Heartbeat of the Reggaeboyz!

• Heartbeat of the Reggaeboyz!

The core of what we do and any success comes from the stars who escape the yard bowl and succeed ah farin, Phillips, Taylor, Powell, Austin, jj, fuller, gardener, Williams, mattocks, brown, pepe, Palmer, Cummings, Richards, Stewart, Marshall, shavar, Tappa and many more that is the heart of Jamaican ball, that is Reggae Boyz ball, warriors that can guh ah farin and eat food and live good, all else who cyan do that step back and mek way if did real warriors.

Oh! So it's no longer about snow ballas!

No one has a problem with those you described in your thread.

For the avoidance of doubt, allow me to repeat - my problem with the national program is the family tree inquiries and begging of players, some quite ordinary, for them to play for the Boyz, days before the match.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      The core of what we do and any success comes from the stars who escape the yard bowl and succeed ah farin, Phillips, Taylor, Powell, Austin, jj, fuller, gardener, Williams, mattocks, brown, pepe, Palmer, Cummings, Richards, Stewart, Marshall, shavar, Tappa and many more that is the heart of Jamaican ball, that is Reggae Boyz ball, warriors that can guh ah farin and eat food and live good, all else who cyan do that step back and mek way if did real warriors.
      Hmm, Gardener and a couple others escaped after we showed up in France 98 and we have never been able to keep a team together since then
      Did our success became our worst practice match enemy?

There is a big difference between a snow balla as you put it and a ub40. Snowballer is just a man who show he can adapt anywhere, is like a cat, anywhere you throw them they land on feet ready to run. suh best snowballer is really Gardener, Goodison, Austin, just warrior class good at home and abroad, when them guh abroad all di fariner love them, them think sey Austin is a Viking possibly a reincarnated ancestor or gardener is really from Bolton or something like that. Snowballer can flex anywhere and fit in.

Originally posted by Time View Post
          Hmm, Gardener and a couple others escaped after we showed up in France 98 and we have never been able to keep a team together since then
          Did our success became our worst practice match enemy?
          First: The obvious
          These posts, even my long involved ones and extending to articles on the main site, do not allow for in-depth presentation on most topics.

Now to Stoni's leading post and subsequent threads - btw - It is amazing how many posters, and I would guess the majority are not residents of Shady Pines as I am?...who by the time there is a second post added to the leading topic totally forget what is being discussed. Of course that too often leads to posts at cross purposes to previously stated positions and perhaps worse, posts that have no relevance to the topic. It would be understandable if a poster went off on a tangent or totally off topic and acknowledged same...but too many posters seem to have not a clue what the topic was

OK...having vented on my frustration...let me return to the topic and your post Time:

I think you are on to something. Your question on what we took from our 1998 successes. - Our performances in 1998 blinded us to the reality of the quality of our local footballers, quality of that 1998 team and our local teams. ...that we were and still are mere fledglings.

The quality of our players and our football while not "2nd form" is on our best players and TEAMs, ordinary. No need to comment on those below our best.

Stoni is saying to me (What I take from his post): Our best footballers are mediocre but they are all warriors=have the right attitude.

Here my problem with say a player like Fuller=he has the technical skills but refuses to consider the importance of tactical kills.

[Sorry for those who hate to hear TEAM. ..but the game is football and TEAM is everything. It is, I know you are sorry to have to acknowledge, a TEAM game.]

Fuller in my estimation had the technical skills to have taken the world by storm...but he consistently denied self of glory by being a "one-man band". That does not work in a TEAM environment. No different from anywhere in the real world one works - The individual must be able to channel efforts to best advance aims of the group/'corporate entity/TEAM.

Others of our players who could have taken the world by storm - O'Nandi Lowe and regardless of his limitations, Luton Shelton. These players just have never understood how to apply their considerable skills for maximum benefit of TEAM.

Lowe made a good living and Shelton is making vastly more money...but both could have been super-stars.

Shelton may still have a shot to climb. ...but as he currently plays his demise could be swift. His greatest asset is his pace...yet he consistently fails to maximize on same as he has not yet learnt "give and thou shalt receive". He still plays "hold the ball 'an try a ting'" resulting in often loss of the ball which naturally hurts his TEAM and as he moves upwards on quality TEAMs met the scoring of fewer and fewer goals. ...but in Jamaica parlance, "im a big man. suh im duh wah im want".

...yup Stoni is saying the players who play football - the TEAM game - and have the right attitude are those for whom we should be clamoring.

