Not that far away!!!!!

• Not that far away!!!!!

Hearing lots of doom and gloom and that is understandable. Lots of snow ball and UB 40 bashing that is not understandable, the players are just the pawns in this game.

Let's look at the reality of the deal, we lost no game by more than 2-0 and we were competitive in every game, what let us down was the poor preparation, the throwing of too many players together at the last minute especially in that 4 match losing streak, the fitness, the discipline, the tactical discipline with time and pressure.

I am not impressed at all with any of the six teams and even with the wins that the USA, CR and Honduras got many were more a result of better discipline, superior preparation and lots of luck.

let's look specifically at the goals Jamaica let in, ten goals to date, three in the first half and seven in the second half, very good indicator of poor preparation, discipline breakdown under pressure and tactical weakness, you saw that especially in the last US goal yesterday and the Mexican goal in Jamaica amongst others. Of the seven goals in the second half six came after 60 minutes, even more evidence of poor tactical defensive execution late in games.

This team with more preparation, identification of the hardest team oriented workers, improvement in execution of defensive tactics via multiple scenarios this team would be geared for fundamental hard core shutdown ball on the defensive side and eke out the wins on the opponents defensive lapses much as has been done to us this hex. we gave the US two wins the only team so far to beat us twice in the hex, it was not done with superior players, superior talent, it was done with superior execution over 90 minutes and extra time , superior preparation.

This is not about where the players are from, this is about our inability to prepare warriors for war. The goal in the hex is not to lose, that is the first goal, do not give your opponent the advantage of a win in what is a defensive slog over ten games, Jamaica is the team that busted the hex wide open by giving up four wins to other teams and two of them at home. Just cannot do that a easy goal to Mexico through the heart of central defense and an extra time goal to the US.

Nosworthy was great while we had him, Mcleary and Mcanuff were very good on defending not so great on offense, Mariappa was good just not enough support, Beckford was probably not necessary at all, Morgan was good in one game and I cannot remember any others, Gordon I am not sure of as he was thrown into the mix at a bad time with no knowledge of Jamaican ball or connection to Jamaica as the English players have.

Next step improve preparation, keep a team in training, name a three layer squad A, b and c squads, clarify what is necessary to make the next step. keep the best of the UB40's and start immediate prep for 2018, a year by year plan of goals for 2018 and analysis every six months on performance relative to goals. we have some great talent coming up in MLS, In Jamaica, In England, let's get these guys committed early and set the structure and style of playing, time together started from now!!!!

Mariappa young enough, Cummings very young, Deshorn brown, mattocks, Powell, Taylor still young enough for one more campaign as a senior player, , holness etc etc., start it now!!! as Jimmy Cliff would say, I want my pie in the sky right now, today!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    Hearing lots of doom and gloom and that is understandable. Lots of snow ball and UB 40 bashing that is not understandable, the players are just the pawns in this game.

Let's look at the reality of the deal, we lost no game by more than 2-0 and we were competitive in every game, what let us down was the poor preparation, the throwing of too many players together at the last minute especially in that 4 match losing streak, the fitness, the discipline, the tactical discipline with time and pressure.

I am not impressed at all with any of the six teams and even with the wins that the USA, CR and Honduras got many were more a result of better discipline, superior preparation and lots of luck.

let's look specifically at the goals Jamaica let in, ten goals to date, three in the first half and seven in the second half, very good indicator of poor preparation, discipline breakdown under pressure and tactical weakness, you saw that especially in the last US goal yesterday and the Mexican goal in Jamaica amongst others. Of the seven goals in the second half six came after 60 minutes, even more evidence of poor tactical defensive execution late in games.

This team with more preparation, identification of the hardest team oriented workers, improvement in execution of defensive tactics via multiple scenarios this team would be geared for fundamental hard core shutdown ball on the defensive side and eke out the wins on the opponents defensive lapses much as has been done to us this hex. we gave the US two wins the only team so far to beat us twice in the hex, it was not done with superior players, superior talent, it was done with superior execution over 90 minutes and extra time , superior preparation.

