Benbow back at St George's
Originally posted by Gamma View Postthe educytion environment is primarily focused on academics and sports are extra-curricular becaue all work and no play etc... with the "buying" of players we have created a hybrid which works for d-cup nad Manning Cup but is inadequate in a professional environment.
using my logic extra curricular football ought to continue as it is good for school morale and has been going on for many many years and is steeped in tradition.
we need to MOVE from that model in order to take our football forward as it is wholly inadequate to allow us to compete at that level internationally. perhaps within the CFU but not on a wider scale, the evidence is there. we have failed more often than we have succeded.
Erm...Ben
Please learn fram yuh compadre as above
ApparAntly he's not psychologically scarred as you are from the trauma of high school football back in di day
Rise above the bitter HS memories please Ben... Bricktop it look like yuh 'opeless suh gwaan duh yuh tingTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
we need to MOVE from that model in order to take our football forward as it is wholly inadequate to allow us to compete at that level internationally. perhaps within the CFU but not on a wider scale, the evidence is there. we have failed more often than we have succeded.
End of story!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Vacuous. It requires a different paradigm with a different focus. A football centric institution as DISTINCT from an academic institution it cannot be all things to all people ..... Where in professional football does that model you propose work in this day and age?
Originally posted by Gamma View PostVacuous. It requires a different paradigm with a different focus. A football centric institution as DISTINCT from an academic institution it cannot be all things to all people ..... Where in professional football does that model you propose work in this day and age?
Many are those where academics is of utmost importance...and many are those that state same in their Vision/Mission statement.
Tek hit heasy mi frien?
Do yuh due diligence....please?
btw - Which academy says -
The youth teams train after school"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
some are good some are bad and some are mediocre.
focus karl. a football academy FOCUSES on football ... a traditional school focuses on academics. its not rocket science.
due diligence, is not doing the due diligence, is what you make of the information.
anyway, we have had this discussion before and i leave you to your machinations.
Which academy insists that the kids education is
of utmost importance by assisting up until a baccalaureate degree?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Gamma View Postsome are good some are bad and some are mediocre.
focus karl. a football academy FOCUSES on football ... a traditional school focuses on academics. its not rocket science.
due diligence, is not doing the due diligence, is what you make of the information.
anyway, we have had this discussion before and i leave you to your machinations.
Can recommend it.
Good experience.
Keep eyes and ears open!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Bricktop? --- Taken from statement on an academic subject
...and modified:
"The area relating to teacher training is very significant because, if it is that we take care of it we won't have to do too much of the tidying up that we have to do now with the thousands of teachers (coaches) that we have to work on out there, and it is important we do that because there are persons in the system coaching football with absolutely no 'football' qualification at all"...no idea that what they are doing harms rather than assists in/on development of our talented players.
Under the policy, 50 specialists will be deployed to primary schools and an additional 26 to secondary schools to support teachers in developing the knowledge, skills and competencies to utilise methods of teaching (coaching) which are promoted in the National Comprehensive Development Programme.
Training of teachers will be facilitated through coaching on site, access to an online programme, and face-to-face in a modular form in *teacher-training institutions.
*World recognized academies and football clubs."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
What about a school identifying exceptional talent and facilitating the development of said talent while also providing 1 on 1 attention and extra lessons for the students' academic inadequacies.
Sad how that last part is always forgotten. *Sigh*
Originally posted by Shola View PostWhat about a school identifying exceptional talent and facilitating the development of said talent while also providing 1 on 1 attention and extra lessons for the students' academic inadequacies.
Sad how that last part is always forgotten. *Sigh*
There's no basis to paint Jawges with a broad brush of "exploitation" .... unless some evidenced of that can be adduced... other than the mere presence of imported talent
If as is said these recruited kids benefit from specialized academic support along with the so-called "good school" association that Jawges provides... they're most probably better off in their life chances than wherever they came from... on an individual basis that is
All di same unnu seem to be very effective at recruiting some of the best talent available ... That requires a very concerted, organized recruitment program... dat obvious
The question is whether or not this situation is "fair" or "desirable" for the school system as a wholeLast edited by Don1; October 2, 2013, 02:05 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE