US success highlights RBZ Natural Resource Football Curse

• US success highlights RBZ Natural Resource Football Curse

To wit: Jamaica's reliance on superior natural speed, size, strength, skill (and Snow Balla access) ..... cannot consistently overcome superior organization & preparation by others less endowed.... the USA for example

As it is in economics...so it shall be in football

Klinsmann baffled by Boyz's display

Published: Friday | October 11, 2013

US head coach Jurgen Klinsmann. - file

Gordon Williams, Gleaner Writer

KANSAS CITY, Kansas:

Jamaica's performance in the final round of World Cup Qualifiers (WCQs) has baffled football observers here, with United States coach Jurgen Klinsmann among those surprised the quality of the Reggae Boyz squad has landed them in the hexagonal group cellar, going into today's game against the Americans here, and barely hanging on to hope for a spot in the game's biggest tournament next year.

"No, no, we all didn't expect Jamaica at the bottom of the table," Klinsmann said yesterday.

" ... I don't think that the record is reflecting Jamaica's strengths and situation," he added.

According to Klinsmann, who today will face Jamaica for the fourth time in WCQs in just over a year, the Boyz are blessed with good players and, maybe with a bit more fortune, could done better than just four points from eight matches, well behind already qualified US and Costa Rica, plus Honduras, Mexico and Panama.

"I believe talent has always been there in Jamaica, and (for) whatever reason it didn't turn out well in this cycle right now, in this World Cup Qualifying campaign," he said.

"I think there were also a little bit of unlucky moments, really unlucky moments, and I'm sure (when) they get their act together, they can zoom in again, and they start to believe in what they are doing again, they will be right back there to compete with everyone."

JAMAICA UNDERACHIEVED

Others here believe Jamaica has underachieved, among them former US international Eric Wynalda.

"It's clear there is talent in this (Jamaica) team and something went wrong," Wynalda, who played against Jamaica, said yesterday.

"I'm not sure if this all falls on the manager. I'm sure there's politics involved, but it looked like a team that started to get ahead of itself.

" ... It might have had a little to do with ego and a little to do with preparation. And I thought that Jamaica could have been a lot better through this qualification process."

According to goalkeeper Tim Howard, who will captain the US today, Jamaica are one of the few teams the Americans could never intimidate or outmuscle.

"The hardest part for us, playing Jamaica, more often than not, we dominate other teams physically," Howard said yesterday. "And the tough part about Jamaica is usually they are more physical than we are. They're stronger, they're bigger, faster."

CAN'T BE UNDERRATED

Despite winning the last two games against the Boyz, following the US's only loss at the senior level last September in Kingston, Klinsmann believes Jamaica can never be underrated.

"You really have to be on top of your game when you play Jamaica," he said, "because they can surprise you.

".... And they are very, very difficult to break down because they are very compact and well organised in the back."

Today's US strategy is to get Jamaica chasing the ball at Sporting Park.

"What we need to do is we need to move the ball around quickly," said Klinsmann. "We need to transition fast from the back line into the front and open gaps, make them (Jamaica) run, hopefully, and find an opportunity to score."

Klinsmann believes the addition of German compatriot Winfried Schäfer, Jamaica's coach in the last two games after replacing Theodore Whitmore, will bolster the Boyz. He expects Schäfer's technical knowledge and ability to motivate his team to be pivotal today.

"As long as it's a nil-nil score, (Jamaica) will believe and they will grow and they will get more belief the longer the game goes on," said Klinsmann. "So we need to be really ready for it."

talent? what the hell are they talking about? what do they know about talent?!!

who dat? The US coach??

yes!

Even with High School football interests derailing proper development there are 11 players eligible to play for Jamaica than could easily qualify out of Concacaf..

Problem is something called Politics..

The question is not who the best players are but who 'the selection committee' views as in their best interests..

all im entikle to im opinion

Even with High School football interests derailing proper development there are 11 players eligible to play for Jamaica than could easily qualify out of Concacaf..

Problem is something called Politics..

The question is not who the best players are but who 'the selection committee' views as in their best interests..

The JFF's mission is football development.
              So the JFF development agenda is dominated by "high school football" interests???? LOL

Please indicate the key individuals orchestrating this situation and how they achieve their plan... as far as your warped imaginings allow

I predict that you cannot...but what you can do is repeat that rubbish endlessly in the hope it acquires some currency

Doan tap atall Ben
              Last edited by Don1; October 11, 2013, 01:18 PM.

So the JFF man dem nevah guh High school ?

To wit: Jamaica's reliance on superior natural speed, size, strength, skill (and Snow Balla access) ..... cannot consistently overcome superior organization & preparation by others less endowed.... the USA for example

As it is in economics...so it shall be in football

Klinsmann baffled by Boyz's display

Published: Friday | October 11, 2013
                  Preach it Don1!!!
                  Talent abounds...but the very important "What is to be done with the talent to achieve greatest of return on it?" is for us the million dollar question that so far we - have outsiders and a few of us - have not found a solution/an answer.

...and to think this man constantly utters "critical thinking"?

So the JFF man dem nevah guh High school ?

LOL... mi belly!!

Suh is dat yuh case ress pon yute???

Nuh wonda yuh did fraid fi divulge yuh "theory"... woooiiiieee ..

Which JFF official brave enough to kill schoolboy football as we know it.. ?

JC, KC, Georges, Calabar Old Boys club relegated to watching a watered down what-leff league.. ?

A daunting thought..

When yuh can ansah dat question lemme know..

Everybody waan guh heaven but nuhbaddy waan dead..

You are even more psychologically damaged by the 12 love whippings than I thought

Describe how high school ball "as we know it" would be ended

Do you mean we would live in a parallel universe where Campion and the like would be contenders?? woooiiiee mi cleats!!

If it is not obvious to you then it is not worth my time explaining..

Great.

Mi ave a low tolerance fi foolfool argument