that is not the point and on any given day on the field any team can be equal.
If you play sports you will know that.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Zeppo,there are two ways to look at the issue:
1)The group standings clearly showing the US miles ahead of Jamaica.
2)The head to head between both teams.
The game in question is a head to head encounter.If Remember correctly it was a nail biter to the end.
You are giving too much credence to group standings.
The teams are very even, thus the close scores over and over again, us players are decent but the real advantage they have is consistency and organization and more even effort, jamaica players one on one are better the issue is always consistent effort, execution of tactics, if jamaica were to get that part down this hex would be different, the loss to mex in jamaica, the draw in jamaica versus panama, the loss to us in the 94th minute, just those three games we threw away four easy points. Not one team in the hex has won a match with more than two goals, the six countries are quite even, us and cr had some very lucky breaks, bottom line is us has shown nothing new, however they continue to play 90 minutes of good effort which jamaica fails to do continuously.
Exactly, we not losing by playing terrible throughout the match, it has been inconsistency like the goal denigris score in jamaica, the man waltz into the box untouched, not even him hair out of place the way the man them escort him on each side without touching him, that just cannot happen with disciplined players playing disciplined defense.
Sassoon you giving too much credit to talent, the difference is always determination and how much the man them buy into the system, I have played on some really good teams that were extremely in disciplined and you know what we were slaughtered by much lesser teams, I have played on some less talented teams that the guys played together, played team and consistently tried to improve even when the other team scored. On the talented teams when the other teams scored, it was total breakdown, pure cussing and every man doing them own thing. The indiscipline is very evident when you look at the goals scored on jamaica in the first pan ame, the cr game, the mex game, the us game just breakdown in concentration and lack of practice and understanding of what is necessary in defending at the hex level. I listen to all the man dem talk how we not attacking enough, I have to laugh, not one team has really attacked yet in the hex as everyone else understand this is defensive ball, he who makes the mistake loses and guess what we made the most mistakes.
Stoni, our defense wasn't very bad. We kept on giving the ball away right above half line. We were open to the counter. If you make your defense have to work all day then chances are you will make more mistake. Our midfield has been the weakest part of our game, and having only one striker made it harder to get the ball up front.
Yes discipline counts and it also help to hold on to the ball and to take a shot sometimes, even if the ball go out, you can regroup and is not always open to the counter attack, which has yielded a lot of success against us.
At home you don't want to set back and be too defensive, gat the crowd in the game and get on top of the opponent. That we didn't do. We were playing a wait game and speed it up about 30 minutes to go.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
The midfield/front line of mediocre Snow Ballas show zero ingenuity or creativity
They couldn't unlock a closet door even with a master key... much more a CONCACAF defence line
Ingenuity has long been mostly bred out of English football...but they're more than adequate at running around blocking & hoofing the ball for 90 minutes
The local ones weren't doing much better either. There were no unlocking going on and the coach choose not to use traditional wingers who could dribble wide and fast and put a cross in.
JJ was effective in the US game but can't say anyone else was. Hue changed two games in the first round but other than that we were dead and need to find something to knock on a door.
What Jamaica needs is to finally stop thinking short term... i.e. desperately trying to qualify for the next WC via some myopic stop gap measures....as if a WC appearance is some Holy Grail
At this point for Jamaica the journey is far more important than the supposed destination... That's called putting the Cart before the Horse's Ass
We just say that and every 4 year we beat up our gum about WC qualifiers.
We need to plan long term but there is no guarantee we going to qualify to any world cup even with a good developmental program in place.
Always going to be a fight, always going to come down to players producing and good coaching decisions. Look at Mexico with the best program in the region.
We just say that and every 4 year we beat up our gum about WC qualifiers.
We need to plan long term but there is no guarantee we going to qualify to any world cup even with a good developmental program in place.
Always going to be a fight, always going to come down to players producing and good coaching decisions. Look at Mexico with the best program in the region.
This is a big problem you demonstrate. The larger objective of a solid football system is NOT merely to qualify for the World Cup.
The BIG MISSION should be to develop clubs & players and a professional football BUSINESS which can generate economic and social benefits. That mission can ONLY be accomplished with a strong local development program.... and a local development program can ONLY prosper when locals are at the core of WCQ, aspiring to the highest level of our football
Yes WCQ is very valuable intrinsically and has spinoffs that will assist a football BUSINESS..... but WCQ is just merely one aspect of the larger MISSION and should not be placed as our overall football GOAL as most seem to do.
So even if & when a solid local program is developed and a mostly local group plays in WCQ...whatever the results our overall FOOTBALL MISSION is better served...yuhzimi????
Once again Jamaicans have things a$$ backward
Last edited by Don1; September 24, 2013, 11:58 AM.
"This is a big problem you demonstrate". How so??? I am just giving our sentiment in general.
Anybody who know me know that I support development and I have posted my opinion on here many times in the past.
"This is a big problem you demonstrate". How so??? I am just giving our sentiment in general.
Anybody who know me know that I support development and I have posted my opinion on here many times in the past.
Please reread to see if you can understand what I'm saying
If you don't.... ah nuh nutten
This is what triggered my response:
Assasin
Always going to be a fight, always going to come down to players producing and good coaching decisions. Look at Mexico with the best program in the region
if you were reading carefully my post you would see that I was saying it is not merely about World cup so I don't see what you are saying about "you don't understand". That is my point.
This was the post
"We just say that and every 4 year we beat up our gum about WC qualifiers.
Always going to be a fight, always going to come down to players producing and good coaching decisions. Look at Mexico with the best program in the region"