Young Boyz need a miracle!

• Young Boyz need a miracle!

HOSTS JAMAICA must find a way to beat group leaders, the United States, if they are to keep their fading hopes of booking a spot at the FIFA Under-17 World Cup alive when the teams meet tonight, at 7:00, at the National Stadium.
    The young Reggae Boyz will also have to pray that regional counterparts Trinidad and Tobago can deliver an unlikely victory against Canada in the 5:00 p.m. game or they could be out of the competition before kick-off time.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...129&category=1

Re: Young Boyz need a miracle!

U-17s seek reprieve

Young Boyz face mighty USA in Qualifiers

SEAN A WILLIAMS, Assistant Sports Editor
    Friday, May 04, 2007

Jamaica's Yannick Salmon (left) prepares to dribble past Costa Rica's Oviedo Bryan during Wednesday night's CONCACAF Group B UNder-17 game at the National Stadium. Costa Rica won 1-0. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)
    IF coach David Hunt's post-match comments are anything to go by, the unsuspecting man would think his Under-17 football team is doing well.

In fact, the Jamaicans have been virtually eliminated from the CONCACAF Group B Under-17 World Cup qualifying tournament presently on at the National Stadium here in Kingston.

Hunt's upbeat mood, even in the face of utter defeat, is not easy to fathom.

In a post-match press conference after the Young Reggae Boyz's 0-1 defeat to Costa Rica on Wednesday night, Hunt had his tail in the air even as the Central Americans showed superior all-round form that eventually led to the win.

"I think both teams were evenly matched," said Hunt as he responded to questions from journalists. "I am happy with the effort the players displayed, and I think tactically they stuck to a lot of the things we have practised. and as I have said, it just came down to one little mistake," he added.

That "one little mistake" all but knocked Jamaica out of qualifying for this summer's Under-17 World Cup in South Korea and earned Costa Rica a spot in the Asia championships.

"The Costa Ricans got the only goal of the game and that was the main difference (between the team). I think we defended fairly well though and the goal they scored, we just gave away the ball just right outside the 18-yard area," said Hunt, a successful coach at the local youth level.

Jamaica - after going down 0-3 to Canada in their opening match of the five-team tournament from which three will book spots to South Korea - appeared a bit more aggressive in their approach in Wednesday's game, but reproduced the lack of organisation and tactical finesse from the first.

"From the start of the game (on Wednesday), I thought they played much more aggressive. They attacked more, they talked for the ball more, and it showed in their performance," argued Hunt.
    "I thought they played a very tough game," he added.

Jamaica go into today's game against tournament favourites the USA without a goal to their name, and all eyes have turned on top striker and captain, Dever Orgill, from whom a lot was expected.
    "He has been our top goal-scorer right throughout, even before I started coaching the team, and as you said he has played well in some of the other games.
    "To me, he played reasonably well in the first half (Costa Rica match), but he didn't kick enough, and he got some opportunities that went straight to the 'keeper," Hunt noted.

But no number of goals at this point will help the Young Boyz's fizzled cause, the focus will more likely be on how many they may concede against the powerful USA in this evening's 7 o'clock kickoff.

The Americans need only a draw against Jamaica to book their passage to South Korea, having defeated Caribbean neighbours Trinidad & Tobago 3-0 in their opening game and Canada 2-1 on Wednesday.

Perhaps an upset is in the stars for the Under-17s as Jamaican teams are usually highly motivated to play against the USA - a country they have never defeated at any level.

And the prospect of a Jamaica team conjuring a landmark defeat against the USA must be the most striking allure for anyone attending today's match, because so far the overall performance of the youngsters on the pitch and match results have been woeful, to say the least.

In the 5:00 pm curtain-raiser of the double-header, another North American powerhouse Canada (four points) could seal their deal for Asia with a win over T&T, who, like Jamaica, are yet to gain a point.

Jamaica (from): Oneil Wilson, Christopher Banner, Kenneil Hyde, McKauly Tulloch, John Ross Doyley, Jermaine Jarrett, Damaine Thompson, Kabari Palmer, Shamari Brown, Marvin Boothe, Yannick Salmon, Andre Steele, Dever Orgill, Shabon Brown, Peter Kafach, Akeen Brown, Christopher Waugh, Adrian Christian, Andre Blake, Noel Mais.

