• Three-Way Battle For Evan Taylor

Three-Way Battle For Taylor
    Published: Monday | September 30, 20130 CommentsEvan Taylor

Ryon Jones,*Staff*Reporter

One club is feeling aggrieved at having lost him, another is trying to hold on to him and yet another is trying to sign him, as a war rages for the services of former national midfielder Evan Taylor.

The versatile midfielder, who was contracted to Super League outfit Reno and then loaned out to Harbour View where he played a vital role in them winning the premier league last season, is now being courted by*Montego*BayUnited (MBUFC).

Harbour View are, however, contending that the 24-year-old is contracted to them for three years with only one having elapsed.

An operations committee of the Edward Seaga-chaired Professional Footballers Association of*Jamaica*(PFAJ) is currently deliberating on the matter.

"We sent in a transfer and we have a contract that we sent there and we tried to register the player, and only after that we are finding out that Harbour View are saying that he is contracted with them, so they are supposed to submit it to the JFF, because none was there before," Orville Powell, president of MBUFC, shared.

"It is in the hands of the PFAJ. They had a meeting on Wednesday and they have given Harbour View 48 hours to bring in some documents and there will be a ruling on Monday."

Harbour View's general manager, Clyde Jureidini has, however, refuted claims that the club has been asked to present proof of the contract with Taylor.

"I can confirm to you, that document (contract) was always in their (PFAJ) possession before the meeting was held," Jureidini said. "The document that they (operations committee) are asking us for, we have told them before that we know nothing of it. We are waiting to hear, because it is now a matter in the*football*courts."

Allan Lewis, chairman of the operations committee, confirmed that the matter is currently being dealt with, but declined to speak further.

"The committee is still dealing with the matter, so when we have completed the matter the findings and rulings will be disseminated to the public," Lewis said.

Taylor's loan agreement with Harbour View stipulated that should the player land a contract overseas then part proceeds would go to Reno. Taylor's original contract with Reno has now expired after only one year of the loan agreement

"He is no longer a registered player with us, because his contract was up on the July 31," Reno's chairman, Russell Hammond, revealed. "We made a three-year agreement with Harbour View with the expectation that he (Taylor) would have re-signed with us."

Hammond is of the view that Taylor may have been persuaded not to re-sign with the Westmoreland-based club by a United States-based agent. "It is something that we are very annoyed about," Hammond said. He said the club will be meeting to discuss the matter.

ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com

What a mess! So many questions to be asked!

The first one is, I thought the player was "on the run". Me, what do you know about that?

Don't know about Evan and his situation. I just know that H. View seems to have a thing with contracts not existing and then popping up, just like they did in the case where the J League team wanted to sign Jorginho.

heheheheheheh!!!!

Was that what happened? Okay!

Tell you bredrin them to sort out them documentation issues. In the meantime you and Hue need fi go to Grant and Cappo and get Jerry him "damages" funds.

Wha yuh a tell mi all a dat fah?

But see yah...!

You nuh have any Errol Stevens update?

I don't. Will try and find out if he has set Thailand on fire.

What is amazing is that he is still just 24.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                      What is amazing is that he is still just 24.
                      Stoni?
                      He is in the NPL...at 24!

Our NPL (RSNL) is just not at the standard where a 24 can be considered young when he is still playing there. Now if he was at one of the premier leagues in top world football countries or even in a 2nd tier country where vast numbers of scouts and agents from or with networks in top tier countries...then.

24 and still in the RSPL?
                      Time has for 99.99999999999+% of those players has already gone by!!!

We need to get real about the competition out there for players. Look I have 'tons' of requests for players but I am protective of my rep and find it terrible difficult to find players from the RSPL to recommend.

A few years ago he was at Charlton with Dane Kelly. They didn't renew his loan deal but did for Dane. Dane was a starter and is now one of the best forward in the A league, with other teams looking at him.

Hopefully he can impress others.

A few years ago he was at Charlton with Dane Kelly. They didn't renew his loan deal but did for Dane. Dane was a starter and is now one of the best forward in the A league, with other teams looking at him.

Hopefully he can impress others.
                          I think you mean Charleston not Charlton. Just a friendly assist.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
                            I think you mean Charleston not Charlton. Just a friendly assist.
                            ...and if so a vastly different quality league...

LOL. A you upset me in the your DC united post. LOL