Watch out!!! As soon as im lef di "rum bar", im a go put on im "Tims" an cum look fi yuh.
The School Boy football Mafia has
Mosiah;446702]If that's all you can get from SCQ, rote learning & regurgitation, then...
Persons can continue to find that model interesting but I do not.. it's a historical artifact suitable to another age imho... the world has long moved past that so its value proposition is distinctly limited.
However it is a charming trip down Memory Lane so I think it should be retained as an Oldie but Goodie
Trivia shows like that do a lot more than that.
However the fact that in the present Knowledge Age...Jamaica's flagship academic competition between schools focuses on a 1960s model of rote learning/regurgitation speaks volumes to our backwardness
Jamaica needs to get with the program of promoting a Knowledge Age education model post haste
JC and Don1 are impatient for that to occur
I guess JC has not figured prominently in SCQ? Could be the reason why they have not featured in most things academic save for that recent cheating scandal.
If such proof emerges I would be happy to evaluate it
As far as academic pursuits go Jamaica College is rated "highly effective" by the MOE and is easily the most innovative school in the Caribbean...a region desperately in need of innovation to cope with the modern world environment.
We note that this innovation is even more needed in Jamaica as we are behind most
JC's leading edge work in education reform will be consummated when Jamaica catches up to the understanding that education needs to be refocused towards high level technological applications to support our national industrial policy of developing a world level logistics center.
We can do that reform...or choose to remain a Banana Republic where Monkeys feel comfortable woooiiiee
This means that subject areas such as aviation, maritime disciplines, machine learning or automation, CAD, electronic engineering & design etc ... should be mastered or an interest developed among children as early as possible.... if we are to have a chance at realizing & maximizing the benefits of national policy
Leadership is often a lonely path where one has to suffer brickbats from those not as evolved.... until they eventually realize the penetrating wisdom of our path.
As a result of our leadership profile JC is regularly and has been historically subject to misguided criticism by many
We have grown accustomed to this situation in the past 100+ years so... ah nuh nutten
Next
JIS...
JC Information ServiceLast edited by Don1; September 25, 2013, 11:43 AM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
There are several other academic competitions where schools and individuals can demonstrate their brilliance. Just because JC has failed miserably at one does not make it irrelevant. That's like saying we should not have daCosta and Manning Cup just because Campion can't compete.
Some of Jamaica's best participated in SCQ and still see its value. Ambassador Vasciannie, Dr Dale Abel, Stephen Francis and countless other prominent sons and daughters have been a part of that 20th century pastime.
JC has done well with its expanded curriculum. Some other areas need some serious work. I hope you are working with Ruel on those.
Ok bossTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
=Mosiah;446741]There are several other academic competitions where schools and individuals can demonstrate their brilliance. Just because JC has failed miserably at one does not make it irrelevant. That's like saying we should not have daCosta and Manning Cup just because Campion can't compete.
If you can indicate where I stated that SCQ should be ended please do so... you cannot... so please desist from some derivative of that false argument
For the record JC competed in SCQ this year until the semi-final round or something like that I believe... not that I'm too concerned
Some of Jamaica's best participated in SCQ and still see its value. Ambassador Vasciannie, Dr Dale Abel, Stephen Francis and countless other prominent sons and daughters have been a part of that 20th century pastime.
My choice is the lonely path away from the crowd...towards Knowledge Applications
I'm confident that History Will Absolve Me wooooiiiee
JC has done well with its expanded curriculum. Some other areas need some serious work. I hope you are working with Ruel on those.
All this is occurring in the context of the school DOUBLING in student population over the past 15-20 years with a huge influx of children from VERY challenged homes who need massive social support from the school
Please pardon our appearance as we re-build for Century 21 domination
JISLast edited by Don1; September 25, 2013, 12:22 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
"If you can indicate where I stated that SCQ should be ended please do so... you cannot... so please desist from some derivative of that false argument."
Maybe you need to find where I said that you said!
Whoa bredren, yah start write like Karl. He has time on his hands. You don't, what with all the revolutionary work you have to be doing for your alma mater.
Yow eediat bwoy yuh ignorant ah dem ting yah suh ease off an guh try find one girl fi play wid
But if yuh ah Fish,,,,tek yuh playtime elsewhere said speedLast edited by Don1; September 25, 2013, 02:15 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Mi neva seh yuh seh dat... mi seh yuh argument was a derivative of di position dat SCQ should be discontinued.
Therefore since I had no position that SCQ should be discontinued...any derivative argument put to me re that falsehood is null Dat name Logic
Stay focused pleaseLast edited by Don1; September 25, 2013, 02:41 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Crepe?? wooooiiieeTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Mosiah View Postwhat with all the revolutionary work you have to be doing for your alma mater.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
your attempts at the vernacular are really pathetic
betta yuh stick to yuh inadequate EnglishTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE