• NO MERCY! US vow...

NO MERCY! US vow full strength team vs Jamaica

Published: Friday | September 20, 2013

Jamaica's Jermaine Johnson (right) in a midfield tussle with American Michael Bradley during a CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying match at the National Stadium earlier this year. - file

Klinsmann

Gordon Williams, Gleaner Writer

Jamaica can expect no favours from the United States when the countries clash in a World Cup football qualifier next month, although the Americans have already advanced to football's biggest tournament in 2014 while the Reggae Boyz desperately cling to fading hopes of a trip to Brazil.

US head coach Jurgen Klinsmann has vowed to field a full strength team for the Americans' final home in the CONCACAF Hexagonal round on October 11 in Kansas City, Missouri. The aim is to beat the Boyz and then win against Panama away four days later to cap US competition in the 'Hex'.

"Definitely for our last two qualifiers against Jamaica and Panama, our approach is six points," Klinsman told ussoccer.com earlier this week.

"We want to win these two games badly, and we are going to bring in the best players. We are going to bring in everyone that is available and finish this qualifying campaign on the highest note possible."

US are already buoyed after defeating Mexico on September 6 to secure a World Cup place and top spot in the six team group with 16 points, 12 more than cellar dwellers Jamaica. Costa Rica, with 15, also qualified.

Honduras, 11, and Mexico and Panama, both on eight, round out competition for the third and last automatic World Cup spot. Jamaica can only hope for fourth place, which earns a play-off against New Zealand for another place in Brazil.

But American fans expect nothing less than victory at Livestrong Park, which has a capacity of 18,400-plus. The stadium is sold out and Klinsmann believes the US should reward supporters by closing out America's home stand strong against Jamaica.

" ... We owe them a real good game," he said. "Therefore, everybody that is fit and healthy and belongs in that group will be there."

Torrid time for Boyz

The last time Jamaica played the Americans in the US, the Boyz endured a torrid time in Columbus, Ohio before going down 1-0 on September 11, 2012 in the CONCACAF semi-final round. Four days earlier the Boyz had clipped the Americans 2-1 in Kingston, the first time Jamaica defeated the US in a senior football international.

However, Jamaica lost 2-1 on June 7 at the National Stadium when the countries met in the 'Hex'.

Much has changed since. Theodore Whitmore was replaced as Jamaica's head coach by German Winfried Schäfer for the last two qualifiers. Improved defence earned draws against Panama (0-0) and Costa Rica (1-1). Anything short of victory next month - against the US and Honduras on October 15 - and the Boyz are out of the World Cup. A win by either Panama or Mexico eliminates Jamaica as well. To qualify for the fourth spot, Jamaica must win and hope Panama or Mexico secure no more than one point total from their last two games.

The US, meanwhile, expect no letdown. With a deep pool of players chasing precious places in next year's World Cup squad, Jamaica can expect a tough night in Kansas City.

"Competition is an ongoing, never-ending topic in our environment," Klinsmann told ussoccer.com. "We want to challenge everyone. The starting guys need to feel there is a guy behind that wants to take his spot away, and even that guy is challenged by another guy.

" ... This competition is really just starting now."
    Jamaica must brace for the brunt of it.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html

So thoughtful of Bradley to brace JJ from falling.
    Well it has everything to do with who is available,in any event we are in this precarious state because of our own doings.We will simply have to do it the hard way.

No Mercy!

This is a straight up warrior business we have been called out!

If we had our act together this team is ripe for another beating, lets see what Winnie can do.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          This is a straight up warrior business we have been called out!

If we had our act together this team is ripe for another beating, lets see what Winnie can do.
          David will smite Goliath upside im head

Babylon agguh fall..... strait

It might be the top side but it is hard for the US coach to motivation them at this stage.

The US players know they already qualified, so why give 100%, I just don't see it. It is now up to Jamaica team and staff to motivate them, telling them it is not over and 3 points will go a long way.

Babylon?!?!?!

So why so many JAMAICANS want to come to BABYLON???
              So why so many JAMAICANS want to talk, act & dress like those from BABYLON???
              So why so many JAMAICANS & YOUR GOVERNMENT want money & aid from BABYLON???
              So why so many JAMAICANS coming to BABYLON to further their education???
              So why JAMAICA wants to do business with BABYLON & BABYLON companies???

I guess BABYLON is not as bad as "some" trying to make it out to be.

David will smite Goliath upside im head

Babylon agguh fall..... strait
                The broken record that takes a lickin', but keeps on skippin'!

you think him live a Jamaica???

Oh!!! Is one a dem who hide behind fence an fling bockle......Should of known when he kept talking about "im Tims".

Never heard that one before. I'll have to borrow it.

you think him live a Jamaica???
                        of course he lives in Jamaica...!

Gee,I remember that type of reasoning,it was conveyed with as much sincerity when said earlier(for a few years))that we always think Jamaica is going to beat the US despite we have never beaten...(back then).Well...
                          Last edited by Rockman; September 22, 2013, 10:31 AM.

I'll grant you a pass on this one ....But be sure that you really want to challenge me on this subject in this particular forum

If you do I suggest you take it to the Rum Bar next door .. it's littered with the remains of those who have attempted
                            Last edited by Don1; September 22, 2013, 10:31 AM.

Record mek fi bruk yes