FOOTBALL: Colorado Rapids striker invited to Reggae Boyz squad

Published: Monday October 7, 2013 | 9:19 am

Jamaica’s senior football head coach, German national Winfried Schafer, has invited Colorado Rapids forward Deshorn Brown to the Reggae Boyz 23-member squad for upcoming CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers.

The Reggae Boyz will visit United States on Friday, and host Honduras on October 15 at the National Stadium.

In two seasons with the US Major League side, Brown tallied 53 goals and eight assists.

The in-form striker scored twice on Saturday to lead the Colorado Rapids to a 5-1 victory over Seattle Sounders.

The squad is without strikers Marlon King and Luton Shelton who played in the 1-1 draw against Costa Rica on September 10 at the National Stadium.

First choice goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts, who missed the Costa Rica game through card accumulations, was overlooked because of a broken finger and as a result DuWayne Kerr received a call-up.

Rodolph Austin is back after serving a one-match suspension, while Demar Phillips received a re-call to the squad.

The squad also includes five local-based players.

They are – Jermaine ‘Tuffy’ Anderson, Alvas Powell, Kemar Lawrence, Romario Campbell and goalkeeper Gariece McPherson.

The squad is completed by Adrian Mariappa, Lloyd Doyles, Marvin Elliott, Jermaine Johnson, Joel McAnuff, Darren Mattocks, Theo Robinson, Shaun Cummings, Jermaine Taylor, Je-Vaughn Watson, Ryan Johnson, Westley Morgan and goalkeeper Richard McCallum.

The Reggae Boyz are bottom of the six-team table on four points and only have a slim chance of qualifying for the Brazil 2014 World Cup.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=48454

In two seasons with the US Major League side, Brown tallied 53 goals and eight assists.

Source: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=48454
      Damn?

Huh???? Two Seasons????

Brown, 22, is a Rookie of the Year candidate in his first professional season, having been drafted 6th overall by the Rapids in the 2013 MLS SuperDraft.

What kind of seasons - onion and skellion???
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Huh???? Two Seasons????

Brown, 22, is a Rookie of the Year candidate in his first professional season, having been drafted 6th overall by the Rapids in the 2013 MLS SuperDraft.

Mi di a wanda weh dem di a hide im?
          Dem stats deh she - Diisssssssssssssssss man pan fiyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!!

Knew when he left for college...and when he went to MLS!!!

Huh???? Two Seasons????

Quality journalism there!

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
              While JFF has not announced the full squad, Daniel Gordon has been called to The Reggae Boyz, according to Karlsruhe's website.
              He's in. Here's the full Jamaica squad:

Full squad — DuWayne Kerr, Daniel Gordon, Lloyd Doyley, Marvin Elliott, Jermaine Johnson, Ryan Johnson, Joel Mcanuff, Darren Mattocks, Theo Robinson, Shaun Cummings, Jermaine Taylor, Westley Morgan, Alvas Powell, Adrian Mariappa, Je-Vaughn Watson, Rodolph Austin, Demar Phillips, Deshorn Brown, Richard McCallum, Gariece McPherson, Jermaine Anderson, Romario Campbell, Kemar Lawrence.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...#ixzz2h3ocB3G0

I know you were just waiting for this. I just kudden help it but remind you.

Oh well, let us hope he will perform well and can get the job done for Jamaica.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Big talent that! Hope he and Mattocks can get the job done on Friday. I do not think we will miss McCleary, Shelton, King and Jermaine. They were not really doing anything for the team.

Gamma, you always said I was always pushing Des horn because he was a STETHS man. Now you see that I have an eye for talent.
                  Yuh rite...an yuh rite!!!
                  ...an Gamma di rite!

nutten nuh seh wah yuh both di seh caaan both bi tru!!!

You have an eye for your STETHS balla. So happens this time he's loaded with talent.

How much of Brown's success has to do with proper service in the danger areas?

Good to see Demar Phillips back in the squad, influencial player, we have missed him.

true dat ... dunny ... i am concerned about the service to our forwards. we could start mattocks and brown but if they don't get proper service in the danger areas or they have to come too deep to retrieve the ball they will be frustrated because even when they come deep i have not seen the midfield advance to support any attacking play that could result. which leads us back to the lack of crativity in the middle of the park ... what say you?

PS i think that there are ways to compensate for or minimise the effects of the absence of such a player but it requires far more time and structure to hone that tactic ...

true dat ... dunny ... i am concerned about the service to our forwards. we could start mattocks and brown but if they don't get proper service in the danger areas or they have to come too deep to retrieve the ball they will be frustrated because even when they come deep i have not seen the midfield advance to support any attacking play that could result. which leads us back to the lack of crativity in the middle of the park ... what say you?

PS i think that there are ways to compensate for or minimise the effects of the absence of such a player but it requires far more time and structure to hone that tactic ...
                            Agreed, we are just not creating enough chances. I think the 3-5-2 system that the new coach is playing will suit Demar down to the ground. He would give us balance at left wingback and will prove an extra attacking threat.

true dat ... dunny ... i am concerned about the service to our forwards. we could start mattocks and brown but if they don't get proper service
                              Understood.
                              ...and right on the mark.

...in the danger areas or they have to come too deep to retrieve the ball they will be frustrated because even when they come deep i have not seen the midfield advance to support any attacking play that could result. which leads us back to the lack of crativity in the middle of the park ... what say you?
                              Coming too deep to retrieve the ball?

They will be frustrated because of coming deep? ...or because of lack of support on attacking?

...leads to lack of creativity in the middle of the park?

The coming too deep or the lack of support or both?
                              ..and who shows that lack of creativity...the players coming too deep or those who show lack of support?

follow mw ... the LACK of creativity forces the forward to come deep and when they come deep, there is no support to hep building the play going forward.

if the team plays with more cohesion from front to back and with crisp ball movement and movement off the ball we could overcome that somewhat. but in order to play that brand of football the players need more than 3 days to gel and would best be implemented as a part of youth strategy so that youngsters grow up playing in a particular way with would make it easier to interchange ....