DonUno need fi run whey dis white man

• DonUno need fi run whey dis white man

This man yah nuh know nuttin bout coaching and building football programs. How him fi a promote the Reggaeboyz playing teams ranked lower than us? A eediat dat.

German coach envisions future with Reggae Boyz

Schafer: Many things will have to change going forward
    BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor
    Thursday, October 17, 2013

NOW that the Brazil 2014 show is over from a Jamaican point of view, the work for Russia 2018 must start now, says Winfried Schafer.

In fact, Reggae Boyz coach thinks now is a moment too late and the foundation for Russia should have long been under way.

Jamaica striker Darren Mattocks (right) gets away from Honduras defender Brayan Beckeles during their World Cup Qualifier at the National Stadium on Tuesday night. The game ended 2-2. (PHOTO: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)

"Today and tomorrow is too late, we have to start work yesterday... the young players here in Jamaica and those in the United States need our help... we have enough local players for the team to play against other countries in the Caribbean.

"The local players must go out of Jamaica and play against other teams in the Caribbean — either other teams can come to us or we can go to them maybe," said the German in a post-match press conference after Jamaica and World Cup-bound Honduras played to a 2-2 draw inside the National Stadium on Tuesday.

Schafer, since taking over the job four matches ago, has postured from day one as a coach who appeared interested in a long-term future with the national team, but an extension of his four-month contract that expires in November is still being discussed.

"I spoke with Captain (Horace) Burrell, the boss of the football and we want the same thing... but we are still talking and I hope we can agree," Schafer told journalists on Tuesday night.

If he and the JFF are able to agree to terms, the former Cameroon coach indicated that going forward new approaches to the technical programme have to be employed.

Schafer's vision is for a wholesome partnership among all stakeholders of football in the drive for Russia 2018 and the long-term future of the nation's football.

"Clearly, going forward there are many things we have to change. I have been going around the leagues and I see many players, some of them may need special training.

" I will be going to all the clubs as I want to get all presidents and coaches as we need their co-operation and with that we will have a chance for reaching the higher level... if the players come and play good for the national teams, then they can go back and play for their clubs and the clubs will be better," he said.

Schafer used the opportunity to lament the poor preparation of the team, especially going into the final round of the CONCACAF qualification.

"All teams in the group have had training camps and went to the Gold Cup and you could see that each player knew what the other was doing and this is what we need for the future," he noted.

In Tuesday night's match which was of academic interest to Jamaica, but crucial for Honduras, who needed a point to book their ticket to Brazil, Schafer said he was pleased with the team's second-half output after a roller-coaster first period where the Boyz conceded in only the first minute.

"I am very happy with my team tonight (Tuesday) as they played with courage and heart and they also had a good second half -- everybody gave 100 per cent," he said.

Meanwhile, Honduras confirmed their place as one of three automatic qualifiers from CONCACAF for the Brazil World Cup with 15 points.

Jamaica finished at the bottom of the six-nation qualifiers with five points — a poor record of five losses and equal number of draws.

The USA, who had booked their spot with two games remaining, defeated Panama 3-2 in their final match also on Tuesday to end the tournament on 22 points. Costa Rica, who also booked their spot early, edged Mexico 2-1 to finish on 18 points.

Mexico booked the fourth-place play-off spot having gathered 11 points, while Panama (eight) join Jamaica as the country failing to progress to the game's showpiece event.

At the National Stadium in Kingston on Tuesday and in front of an estimated 4,000 die-hard Jamaican supporters, Honduras made a lightning start when Carlo Costly put his country ahead in the first minute after Jamaica failed to mop up from a corner.

The Boyz got back on level terms in what appeared less than a heartbeat when Deshorn Brown's angled shot forced Honduras's Jorge Claros to turn the ball into his own goal in minute number three. While Brown was up to Tuesday night claiming the goal, FIFA has officially recorded an own goal.

Jobi McAnuff, a real trooper for Jamaica, was unlucky, as his edge-of-box looper went marginally high in the 14th minute.

Honduras, who only needed a point to book their spot to Brazil 2014, were leaving nothing to chance and regained the lead when Maynar Figueroa beat goalkeeper DuWayne Kerr with a 25-yard freekick in the 33rd minute.

Left-back Demar Phillips, who is always an offensive threat for Jamaica, watched his long-range 38th-minute free kick crash onto the crossbar.

