There is something called being realistic. Before we get all our schools to be Campion (education), Calabar (track & field), STGC (football), KC (SCQ) - yuh get the picture? - all rolled up to become Utopia Highs all over the island, how about trying to improve their academics one by one? Which idea is REALISTIC? Which idea was formed by someone living in LA-LA-land?"
And yes, it is Utopia to think that our schools can be first class academic institutions while being first class football academies, and first class track clubs all at the same time.
I call it utopia. Others may call it mania.
We call it....... Jamaica College!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
There is something called being realistic. Before we get all our schools to be Campion (education), Calabar (track & field), STGC (football), KC (SCQ) - yuh get the picture? - all rolled up to become Utopia Highs all over the island, how about trying to improve their academics one by one? Which idea is REALISTIC? Which idea was formed by someone living in LA-LA-land?"
Don't allow me to interrupt your dream.
Sigh
Surely you do not mean; "improve each school...progress in a 'rolling manner' one school then another, then another and so on"...one must be made excellent before others are brought 'up to speed'? Do you believe it is the same set of teachers who would be moving from school to school...but even that must make no sense to you...
All the schools can immediately begin to work at improvement...Yes, all at the same time. Rates of improvement may differ in areas of discipline and as whole school...but all should be immediately at work/put to work improving in each area of discipline and as complete education entity.
No one expects all the schools...or even one of our schools to in an instant become top of the world institution. It takes time (It shall take time).
We do know that even schools leading in one area of discipline need to improve both in that particular area and generally. The key is, working toward same.
Dream?
...but it was not too long past Bob asked that we remove the scales from our eyes.
I call it utopia. Others may call it mania.
This suggests you expect the same teachers to be teaching Chemistry and English...and Track and Field and Football...
The schools are supposed to have excellent administrators (senior teachers/heads of departments) and excellent classroom teachers (those who teach academic subjects) and excellent sports coaches/teachers.
It was never intended that in some areas of discipline you staff the school with poorly trained and poor workers. Some of us have grown to accept that...but it should not be...must be done away with...excellent trained administrators, teachers, coaches and ancillary and support staff must become in each school the order of the day.
...we must call out those who are hired and mandated to assist in development of our kids. Let them know, enough is enough.
The kids deserve excellent educational institutions. ...and the society must demand same.
The 'dun kah', resigned acceptance of poor or mediocre education entities will continue to get us 'failures'. ...and we shall continue to turn out vast hordes of 'duh kah' members of society as so many of the current graduates are.
Hey they have learned well in our schools...they are taught (by example) that it is A-OK to just 'not try' for excellence.
...and we wonder why so many workers are 'dun kah' and our politicians are as they are? Hey they graduated from our schools !!!