This is not about where the players are from, this is about our inability to prepare warriors for war. The goal in the hex is not to lose, that is the first goal, do not give your opponent the advantage of a win in what is a defensive slog over ten games, Jamaica is the team that busted the hex wide open by giving up four wins to other teams and two of them at home. Just cannot do that a easy goal to Mexico through the heart of central defense and an extra time goal to the US.

Nosworthy was great while we had him, Mcleary and Mcanuff were very good on defending not so great on offense, Mariappa was good just not enough support, Beckford was probably not necessary at all, Morgan was good in one game and I cannot remember any others, Gordon I am not sure of as he was thrown into the mix at a bad time with no knowledge of Jamaican ball or connection to Jamaica as the English players have.

Next step improve preparation, keep a team in training, name a three layer squad A, b and c squads, clarify what is necessary to make the next step. keep the best of the UB40's and start immediate prep for 2018, a year by year plan of goals for 2018 and analysis every six months on performance relative to goals. we have some great talent coming up in MLS, In Jamaica, In England, let's get these guys committed early and set the structure and style of playing, time together started from now!!!!

Mariappa young enough, Cummings very young, Deshorn brown, mattocks, Powell, Taylor still young enough for one more campaign as a senior player, , holness etc etc., start it now!!! as Jimmy Cliff would say, I want my pie in the sky right now, today!!
    Stoni yuh ah try man patience wid dem ting yah

Afta 9 game, insipid play an 4 point wid yuh Snow Strategy.... yuh ave di gall fi tell man seh wi “not far away"??

Stoni nuh draw mi tongue...yuhzimi?
    Last edited by Don1; October 12, 2013, 02:19 PM.

The JPS is a misnomer and given Burrell throwing the local ballers under the truck recently due to their performance...,and his fixation on UB40 Players looong after the infancy of the programme,the Jamaica Football Federation too is a misnomer.
      Our Team ranked the lowest in the qualifier,the gap between the JFF and other football federations has to be far more than that of the boyz and the other teams.
      Burrell is a problem.
      A foolish dog goes after a flying bird,we need to put the resource where it will likely yield success;the U17 programme(which will eventually be the U19,U21,and men national...).

So Jamaica hasn't had any lucky breaks of their own in this Hexagonal?

don1 I know you fully believe in the grassroots strategy, I believe if you can get bring up the grassroots then great, but reality is that it has been twenty years almost and while there is improvement grassroots cannot get us out of the pretext, that is just reality.

Look again at the nine games, they competed in every one, we have seen no blowouts in this hex yet, yes, the poor attacking play is an issue and clearly we need improvement, but we can't throw out the baby with the bath water, the baby is our local stars that have made good abroad, Taylor, Phillips, Cummings, jj, fuller, gardener, Austin, newbies like brown, mattocks etc, that is the core of our program, that is good.

The part of our game that is clearly lacking in the hex is two things, the passing and movement on and off the ball, it is poor that is why we cannot even get the consistent attacks in on goal and we are still trying to play like Brazil and not use our natural speed, strength, skill to take advantage of collapses in opponents attacks.

The second piece missing is the discipline, preparation and tactical development in playing defense for 90 minutes as a cohesive unit. You saw a clear breakdown on the second goal last night, we have seen that throughout the hex and when does it happen late in the game. That is discipline, that is lack of preparation, that is poor concentration, that is inability to execute at the toughest times, when you are most tired, your concentration is flagging and more prepared teams are pushing harder to get the result. Calypso footballer mentality!

I think a lot of people do not realize that this is not Concacaf from 1998, the 1998 would probably not be able to compete in the current hex setup, this is much more competitive and there are no clear advantages as in the past even though it seems that way from the point spread. Jamaica gave up points that they should not have given up at all, not because of ub40 versus local or snowballed, it was pure lack of preparation. With preparation this team would be going to Brazil.

Here is the deal.
          1. Gave up two points to our favor in first game versus Mexico and gave Mexico a point.
          2. Gave up two points at home versus panama and also gave panama a point.
          3. I will skip the cr game which we should not have lost, but let's say suh it go.
          4. We gave mex three points at home and walked away with none on the worst guarded goal in the tournament.
          5. We gave Us two points with a last minute goal in injury time, at home, there is no way that should have happened.
          6. Honduras beat a dejected team 2-0 ok, no argument there.
          7. Jamaica draws panama in panama, fair result.
          8. Jamaica draws rc at home, should have figured a way to win that but won't fight that either.
          9. Both us goals were defensive mistakes all around, should have had a draw at least, but sot guh.