Quiet up to that point, Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson exploded in the 58th minute with a deft control, turn and shot that Honduras goalkeeper Noel Valladares could not handle.

And it was in this spell of Jamaican pressure that a Honduran player handled the ball in the area for a penalty. Captain Rodolph Austin coolly put away the ball, making the score 2-2, the first time Jamaica were scoring two goals in the final round of the campaign.

Teams: Jamaica — DuWayne Kerr, Wes Morgan, Adrian Mariappa, Demar Phillips, Lloyd Doyley (Alvas Powell 58th), Rodolph Austin, Je-Vaughn Watson, Jobi McAnuff, Darren Mattocks (Theo Robinson 62nd), Deshorn Brown (Ryan Johnson 77th), and Jermaine Anderson.

Subs not used: Richard McCallumn, Gariece McCallum, Marvin Elliott, Kemar Lawrence, Romario Campbell, Jermaine Johnson, Jermaine Taylor, Shaun Cummings.

Booked: Austin (31th), Phillips (36th), Watson (83rd)

Honduras — Noel Valladares Victor Blanco, Maynor Figueroa, Brayan Beckeles, Emilio Giron, Jorge Claros, Luis Garrido, Roger Espinoza (Arnold Peralta 89th), Oscar Ramirez, Carlo Costly (Jerry Bengston 84th) and Andy Rodriguez (Wilson Palacios 64th).

Subs not used: Kevin Kirckonnel, Juan Carlos Garciam Johnny Ucles, Donis Izaguirre, Juan Pablo Montes, Marvin Chavez, Edgardo Reyez, Ruben Colon, Jerry Palacios.

Booked: Beckeles (26th), Bonilla (90+)

Referee: Mark Geiger (USA)
    Assistants: Mark Hurd (USA), Joe Fletcher (Canada)
    Fourth Official: Silviu Petrescu

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2hz9RIVSe
    Last edited by Karl; October 17, 2013, 10:50 AM.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yeah aim high... seek out St Vincent to play.... knock yuhself out wid dat

But now dat di Snow Ballas have taken Jamaica's FIFA ranking to ~80.. the lowest in memory.. dat might be all das available apart from say... Mobay United
    Last edited by Don1; October 17, 2013, 09:38 AM.

your memory is short, very short.

JC play Tivoli & St Andrew College in Manning Cup don't they? Aim high *snicker*

Lol

June 6th, 2007, 12:27 PM
            Jangle
            Reggae Ambassador

Quote:
            Originally Posted by Tilla
            Playing these minnoes will hardly achieve anything except a cheap win. If we play teams which are ranked higher than us, it gives us a chance to improve our rankings with FIFA. Losing or drawing with a St Kitts, will only send us further down the tube.

Tilla the mistake that you and many of us is making, is assuming that our local players are that much better than our Caribbean neighbours. Playing our neighbours should not be looked upon as trying to gain points to move up the FIFA ranking. It is a means to an end. It gives them and the coach a chance to implement what is taught during training. It gives the coach a chance to really examine his players under less stress while at the same time exposing our players to international conditions (which is more that playing a match on the day). It also gives the coach a chance to decide on his core local players. I will say it again, Bora needs to use the summer (more realistically June) to call a camp to see our overseas players. Right now we have many, but not all will fit into his system. Maybe it makes more sense for him to go to England. Will these players be considered now: Deon Burton, Lisbie, Euell, Tyrone Marshall, Andy Williams (when he recovers), and any other foreign-born Jamaicans?
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

June 6th, 2007, 07:37 AM
              Jangle
              Reggae Ambassador

I've gone on record before saying that we need to use the local players to play teams from the Caribbean to give them some international experience. How difficult is it to arrange matches against Cuba, St. Vincent, St. Kitts, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Haiti? The Central American teams are right there in our backyard. We can invite few of these teams and run a round-robin competition. What about inviting a couple of club teams from places like Mexico, Costa Rica or any of the South American leagues and play our local ballers? Am I thinking too far outside the box here?

February 8th, 2008, 08:05 AM
                Jangle
                Reggae Ambassador

I would like to see Simoes take a squad of local based players on small Caribbean tour, ending in Central America. A lot of us are overlooking countries like Haiti (who drew 1 -1 with Venezuela), Cuba (who has a new coach & always gave us problems) and assuming that the third place spot is ours. I would like to see our local boyz playing these teams abroad and then play El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras or Panama in their home before our next FIFA international match. Between now and June we should be touring with these local boyz in between FIFA dates to get them hardened. Let's play Canada.

