Soccer development and the parents

• Soccer development and the parents

I was talking to two friends recently and I asked what isthe reason for such a slow growth in the inner city for soccer? One friendmigrated from Jamaica to NY City, played college ball with D1 College andcurrently in the coaching business. The other have Jamaican grandparents andwas born in Costa Rica, was a player in the old debunked US soccer league andis now a TD for a club

Both think the number 1 reason is Time. He said s inner cityparents are not willing while others can’t afford to give the time that isneeded to transport their kids and move them to leagues that will give themadvantage. There is the single moms who are working 2 jobs and are just glad tohave someone baby sit. But there is also the fathers who will not give up theircard gambling, dominoes, cricket, old boy soccer games or session to spend half a day or the whole weekendsometimes for been a driver and sitting on a sometimes boring sideline.

I have been thinking about this and this play a role in thelack of development in Jamaica. Many parents in Jamaica haven’t seen their kidsplayed a game, they think it is a waste of time and that going to the park isan escape to go and smoke herb. Some players develop but the kind of communitysupport that is needed is not there, most kid’s even talented ones are justgiven recreational training and football is seen as a waste of time. I was mostsurprise I went to the field here in GA and I saw a mom talking to a little 6year old and telling her soccer is a way for her to get a full scholarship tocollege. In my 20 miles radius around my house I realize there are not 2(as Ithought) earlier but 4 programs with anywhere between 2000 to 8000 kids and oneis run by a church. Parents have to be there with kids and parents are given acode of conduct sheet. Now let us see that in Jamaica or some inner cityJamaican community. There is always a raffle by a car dealer where the clubgets some of the money and provides some form of payment schedule or scholarship.

When is it we are going to take responsibility? Over the summer I offered to coach someyouths and the parents either come late or drop off their kids to go and do somethingelse. No, sorry I am not going to be responsible for your 6-8 year old if youare not there. Too many think it is just a babysitting tool. This is the same attitudewe display in Jamaica. We expect the kids to take care themselves or someteacher to be responsible for the kids with no help from us. Then we have thenay saying parents and community that gives no support, saying “put down theball and pick up your book” and don’t realize that it just take some timemanagement from them or tell the kids “unnu a waste unnu time” They don’t realizewhat it mean to lose and win as a part of a team. They don’t realize how manyJamaicans have benefitted from scholarship and further studies because they canplay “some” ball, they don’t have to be national players. One of the biggest stereo type in soccer in Americais that the soccer mom is an upper middleclass mother who have all the time and money in the world to drive the kidsaround.

Until we got more parents involved at a younger age we willalways struggle with development. Until parents can give some time to their kid’sdevelopment and be supporters we will remain stagnant. When parents areinvolved in sports, we have a stronger community, we have a stronger club andif this extends to the parish level we will have stronger association. It issimple if we want to develop football itmeans some people have to give a little more time, willing to listen and workwith each other otherwise we will always be looking to somebody else and at someone else.

So what wins Sass...the parents

who stay around at the 'development of young footballers afternoons' or they who use it as 'alternate babysitters route'?

...and what do you think on 'the alternate babysitters route' v the identified Jamaica situation where the parents do not turn up but send the kids out to 'play'? ...both The States and in Jamaica equal on lack of interest or...?

Inner city children spending more time playing yet another game is not particularly important... more book work and less horsing around with or without a ball is far more productive

But they are not doing either yet you have time to waste about UB40.

As I state TIME Mangement is the most important factor here.

I have time to waste bout UB40?? Is the discussion about UB40s?? But ah wha dis Faada..

This is a most nonsensical non sequitur of yours... and that's being charitable

if you nothing to debate about keep yourself out. Serious topic, not Irony.

Put down the flask a little. LOL

Don't really understand the question. Rephrase it for me brethren.

So you're now advising me on what angle I should take on a subject? That is not a proposition I find acceptable

If you continue that unwise course the outcome will not be to your liking

interesting point sass. But two arguments here.. In North america or the U.S one is culture. For example who drives around the kid from the innercity who is playing basketball or football.. I think soccer is a bit different in terms of travel. In JA one would ask who drive around the track athlete or watch them run? Interesting thread nevertheless...

Sass - you are bringing up several points which may or may not be your intention. If you believe that the issue with development in inner cities is time, I would argue that it is not - it is money, at least here in america. The clubs are much better off focused on middle class suburban kids whose parents can afford to spend $3000 - $8000 a year (I spent almost 9k last year on my daughter) to play in a travel program. Which inner city kid can afford that? Zero. So why then should the clubs bother? For my money, American soccer will not reach its full potential until the kids who end up going pro in basketball have the same kind of exposure to soccer. Currently they do not...but it's not because of time, it's because no one is spending the money to reach a market that can't afford the steep cost of playing travel soccer here in the US.

Paul check it out, American football is MUCH MORE expensive and time consuming. So too is baseball. I am not sure about the basketball. The fact is talent in many cases can be identified at the lower age where the cost is not that much.

Trust me in America, the threshold for many places to get assistance is about 40,000 dollars, if you are working below that and many of the clubs will work with you as I mention about scholarship. Paul we don't even try so how are we even going to know if your kids are talented??? Many parents lose more than 3 thousand a year playing card or partying.

If my kids weren't playing I would join a club paying at least a 1000 dollars a year to play. Anyway let me hear more of your opinion.

Time? So little league baseball and pop Warner football and pee wee basketball nuh tek time tuh? Dat nuh Mel nuh sense!

Gamma how much of the inner city kids in pop warner football????

And secondly in the American black community you have a lot of volunteers who give up their time in football and basketball. Again that equal time,

Check out the church leagues and other organization who involve in Basketball
                          Last edited by Assasin; October 15, 2013, 09:22 PM.

http://www.arjahzsoccer.com/About_Us.html

Check this out. Former forumite Emperor doing his thing. This is the kind of time and effort that is needed to take us to the next level. Really proud a the ime and effort Emperor put in. I bet with some help, responsible parents and volunteer in a few years he will be attracting good sponsorship.