Some of our best example of those ballas are: "Bibi" Gardner, Deon Burton, Peter Cargill, "Shorty" Malcolm, "Pepe" Goodison, "Granny" Marshall, Demar Philips, Fitzroy Simpson, Frank Sinclair, Aaron Lawrence, Donovan Ricketts, Warren "Bopsie" Barrett and Paul Hall. To those players it was all about TEAM. Warriors all!

Yes Time, our '98 success flew to our heads and we forgot that TEAM is everything and to create same, preparations...good and sensible preparations is key.
          Last edited by Karl; October 17, 2013, 07:28 AM.

The Snow Ballas we refer to are the ones reared in snow...

Don't try to be sly Stoni

Excellent post Karl, you are right, we lose the core thought of the thread and run off in a rabbit hole.

Time brings up a good point, one that needs more thought, I don't agree with it, but we should take time to ponder the connection.bottom line is we want to export players, we want the guys to make money and be successful and we want to build a pipeline for the best talent to do that. We also need to be able to build potent local teams regardless of our exports, our exports represent the cream of the crop but in reality we talking about maybe five hundred new players with every crop, by crop I think each successive set of new Dacosta and Manning cup baller and out of that we probably have 250 decent players, so in ten years we should have 2500 ballers with one hundred exports and 2400 locals to draw the best of the rest. This can be done, if we look at what Belgium has done with talent exports or Uruguay we have two nice models to build from. Also how do we keep most of the 2400 playing ball at a high level?

Karl on your points on say Fuller specifically, he was/is a wonderful talent but he had very little help and lots of injuries and our current man culture in jamaica build up the star mentality in these guys way too early so the hunger driven by humility and desire to improve has to come from deep within and the football infrastructure is non existent in terms of guiding these young ballers and especially building on their technical skill and what I always tout heaviest is goal setting, measurement of results and the focus on improvement. Fuller in a sense really overachieved based on the hurdles in front of him and when you think of it he easily could have missed the England boat, he underachieved if global superstar was the goal because he had no real help, he pulled himself up via his own bootstraps but probably could not push to a Ronaldo level without more support and help and the proper infrastructure as Don1 keeps talking about, this is a key area where Jff needs to improve dramatically, but the truth is building something out of not much is the hardest thing to do.

Excellent post Karl, you are right, we lose the core thought of the thread and run off in a rabbit hole.

Time brings up a good point, one that needs more thought, I don't agree with it, but we should take time to ponder the connection.bottom line is we want to export players, we want the guys to make money and be successful and we want to build a pipeline for the best talent to do that. We also need to be able to build potent local teams regardless of our exports, our exports represent the cream of the crop but in reality we talking about maybe five hundred new players with every crop, by crop I think each successive set of new Dacosta and Manning cup baller and out of that we probably have 250 decent players, so in ten years we should have 2500 ballers with one hundred exports and 2400 locals to draw the best of the rest. This can be done, if we look at what Belgium has done with talent exports or Uruguay we have two nice models to build from. Also how do we keep most of the 2400 playing ball at a high level?

Karl on your points on say Fuller specifically, he was/is a wonderful talent but he had very little help and lots of injuries and our current man culture in jamaica build up the star mentality in these guys way too early so the hunger driven by humility and desire to improve has to come from deep within and the football infrastructure is non existent in terms of guiding these young ballers and especially building on their technical skill and what I always tout heaviest is goal setting, measurement of results and the focus on improvement. Fuller in a sense really overachieved based on the hurdles in front of him and when you think of it he easily could have missed the England boat, he underachieved if global superstar was the goal because he had no real help, he pulled himself up via his own bootstraps but probably could not push to a Ronaldo level without more support and help and the proper infrastructure as Don1 keeps talking about, this is a key area where Jff needs to improve dramatically, but the truth is building something out of not much is the hardest thing to do.
                Thanks, boss.

...and to your points - You are correct!

Example: In any situation the individual must be able to use his "noggin" to teach self on/about the game. Fuller should have been able to teach himself to pass and move/move and pass as a Rooney, to kick as well as a Rooney...and with his trickiness he would/could have been better than Rooney!!!

btw - With our current situation of poor teachers/coaches that use of the 'noggin' is even more important than when in situation where excellent coaching/guidance and cutting edge infrastructure is found.

Thanks, boss.

...and to your points - You are correct!

Example: In any situation the individual must be able to use his "noggin" to teach self on/about the game. Fuller should have been able to teach himself to pass and move/move and pass as a Rooney, to kick as well as a Rooney...and with his trickiness he would/could have been better than Rooney!!!

btw - With our current situation of poor teachers/coaches that use of the 'noggin' is even more important than when in situation where excellent coaching/guidance and cutting edge infrastructure is found.