We drop six easy points we should have had and gave away four points to mex, one to panama and four points to the us.

We definitely not that far off. We need some creative play from the middle and some time to blend and grow as a team. We actually passed the ball good and kept shape for most of the game. Even the goals were not buildup but mistakes and bundle from our end.

The next two years going to be important. Some local camps are needed, and then some camps with the overseas based players and some practice games. If everybody do their part on and off the field we will be in a decent shape.

Stop trying to put a bandaid over a festering wound. You cannot effectively compete in international football with this haphazard formula, and the only reason your results weren't worse is because the overall play of the Hex was/is weak. If it doesn't improve the qualifiers will get a a$$ whipping next year. Based on overall play, this is probably the weakest Hex I've seen & Jamaica is at the bottom of the table

Stop buying into that shortsighted crap. For someone who has been involved in football, you should be calling for nothing less than a Comprehensive National Football Program. Time to ignore the quick fix solutions.

Brethren I really don't think the team played bad. I am all for total development and I will talk on that but any development we talking about will not start yielding results for the next four years etc.

I say a few encouraging things and hope we can build on them still. USAF, you know there is a lot of problem in Jamaican football but I still think if we had stick with a core group since last year and given them a few camps and practice games we would be on our way..

I have to see change of attitude in Ja before better development at the national level can take place.

But the overall play in the Hex was weak & Jamaica will finish last.....1 game to go & you have no wins & only 2 goals for. Jamaica also failed to advance in the CFU Championships (winless) & qualify for the Gold Cup. If Jamaica is SERIOUS about international football then they have to build for LONG TERM SUSTAINED GROWTH & SUCCESS and not just the next WC qualifications.

No biggie there, goal score like that all the time and we all eat the result, as refs can't be everywhere all the time.

I am not thinking of that as luck, luck is the first US goal yesterday that the ball fell randomly perfectly in the us path multiple times in sequence for that goal to score, that is luck!

Weakest hex based on what? We just saw A very competitive hex with defensive grinding as the main feature, maybe it looks weak from the free wheeling big scores in the past, that is gone. Mex and us do not have the automatic advantage anymore and we should see some interesting results as four concacaf teams go to Brazil.

we gave the US two wins the only team so far to beat us twice in the hex, it was not done with superior players, superior talent
                          Look at all the starters and subs from last night's game, then look where they play their club ball, and it's clear which team has superior players:

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/prelimi...973/index.html

=Stonigut;449412]don1 I know you fully believe in the grassroots strategy, I believe if you can get bring up the grassroots then great, but reality is that it has been twenty years almost and while there is improvement grassroots cannot get us out of the pretext, that is just reality.
                            1. The mission of the JFF is to develop Jamaican football

2. Jamaican football CANNOT be developed without a solid, progressive grassroots program

3. WCQ is SECONDARY to that mission

PERIOD
                            Look again at the nine games, they competed in every one, we have seen no blowouts in this hex yet, yes, the poor attacking play is an issue and clearly we need improvement, but we can't throw out the baby with the bath water, the baby is our local stars that have made good abroad, Taylor, Phillips, Cummings, jj, fuller, gardener, Austin, newbies like brown, mattocks etc, that is the core of our program, that is good.
                            All the 6 teams "competed" so to say that Jamaica "competed" .... is saying really nothing significant

Jamaica should be doing more than merely "competing".... since we didn't, the effort in the Hex was an almost unmitigated failure

The part of our game that is clearly lacking in the hex is two things, the passing and movement on and off the ball, it is poor that is why we cannot even get the consistent attacks in on goal and we are still trying to play like Brazil and not use our natural speed, strength, skill to take advantage of collapses in opponents attacks.
                            True... With the invasion of mediocre Snow Ballas the team play was **** poor