February 8th, 2008, 08:53 AM
                  Jangle
                  Reggae Ambassador

Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Jawge
                  You know what bothers me? Last time it was
                  oh that's El salvador, wait until they meet CR. CR is a different animal, cr is very technical, blah blah... Now that we have met CR, oh no you can't manage Mexico, Mexico is blah blah.

Captain, Bring on Mexico. WI READY!!! Ah nuh no joke bizniz dis year.

Jawge c'mon man, yuh done know seh "friendly" match and "real" match are two different sumpting. We nuh ready fe face Mextico yet. I say avoid both the Mexticans and the 'Mercans until we face them in qualifying. Stick with my suggestion of using the local boyz in between FIFA dates to play smaller but challenging teams. On FIFA dates when we have our foreign-based players, then we look at more challenging opponents like some South American countries. I think we should gradually build our local boyz confidence and technical ability and understanding of the game by playing these "away" games. These lads aren't that far off the int'l pace and I think it will force the "foreigners" to work for their place on the starting team.

February 8th, 2008, 09:02 AM
                    Jawge
                    Reggae Ambassador

Avoid who? Boss in GC 98 when all teams feared Brasil with Romario
                    et al Who stood up to the mighty Brasil? Mexico ran hid like cowards (rested for days) whilst we play back to back games.

The USA is a sleeping giant; when they are serious and ready to play ball
                    we will have problems. At present the US is going around with average players (who are just well organized) we can beat them (it's up to them to repeat RFK).

Bring them on!! Wait till di prof camp our local boyz in Brasil and start his globe trotting, yuh ah go see suppen.

June 9th, 2008, 12:54 PM
                      Jangle
                      Reggae Ambassador

Quote:
                      Originally Posted by HL
                      I recall (a few weeks ago), -- the forum pundits were head-over-heels at a Jamaica v. Argentina matchup. I both silently and vocally 'prayed' that this game did not materialized. My football 'prayers' were answered.

Yesterday's US v. Argentina game was enough reason why "feeding " Jamaica to Argentina was an embarrassment worth avoiding.

Jamaica cannot dominate lowly Trinidad and tobago....

Argentina, the world #1 tream need teams that have good technical ability. Teams that will attract fans that would make the match-up financially worthwhile........

I agree with you 100%.

DonUno where did you say we are ranked today again??????

June 9th, 2008, 02:05 PM
                        Jangle
                        Reggae Ambassador

Quote:
                        Originally Posted by HL
                        Jangle, you are among the few voices of reason on this forum.

chussssss mi.

It is just plain logics. Jamaica nuh nowhere near ready fe play Argentina or any other "big" side. Yesterday i was watching the Austria vs Croatia game (good game) and heard that Austria is the lowest ranked team in the competition at 92. I don't believe that Jamaica who is "ranked" 98 can even compete with this team.

But Jangle, yuh a one prophet to rhatid.....or yuh just know the ball game.....

June 10th, 2008, 07:01 AM
                          Jangle
                          Reggae Ambassador

People you all need to look at our team in a more realistic light and lower our expectations a bit. Right now we are on the right track towards major improvements, given our extenuating circumstances. Facing Argentina a month ago or even now, would be foolhardy and could potentially hurt our program. We have to display a little more common sense and trust in Burrell and Simoes that they know what they are doing. Playing our Caribbean low-ranked teams is the perfect solution for our team.

Firstly, let's look at this from an administrative perspective. A month ago, it would have been impossible to get the release of players in England. Where was the match scheduled to be played? If it was in England, you need time to put everything in place, plus advertising. With FIFA's riduculous points system, playing these lowly ranked teams is a quickfire way of improving our rankings. It also gives players like Donovan Ricketts and Demar Stewart international caps under their belts to make it easier for them to get a work permit. Once we dismiss these teams soundly, it raises the confidence level of our supporters and sponsors. Hey, Burrell know what he's about. Can you imagine the serious dent in our program if we had played a very slick-moving Argentinean team and had gotten another 6 -0? You would see a Clovis cartoon with Burrell and Simoes in a boat without a rudder heading towards shore with Boxhill and Sickko in front of a mob with pick axe and sticks waiting on them.

