador

Let's leave it at this: let's take it one match at a time. Of course, if we get to the finals, then our sole objective must be to win the match, however, if we fail, then overall we need to examine our overall performance throughout the tournament. Did we get to the finals by chance; did we win the cup on a buckup goal; did we lose on a buckup goal; did we dominate our opponents; these are just a few of the things that we would have to analyse after the tournament to gauge where we are. If we stumble our way to the title, it would look good on our record, but does that mean we can start thinking about challenging the USA for that number 1 spot? Does that mean we can start expecting future WC qualifications without the drama? Nothing is wrong with adopting a winning mentality but without the base, it would like walking around with our heads in the cloud.

July 18th, 2009, 11:37 AM
          Jangle
          Reggae Ambassador

Pre-season training in Jamaica
          Every summer we see clubs in the top European leagues journey to far away lands for their pre-season training and to promote and expand their fan base. Manchester United is in Asia while Barcelona heads to the USA. I think it is about time that the JFF, who is responsible for football in Jamaica, takes the necessary steps to bringing some of these teams to Jamaica. If we can bring the biggest names in entertainment to our shores, why can't we do the same for football. It seems that there is a vacuum of ideas and leaders in Jamaica's football. Captain Burrell seems to be heading back down the same road that he was on before he got voted out of power. Personally, I was expecting more from the Captain the second time around.

July 18th, 2009, 12:13 PM
            Jangle
            Reggae Ambassador

other teams can be invited and hosted. They can play a DPL or a Caribbean all-star team. Mexican teams can be invited. I don't think that most of these European teams are too concerned about getting "serious" competition in their pre-season warm ups.

Yuteman it look like yuh ah get disoriented wid dem whole heap ah flashback yah

There's now an effective treatment for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.. if yuh nuh ave insurance ObamaCare dehdeh fi yuh ...afta dem fix di website doh

February 26th, 2011, 11:16 AM
                Jangle
                Reggae Ambassador

Quote:
                Originally Posted by HL
                haaaahhaa...just jink you medicine.

Look if the result went the other way... I would literally be flogged in the forum's public square!!

You don't need money to know how to control a ball and make over 5 successful passes.

Farmah is right. The team need a new coach. Someone who knows nothing about the Jamaican approach to football.

And oh BTW... the U-17 would be better of spending time in the US training for thr World Cup.

Yuh know HL, I agree with about 90% of what you say, especially the part about training in the USA. As I just said to a bredrin of mine, we don't have to go to or get a "BRAZILIAN" coach toget us to the highest level. We, as a nation, have been under the Brazilian spell for decades now, and can't see behind the aura. It is significantly cheaper to hire and set up camps in the USA. What our players and our football need is structured teaching. We need to be taught how to play within a structured environment. We need to learn the the proper techniques at an early age. Any qualified (and I am not using that term loosely) coach can teach us the basics of the game. How to control the ball, pass, dribble, running into space, etc. It does not have to be a Brazilian. There are a multitude of qualified coaches out there that are looking for an opportunity to make a name for themselves. Someone enlighten me. How many of our coaches in Jamaica has a four year degree.....in something related to sports? I am not saying that you need that to be a good coach, but it helps. There are many college graduates here (USA) in high schools, colleges, MLS that we can hire. Many have the college connections here where it would be very easy to take a squad to camps several times throughout the year. They would get food and boarding and be playing on well maintained fields, which would be better than anything we have at home.

I have said this many times before here, we need a technical director whose job is to oversee the development of the game in Jamaica. He would be responsible for the "style" of our play, which, I see as a hybrid of the English and the Brazilian game. We grew up watching the English game, but we fantasize about the Brazilian.

February 26th, 2011, 03:45 PM
                  Jangle
                  Reggae Ambassador

"The enviroment is a collegiate one, and its better than any youth system we have in Jamaica , but is it comparable to the Brazillain youth system?"

You a one those people who just see words but don't absorb their contents. I didn't say to put them in a collegiate environment. What I meant was to utilise their facilities by setting up camps during the holiday seasons. But now that I think about it, what harm would it do to have our U17 and U15 playing against college teams? It is also easier to tap into the Jamaican and caribbean diaspora here in the US to get support. Brazil is not the end all, be all. We need to give more respect to US Soccer because they have achieved far more than us. We may not like their style of play, but we cannot match their accomplishments.

I think you'll get my point now.

dem seh peeple who chat to demself nuff an ansa back dem really need nuff treatment
                      Last edited by Don1; October 17, 2013, 11:09 AM.

Um....Jangle? You ok breds? Maybe you should sit down....take a load off.....here have a glass of water....you want to watch some tv?....here's the remote....looks like the cooking channel has something good on there today....wait here in the living room....I'll be right back...... (T.K. cautiously backs up and walks over to the phone slowly dialing the number for Bellevue)..... ....

Is that the best you can do???

mi nuh tink yuh cyan hangle tuh much more... but if yuh feel suh mek mi know

No sah!!!! Me caan hangle fi yuh tracing!!!! Beg yuh excuse sar...... me gently tekking whey meself!!!!

Well please si wid mi ... like ow mi si persons ah defen suh much folly afta di RBZ flop mi kinda nuh inna nuh pet n powda ting at the moment

Judgment!!!