Sounds like they did a "great job" of addressing the needs to the 18year old 5th form crew.
Benbow back at St George's
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostIn the 60s I understand. You can do the math .
Or can you?
What a Bam Bam!! woooiiieeeTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
LOL..
Im mek sense dohTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Shola View PostWhat about a school identifying exceptional talent and facilitating the development of said talent while also providing 1 on 1 attention and extra lessons for the students' academic inadequacies.
Sad how that last part is always forgotten. *Sigh*
There are many kids who have no interest in taking part in sports who need that 1 on 1 attention and extra lessons for the students' academic inadequacies...and by the way many of those the fault lies not with the kids but elsewhere, not least of which is 'marring' by poor teachers. - Matters not if the teachers do not have the wherewithal to do a good job or do have the tools but are demotivated or not challenged by the administration to 'step to the plate'.
...and there also are kids who are identified as having exceptional talent both at academics and for a sport or more than one sport.
I rather suspect that the few kids needing that attention of which you speak (and others refer) are preforming poorly academically will also not achieve fullest potential at the school to which they have switched if that school engages in the nonsense policy of deliberately ignoring one or more areas of discipline as the students are apt to recognize same...and fall into the pattern of not being fully engaged with/in any area of discipline.
The young have the innate ability to quickly grasp what the adults around them are really 'saying' and are quick to ape the adults' behavior.
Years of observing adults...and particularly adults in authority who are supposed to teach and lead...but who 'slouch around' in (some) areas of discipline, teaches - (by actions - ever hear the phrase, "actions speak louder than words"?) - the student to also be a slouch and not just in the area of discipline observed but the young also transfer that observed/'learnt' to other areas of discipline.
...but to go back to underperforming kids - most often it is not an inability to learn as expected of the relevant age cohort but the performances achieved is directly linked to other factors - poor learning environment - top professional teaching and that naturally includes the teacher motivating the student to high level, home environment - lack of adequate nutrition, poor sleeping habits maybe as a result of inadequate bedding, space in the home, sexual exploitation, etc., etc.
We have no kids who cannot achieve at the top academic level if 'everything is in place'...save "the few who may have fallen on their heads".
We nuh ave nuh eidat!!!
Why would anyone be against a recognition of exceptional talent (in any area) and not wish to make the talented aware of an opportunity or opportunities to fully develop that talent?
Why would teachers with known excellent academic or sports environment not wish to introduce exception talents to what they have to offer?
...and why would the parents and guardians not wish to make decisions that would best advance the development of the talented child?
The solution is improved teaching/coaching environment at all schools. ...not attacks on schools, students or parents/guardians who wish to maximize on opportunities.
The attacks suggest dumbing down of systems or at best comfort with mediocrity and failing education institutions.Last edited by Karl; October 2, 2013, 03:34 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Don't tell Karl dem dat. Karl dem speaking of some ideal situation that just does not take place in our schools. We can't get the "regular" kids to pass a subject so do we really think we will try any harder for our sportsmen and women. Actually, they are even using that argument to justify the nonsense, saying the pass rates are so low, why do we pick on the athletes that also don't end up with nothing?!
What we should be doing is improving the education of our students before we go running off to build champion teams filled with more dunces!
Exploitation!
well that is the thing, a player with that potential ought to be in a football dedicated learning environment. that is what karl is missing .... he should have been there since age 12-14 if not before.
so what he has is a tweener ... he is at "school" for the football but what he needs to develope as a professional is not and cannot be catered to in that environment.