Now from a coach's perspective, these matches give him a chance to familiarise himself with his players. Simoes is trying a new formation and he's trying to find the right personnel to fill each role. He certainly could not do that a month ago. These games builds confidence and understanding amongst the players themselves. They also get a chance to understand their coach. Playing a team like Argentina right now is a retrograde step. After the two Bahamas games, then, they can start looking at tougher opponents. For financial reasons, if a big side comes calling, then yes, by all means play them. However, we should not be actively seeking out any of the top 10 ranked teams for another 4 - 6 months. I know I'll get a lot of flak from you all for saying this, but borrowing a phrase from Mr. President, Jangle keeps it real.

We should look on this as a process, and it's up to us as a team how fast we learn. In athletics, short sprints to be specific, athletes do a lot of background work, stamina and conditioning, prior to moving onto their distance of choice. VC, Bolt and Powell just recently started their sprint work with a few weeks away from trials. International football is the same. We haffi creep before we walk. Get Real!

June 10th, 2008, 01:59 PM
                            Jangle
                            Reggae Ambassador

Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Jawge
                            Okay if I should follow this line
                            of reasoning and logic: we could say Ja should only play teams of low
                            ranking (thier ilk) namely; Haiti, St.Vincent et al. Let's say we follow the protocol, got our beating from the US and mexico but qualify via the half spot. We then win a game draw two and qualify for the second round. In the second round we will definitely face a top team (I know we will face one in the first round but left it out to show the fallacy in the above). How will we be prepared to play this top team? It seems that we should just pack up and go home seeing that we are hopeless.

IN GC 97; when all teams hid from Brasil and Ja was thrown in the group, what was the outcome of that game? Ja played Brasil in London, what was the outcome of that game? There is no team on this planet better than Brasil, the buck stops with Brasil in football and Ja has shown more than once that we can play with the best.

It is sad when we look at our sports team through the lens of the country's economic and political conditions. It is sad when we harbour low expectations of ourselves. It is sad when we mentally defeat ourselves by yeilding games to teams before the game is even being played.

In order for Ja to get better we have to run with quality teams; regardless of the results, hence we can improvise and constantly gauge ourselves.

HL, the above argument is rediculous and you know it. I know you would feel insulted if someone set standards for you and told you that you cannot go beyond those bounds.

Cmon now Jawge as a "higher-level" thinker and the "eternal learner" I would have expected a better level of reasoning from you. Allow me to reinforce my point. I am not saying that Jamaica can never or should never play a big team, what I am trying to point out is that the TIMING is off. We were (a month ago)/ are not ready to play any of these big sides right now. What would be the point. We struggle to draw a game with Trinidad. OK, let's for a minute say we play Argentina and manage to draw a game with them, does that mean we are ready to beat US or Mexico? We are talking about a team which has been together for what...3 weeks now!!! Get real now people and stop allowing your emotions to rule your logical thinking! I see man a call for all sorts of big teams to play. Obviously, we don't know what goes into getting one of those teams to agree to play us. Financially it is neither here nor there for any of the top teams to play Jamaica....and why should they play a team ranked 97. After the Bahamas series we can look about playing 2 or 3 of the second and third tier European teams eg. Scotland, Ireland, Denmark, Iceland. We can also seek out some African teams and South Americans - Paraguay, Bolivia (in Bolivia), Venezuela, Chile, Ecuador etc. Get real Jawgie!

September 25th, 2008, 11:49 AM
                              Jangle
                              Reggae Ambassador

"Because as (England boss) Fabio Capello has found out, you're only one game away from disaster or one game away from euphoria. You win one game, you're the best in the world, you lose one game, you're the worst in the world."

The former Watford, Liverpool, Newcastle and Charlton midfielder is therefore planning to take one game at a time.

"The expectancy level is very, very high. From my point of view, I'll be looking forward to taking it game by game and trying to move Jamaica forward by getting them to play a consistent balance so we can be competitive.

"Because we've seen African teams, very similar to Caribbean teams, they can play brilliantly one week and then disastrous in the next week. So we need almost a German mentality that we can get a level of consistency whereby we're competitive in all the games we play.

"Then come June, depending on how the relationship between myself and Jamaica goes, we can then look to go further or go our separate ways.

"So I'm not thinking long term at all, I'm just think about the Canada game first and foremost, then after that trying to improve the national team," he added.

I like this way of thinking. My only problem his comment about "my country". I don't want to assume things, but I have always gotten the impression that John Barnes had severed his connections with Jamaica a long time ago and considers himself to be British through and through.