• Vidic selection was a disaster, says Docherty

Vidic selection was a disaster, says Docherty

FORMER Manchester United manager Tommy Docherty has labelled Sir Alex Ferguson’s decision to pick Nemanja Vidic in the second leg of the Champions League semi-final against AC Milan as a “disaster”.

The Serbia defender was drafted into the team which lost 3–0 in the San Siro, 5–3 on aggregate, after a month out with a broken collarbone.

United looked shaky in defence throughout last night’s match and Docherty told Radio Five Live: “When you’re out for four or five weeks and the surgeon says you’re fit to play, you’re fit but not fit to play.

“Playing Vidic was a disaster.”

He added: “I think they (United) were outclassed. The best team won but the damage was done when Milan scored two goals at Old Trafford.

“You only play as well as you’re allowed and Milan were outstanding.”

Re: Vidic selection was a disaster, says Docherty

Bwoy, mi cyaan too blame Fergie fi dah move deh. He needed to play Rio or Vidic. The boss tek a gamble and it nuh work. WE affi simply live wid it. The reality is none of the players stood up.

Yuhseeit. Is hindsight mek people a talk now.

Bwoy, mi cyaan too blame Fergie fi dah move deh. He needed to play Rio or Vidic. The boss tek a gamble and it nuh work. WE affi simply live wid it. The reality is none of the players stood up.
        The Kaka/Seedorf combo was a big reason for that. Alex should have managed that game much better, from the first whistle u could see it and he made no adjustments.

So happy for Seedorf. For years, he took the backseat while Holland and the world celebrated the young Patrick Kluivert, deservingly so at the time. Now, it's Seedorf's turn to shine! I wonder if the Dutch national coach can continue to ignore this brilliant player?

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
            The Kaka/Seedorf combo was a big reason for that. Alex should have managed that game much better, from the first whistle u could see it and he made no adjustments.
            Scaly, I think like me Fergie expected them to start doing their thing. Should he have been proactive and addressed the situation, maybe ... but time and again these players dig themselves out of a hole. At halftime 2-0 I was expecting a comeback and seeing them passing the ball more had me smiling ....... and then there was the 3rd goal.

It was Milan's night .... no denying that.

So happy for Seedorf. For years, he took the backseat while Holland and the world celebrated the young Patrick Kluivert, deservingly so at the time. Now, it's Seedorf's turn to shine! I wonder if the Dutch national coach can continue to ignore this brilliant player?
              I may be wrong, but didn't Van Basten call him up the other day and he refused? I may be thinking of the wrong player. The fact he was snubbed for the World Cup, him should have no problem showing Van Basten half of a piece sign.

Scaly, I think like me Fergie expected them to start doing their thing. Should he have been proactive and addressed the situation, maybe ... but time and again these players dig themselves out of a hole. At halftime 2-0 I was expecting a comeback and seeing them passing the ball more had me smiling ....... and then there was the 3rd goal.

It was Milan's night .... no denying that.
                True but it was clear from the get go that ManU was not the same side as the one who played Roma or AC (in the 1st leg) so Fergie should know that he needed to manage that game more closely.

One thing with me is that I hate when manager sit on the side line and do nothing when the players need help..........this is why up to this day 4 years later I am still ****************ED WITH LAZA for that JA/US game at the office when in the 89 min with a 1-0 lead he let the US score.

Game management is BIG.

Nuh mek Laza send up yuh pressure. You may be right on Fergie's management but it happened against Everton, Blackburn etc and especially against Everton, he didn't make a move until it was 2-1.

Then again, last year I called him senile because he persisted with this 4-5-1 formation and this season he used it to perfection. Maybe he should have reverted to the 4-4-2 yesterday.. who know ... with how Gattuso closed down the Manu attackers I wonder if it would have made any difference.

Lazie

Manu's problem yesterday was it's midfield, not its defence. Carrick and Fletcher were useless helping out the back 4. When you have Evra, Neville and Rio in the line up, they can get away with that, but not with a second string back 4.

Neither of them did one thing to impede Kaka's run on the first goal, they just watched him skip right by. Similarly, on the second goal, when Brown slipped (which you can't bad mind him for) they did nothing to come back and close down Pirlo's pass to Seedorf. So boops, before you know it...2-0.

My personal take is that because Fletcher and Carrick didn't show up, there was no way to release Giggs, Scholes and Ronaldo with any proper support. And once those three are out of the game, game done.

Good luck to Chelski and Manure fans in the FA CUP final.

YNWA.

I thought that Ronaldo did not play a very mature game either. He was his usual swashbuckling self which played right into the hands of Gattuso who manhandled him all day!

A more mature player would have pulled Gattuso and others away by hanging wide and playing more 1-touch or 2-touch balls and moving into space, not the long dribbling exhibition that he gave us all evening.

Courtney always say Defense win championships. The reality is none of the players showed up. Forward, midfield nor defense. Fergie rested Fletcher for the Everton game and I was convinced he was going to be used to try and closely mark Kaka.

Then again, Gattuso .... damn! He proved to me why Fergie been chasing Hargreves. I think Fergie should simply get Gattuso since Essien and Gerrard the Mali youth at Liverpool not leaving their current clubs.

The "Mali youth" name is Sissoko. But name one Liverpool player (or vice versa) that has ever left for Manure? Transfers between the top 4 are virtually non-existent, and when they happen, there is nuff drama (Cole/Gallas, Gerrard to Chelsea etc.).

As far as Manure is concerned though, you are right, you don't have a midfield enforcer, but I am sorry to say, that despite industrious play, Hargreaves is not the answer. You need a player like Patrick Viera...but then again...who doesn't?