The second piece missing is the discipline, preparation and tactical development in playing defense for 90 minutes as a cohesive unit. You saw a clear breakdown on the second goal last night, we have seen that throughout the hex and when does it happen late in the game. That is discipline, that is lack of preparation, that is poor concentration, that is inability to execute at the toughest times, when you are most tired, your concentration is flagging and more prepared teams are pushing harder to get the result. Calypso footballer mentality!
                            This is what happens when one follows a hurry-come-up strategy of importing a bunch average players to play with others they're unfamiliar with.... in a league they're unfamiliar with ... in a time frame where no group cohesion is possible

Since this was a strategy you supported vociferously you're not in a position to disown the disastrous results

Time to Man Up Stoni

I think a lot of people do not realize that this is not Concacaf from 1998, the 1998 would probably not be able to compete in the current hex setup, this is much more competitive and there are no clear advantages as in the past even though it seems that way from the point spread. Jamaica gave up points that they should not have given up at all, not because of ub40 versus local or snowballed, it was pure lack of preparation. With preparation this team would be going to Brazil.
                            Your hypothetical argument here is laughable

1. Yes..This is not the 1998 CONCACAF... but nor is it the Jamaica of 1998. Unless you have fortune-telling powers, you can only guess (like NostraDon & everyone else ) what would happen if we followed an appropriate version of our 1994-98 strategy.... incidentally the ONLY successful WCQ model to date

2. Since the JFF mission is the development of Jamaican football... using & exposing local talent consistently would serve that development mission far better than importing mediocre foreigners...whether Jamaica achieves WCQ or not.

3. The strategy of using mediocre foreigners en masse has obviously failed consistently at achieving WCQ.
                            The consequent denial of exposure of locals to high quality ball (because of this mediocre foreign presence) has actually RETARDED Jamaica's football development.

So we have achieved the WORST of 2 worlds... retarded local development and no WCQ

Heads should roll for that...and apologists for the disaster should be ashamed
                            Here is the deal.
                            1. Gave up two points to our favor in first game versus Mexico and gave Mexico a point.
                            2. Gave up two points at home versus panama and also gave panama a point.
                            3. I will skip the cr game which we should not have lost, but let's say suh it go.
                            4. We gave mex three points at home and walked away with none on the worst guarded goal in the tournament.
                            5. We gave Us two points with a last minute goal in injury time, at home, there is no way that should have happened.
                            6. Honduras beat a dejected team 2-0 ok, no argument there.
                            7. Jamaica draws panama in panama, fair result.
                            8. Jamaica draws rc at home, should have figured a way to win that but won't fight that either.
                            9. Both us goals were defensive mistakes all around, should have had a draw at least, but sot guh.

We drop six easy points we should have had and gave away four points to mex, one to panama and four points to the us.
                            At this point I'm not concerned with parsing the details of the disaster. I'm into relevant systems analysis/strategy setting.

Jamaica needs to turn the page away from the failed strategy and adopt a new approach to football.

Again, the primary JFF mission should be to develop a football industry with socio-economic spinoffs spread as widely as possible.

You, the JFF and most Jamaicans seem to believe that the primary JFF mission is to qualify for the World Cup... backing that with the specious argument that WCQ will unlock resources for local development...that is incorrect.
                            We know it's incorrect because after 1998 WCQ it did not happen... even while we used mostly locals to qualify and the euphoria was overwhelming.

The correct equation is: Intensive, affordable, organized, intelligent local player development to bolster Jamaica's football INDUSTRY.... leading organically to a system which produces players and a team capable of WCQ (even using a few expats who commit early and are a good fit)..... plus patience to see this winning strategy mature even if it takes a couple of WCQ cycles.
                            i.e. I prefer my horse in front of my cart

We can do that or continue to put the cart before the horse with the 15 year failed policy of trying to create instant teams from mediocre Englishmen who have some trace connections to Jamaica

Mi nuh support strategy which has been established over a decade and a half as an absolute failure
                            Last edited by Don1; October 12, 2013, 11:42 PM.

I was talking about this game. If we improve with each game we will be in a better place. No doubt we have to build for Sustained grow. If you were looking at it from a coaching point of view, there were some positives to take away from it. There were some games that really had me wondering.