Things that make you go hmmmm
Every day we try to recreate what we don't have to.
The US now have elite clubs and even though kids are attending high school if they are playing for an elite club, they are not allowed to represent their high school. This just started a few years ago. In Jamaica a very bright kid can finish high school at 15-16. We find too much excuse to start thing and again it comes down to who going to put in the effort and time?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
February 14th, 2012, 07:52 AM
Jangle
Reggae Ambassador
This is where you and I differ in thinking Karl. Previously, many forumites here (Jawge in particular) have called for the abollishment of high school football for the sake of the national program. This thought, is what I am against. Even though we find ourselves in the position where our high schools are the feeders to our national programs, I disagree with your idea of developing them FOR the programs. The onus is not and should not be on our high schools to be a feeder system for our national programs. We need to broaden the base and develop these independent academies specifically for our programs. Sports go hand in hand with academics in developing our young people and should not be taken away from our youngsters in school. It is just the reality of our situation in Jamaica where sports is considered a hobby and not as a viable business endeavour. If we want to compete on the world stage, then we need to change this concept, just like how we need to change our concept of tourism (I had to throw that in there).
__________________Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
November 8th, 2007, 11:24 AM
Jangle
Reggae Ambassador
Something is wrong with me this week. This is going to be the second time in one week that I am going to agree with Sickko............and Mo. Mr. President I have to disagree with on this one. There is nothing wrong with us having a strong high school football league/competition. That's the genesis of our football and it will always be so. What the authorities should look at is how to enhance it. High school football and pro/national football should be viewed as two separate entities and as such, ISSA has no obligations to have their competitions act as a feeder program to the clubs and the national programs. If that was the case, then they may as well scrap all high school sports. While they are at it, they may as well scrap the debate competition, because it's not adding any value to our public or private sectors. The point is, it's the JFF's responsibilty to develop Jamaica's football. They can work with the clubs to develop their youth programs. They can work with the parish associations to develop youth football at the parish level. Leave schoolboy football where it is and enjoy it for what it is.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Jangle View PostNovember 8th, 2007, 11:24 AM
Jangle
Reggae Ambassador
Something is wrong with me this week. This is going to be the second time in one week that I am going to agree with Sickko............and Mo. Mr. President I have to disagree with on this one. There is nothing wrong with us having a strong high school football league/competition. That's the genesis of our football and it will always be so. What the authorities should look at is how to enhance it. High school football and pro/national football should be viewed as two separate entities and as such, ISSA has no obligations to have their competitions act as a feeder program to the clubs and the national programs. If that was the case, then they may as well scrap all high school sports. While they are at it, they may as well scrap the debate competition, because it's not adding any value to our public or private sectors. The point is, it's the JFF's responsibilty to develop Jamaica's football. They can work with the clubs to develop their youth programs. They can work with the parish associations to develop youth football at the parish level. Leave schoolboy football where it is and enjoy it for what it is."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Ahmm.. you see nothing wrong with 'the best coaches and sponsorship money' spead thinkly across a woefully inefficient Govt High School system that does not provide anywhere NEAR the 'football time' required to be competitive in todays Football World ?
Originally posted by Don1 View PostI'm convinced by your oftentimes ridiculous attempts at argument that you have some type of mental disability
Academies are about player development for club & country...not local competition at their age group level.... reboot yuhself
Secondly, I am saying...player development end product is quality achieved in competition at club and country levels. Any attempt to divorce development of players from competition at age-appropriate levels - age-group and national levels - is misguided."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I give up ~sigh~Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Lazie View PostJangle, you made this post in 2007. Where is our football in 2013? Time we get serious Jangle or come 2017 people will be wondering how Jamaica's football is in a steady decline.
Why should ISSA care about Jamaica's professional football development?The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
What is the role of ISSA football?
Why does ISSA tolerate Campion in football, why not kick them out?
How is Campion contributing to professional football development?
How many football scholarships has Campion awarded in the last 10 years?The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
=Karl;450256]First, you...note "you"...could say the same about school football?
No, that's not what I'd say about school ball. I'd say it's not high quality... most especially so at the level of the bottom feeders
Secondly, I am saying...player development end product is quality achieved in competition at club and country levels. Any attempt to divorce development of players from competition at age-appropriate levels - age-group and national levels - is misguided.
PeriodTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Wha name Hilel or Belair?
Dem likkle place deh ah nuh kindergarten?? Dem play ball??
Jacks??
woooiieeLast edited by Don1; October 16, 2013, 05:52 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE