The Great Thing about a World Cup Qualification Flop...

• The Great Thing about a World Cup Qualification Flop...

... not that I'm hoping it happens. I hope the miracle occurs But if it doesn't..

Perhaps Jamaicans will realize finally that the serial short term fixes (employed over a LONG 15 years now) have comprehensively FAILED and should be abandoned forthwith

The Snow Importation Plan should be radically downsized (to a limited filler role) and an intelligent local, long term development plan ramped up immediately to produce a local core player group ... even if it means writing off 2018 WCQ but has us set for 2022 onwards with a strong, self-sustaining local football system.

This would probably be a zero-sum equation since the snow ballas aint qualifying us anyway

But logic probably won't prevail

Jamaica will never sacrifice a World Cup campaign just to build a sustainable foundation. The little money that comes into the JFF's coffers is earned (and eventually wasted) during that time.

If we are serious we don't have to look to 2022. The New Maestro, Romario Campbell, will be in his prime in 2018. Don't make me start my campaign for Rom-rom in vain!

Wake me up when the Schoolboy football Mafia no longer holds Jamaica football hostage..

Jamaica will never sacrifice a World Cup campaign just to build a sustainable foundation.
        So what came first...the Chicken or the Egg??

We have been "sacrificing" World Cup Campaigns anyway for 4 cycles now since 1998 ...WITHOUT trying to build a sustainable foundation... so there's ZERO short term or long term benefit

Better to make the sacrifice while doing the necessary long term development in the meantime

The get rich quick mentality naw wuk

Wake me up when the Schoolboy football Mafia no longer holds Jamaica football hostage..

Ok...same time wake mi wen Campion cyan win 2 game straight inna di Manning Cup fuss round

Mek wi si who wake fuss...woooiiieee

You will be awoken when Campion 6th form starts offering athletic scholarships.. enjoy your sleep..

When unnu did beat Camperdown unnu did tek scholarship?? woooiiieee

And I don't disagree, but will corporate Jamaica invest in a long term plan? Will the schoolboy mafia invest in such a plan? Which entity in Jamaica has a long term plan? Jamaicans don't like long term plans. Dem too...long!

Understood...
                  Last edited by Don1; September 24, 2013, 12:45 PM.

A mi yuh a aks?! Mi look like mi go good school?

ooops ...mek mi switch

Suh Ben riggle mi dis

Who exactly constitutes this Mafia?? How dem werk?? Campion ave any "Football Mafia" in unnu storied football program?? woooiiee

Is mostly Schooler an couple Shotta well mi si ah Manning suh mi nuh know...Mafia dem guh D'Cup game mostly??

Di Mafia dem mek money offa di game dem??

Dem spen' all dem money pon high school ball? ... if so why mi nuh si nuh big HS football stadium build yet wid private box...excep fi Jawges???
                        Last edited by Don1; September 24, 2013, 12:58 PM.

... not that I'm hoping it happens. I hope the miracle occurs But if it doesn't..

Perhaps Jamaicans will realize finally that the serial short term fixes (employed over a LONG 15 years now) have comprehensively FAILED and should be abandoned forthwith

The Snow Importation Plan should be radically downsized (to a limited filler role) and an intelligent local, long term development plan ramped up immediately to produce a local core player group ... even if it means writing off 2018 WCQ but has us set for 2022 onwards with a strong, self-sustaining local football system.

This would probably be a zero-sum equation since the snow ballas aint qualifying us anyway

But logic probably won't prevail
                          The last Gold Cup showed there is no reason to write-off 2018! ...just that 2022, if that plan is implemented, would have our REGGAE BOYZ dazzling the world (playing...should/would be playing...at much higher standard than our 2018 version).

Fact is, after the previous failures (i.e. failure at qualifying for 2002, 2006 and 2010) our GOLD CUP squad showed that with 'right' teacher our talented youngsters are 'fast study' men.

Noooo sah, no reason to right-off 2018.

So what came first...the Chicken or the Egg??

We have been "sacrificing" World Cup Campaigns anyway for 4 cycles now since 1998 ...WITHOUT trying to build a sustainable foundation... so there's ZERO short term or long term benefit

Better to make the sacrifice while doing the necessary long term development in the meantime

The get rich quick mentality naw wuk
                            mek mi hask yuh sin-ting - our high schools are failing at academic results so following on your thinking we should abandon (give up on...) the kids who shall be sitting exams in 2018?

Dat nuh seem rite tuh mi?

Wi nuh stap teachin di current set a pickney dem han dem dat a falla innah 2015, 2016 han 2017 becausen di haim hah fi hex-ce-lence innah 2018?

Wah happen den iffen di teachin did bad...pure mar-hin a gwaan...iffen wi change dat to brilliant teachin di nex set a pikney dem caan larn fass-fass han good-good??? Dem a u-man dem...han besides dem a Jamekan dem -Nutten nuh beyond wi!!!!
                            FORWARD!!!

=Karl;446610]mek mi hask yuh sin-ting - our high schools are failing at academic results so following on your thinking we should abandon (give up on...) the kids who shall be sitting exams in 2018?

Dat nuh seem rite tuh mi?
                              I'm NOT saying we SHOULD give up on WCQ. I'm saying that goal is subordinate to a real development program...and if short term, stop gap measures interfere with development while not assuring WCQ e.g. a mass importation of mediocre snow ballas ... that should be avoided
                              Wi nuh stap teachin di current set a pickney dem han dem dat a falla innah 2015, 2016 han 2017 becausen di haim hah fi hex-ce-lence innah 2018?
                              no... please see above

Wah happen den iffen di teachin did bad...pure mar-hin a gwaan...iffen wi change dat to brilliant teachin di nex set a pikney dem caan larn fass-fass han good-good??? Dem a u-man dem...han besides dem a Jamekan dem -Nutten nuh beyond wi!!!!
                              FORWARD!!!
                              I'm not sure what to make of this... but it sounds vaguely positive
                              Last edited by Don1; September 24, 2013, 03:26 PM.