USA (from): William Schuler, Sheanon Williams, Mykell Batio, Thomas Meyer, Daniel Wenzel, Jared Jeffrey, Abdulasam Ibrahim, Dane Shea, Zachary McMath, Alexander Nimo, Hugh Dixon, Joshua Lambo, Howard Rivers, Nicholas Millington, Bryan Dominguez, Brendon King, Jesse Parades, Brandon Zimmerman, Gregory Garza.

Copyright© 2000-2001 Jamaica Observer.

Karl are you holding faith 20,000 people pack the stadium fuh that game

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
        Karl are you holding faith 20,000 people pack the stadium fuh that game
        The JFF could certainly have included the schools (our real academies) in the planning.

Why in 'the name of the football' could you not have had Manning and DaCosta Cup teams and coaches invited to enter and watch the football at reduced prices?

Why are not the schools given discounted tickets such that there was attendance in the bleachers? ...even for the last set of matches?

Why knowing that taking into consideration our football culture...attracting fanz to the games would be difficult all our JFF, CONFED and Parish Associations'...teams, etc. were not targeted consumers? Reduced fare? JFF/Parish/Confed, etc., football activities...other activities, planned to bring persons into close proximity to the game venue? Isn't a few more thousands attending mean a few more tens of thosands dollars in the JFF's coffers?

Joke ting di JFF a gwaan wid!

Good recommendations Karl! The JFF are not thinking people.

BTW the campaign is over, and Boxhill should gracefully resign before he is thrown out of office at the next election.

Schools are given discount tickets, Karl. Not sure how many have made use of the oppty. Garvey Maceo from Clarendon has sent a bus load of students to at least two of the match days.

By the way, reduced tickets have never been available in the past, if you know what I mean!

Originally posted by Hortikal View Post
              Good recommendations Karl! The JFF are not thinking people.

BTW the campaign is over, and Boxhill should gracefully resign before he is thrown out of office at the next election.
              What they should do now is open the gates for free for the remaining two games. I mean, we talking about the under-17's, not the snior team....daratiionally these teams dont normally make mony for the JFF.
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Schools are given discount tickets, Karl. Not sure how many have made use of the oppty. Garvey Maceo from Clarendon has sent a bus load of students to at least two of the match days.

By the way, reduced tickets have never been available in the past, if you know what I mean!
                Perhaps - the net those discounted tickets covered was not wide enough...and, maybe 'the other things' (certainly not limited to those memtioned in my post) attempted were not as extensive as it could have been? Certainly the reports of the bleachers gates not even being openned tells a story???? Right?
                Last edited by Karl; May 4, 2007, 10:41 AM.

Karl, first you have to face some facts - football at this level is not well supported. Would really have been interesting if there was no cover charge at all!

We can't just blame the authorities every time something does not happen the way we expect it to happen.

And I'm not sure about this free thing. There are too many losers wandering around that would probably spoil it for many people if they heard that "stadium free tidday"!

Like I always say, there is enuff foolishness lying around to crucify this administration. Let's find those and plaster them with it! Leave the wishy-washy ones alone.

Karl, first you have to face some facts - football at this level is not well supported. Would really have been interesting if there was no cover charge at all!

We can't just blame the authorities every time something does not happen the way we expect it to happen.

And I'm not sure about this free thing. There are too many losers wandering around that would probably spoil it for many people if they heard that "stadium free tidday"!

Like I always say, there is enuff foolishness lying around to crucify this administration. Let's find those and plaster them with it! Leave the wishy-washy ones alone.

...but, then I do not think it is wishy-washy.

As far as the JFF's duty is concerned, besides having a well prepared...to win tournament team, a) run an efficient tournament; b) make as much money during the tournament as possible; get as great publicity for selves and our football and create a festival...you call those things wishy-washy?

All serious things, that should be attempted in professional manner, if you ask me.
                    Last edited by Karl; May 4, 2007, 10:58 AM.

We never had issues filling the stadium in the past...so no need to give away free passes.
                      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

You neva had issue filling the stadium for under 17 games

For U-17 games?

But Karl, it is wishy-washy if you don't know what happened on the ground and continue to front as if you do, even when told otherwise!

Carry on, agendas must be fulfilled, by any means necessary!

well reggae fan said that they neva had an issue filling the stadium before