I think there are enough channels available

• I think there are enough channels available

to matriculate Talent out of the NPL to to the point where starting a National Team selection process from the NPL stock would be an exercise in profundity..

Such a process would be driven not by Critical Thinking but by a purely defensive reaction by 'local league' supporters... as such it would be a road to perdition...

to matriculate Talent out of the NPL to to the point where starting a National Team selection process from the NPL stock would be an exercise in profundity..

Such a process would be driven not by Critical Thinking but by a purely defensive reaction by 'local league' supporters... as such it would be a road to perdition...
    We're fortunate that Simoes didn't consider stuff such as this to be a deterrent in 1994 when he first saw his team of "trained seals" ....

If he did we would have missed the golden age of Jamaican football... Phew!!
    Last edited by Don1; September 21, 2013, 03:02 PM.

Simoes was fortunate... that was a golden age of Talent..

We can't even find one jamaican bred player to match the likes of

Walter Boyd
      Onandi Lowe
      Ricardo Fuller
      Tappa Whitmore
      Andy Williams
      BiBi Gardner

We can't even find a creative midfielder at international standards... Simoes had 3 !

Simoes caught Lightning in a bottle... full time we unnastan dat... Not comprehending that reality is probably why wi feel seh wi nuh need nuh Academy.. Talent abounds...

lol !

Creative midfielder?

Once long long ago...I think I was about 12 years old...I thought the creative midfielder was special.

After playing around on "B field" I awoke to thinking on that 1958 & 1959 StGC and Cornwall College teams I had earlier seen. I realized that both teams played the pass and move/move and pass game...StGC better than CC but CC had more athletic players...and besides playing that pass and move/move and pass game each had at least 5 players who could and did make the killer pass with aplomb.

*Later I saw a Vere Tech team with "Skill" Cole and although he was the striker supreme (I think he scored in one season approximately 30 goals??? I think. (It certainly seems today that it was about that number??? ...but then there is Shady Pines)...That Vere Tech schoolboy was also a great passer and made 'killer passes can dun'. So I wondered on how it is a goal-scorer - center-forward could divide his time during a match to such great effect that he was scoring tons and assisting tons?

*Still later in 1964 or thereabouts I saw a KC TEAM coached by George Thompson with a number of guys making killer passes and scoring goals.

...and after there were the Tivoli Gardens Major League & Jamaica's premier league team with the brothers Dave and Delmonte Clarke among others who played the beautiful pass and move/move and pass game ...and those brothers and others on that TEAM could score and did make killer passes...

...then there was Seba United of St. James with "Noah" Sterling, "Bram-Bram" (or was it "Bam-Bam") King and others playing against a TEAM from one of the Dutch isles and destroying same at Jarret Park with many on the team including those named making killer passes.

...did I leave out the StETHs '70s team of Noel "Sweetie" Smith and others including Wendell Downswell?

Now we are seeing the World's top club and national teams where every player is a 'touch player'...maker of the killer pass and addicted to pass and move/move and pass. ...so on reflection on those top World teams every player is along with his other duties - not duty...duties - is a creative midfielder!!!!

What does it take to be a creative midfielder - ability to see where to put the ball such that form the other team it gives a killer blow...or at the very least is 'potential killer ball' (killer blow)....yes, all it takes is quick thinking...good use of commonsense!!!!

Yup...each of those passes is a special pass...but it really is no biggie. All teams aiming to be TOP OF THE WORLD must have full complement of players with ability to make "killer passes"...that is for our beautiful game the new reality!!!

No biggie! That is just how it must be for our REGGAE BOYZ and indeed in our local schoolboy/schoolgirl, parish and NPL teams. No biggie! The football has just moved FORWARD!

*Now having seconding thoughts on whether or not "Skill's" Vere team was before the KC '64 team. I am thinking that Vere team may have been a 1966 team??? Not sure...???
        Last edited by Karl; September 21, 2013, 04:17 PM.

Karl any good team needs a player who can change the pace, direct the game, hold up the ball, switch the game and have an eye for the that killer pass that even many international players don't see. I don't know if they are creative midfielder in my book because to me Paul Scholes is no creative md but he adds effective arsenal to the game that brings other players in game.

In American football term, you need more like a quarter back who can make the long passes, the short passes, tuck it away from the opponent, and change the game. Read the game and position himself well. This is more than just short passes. This is a special talent. Beating players and others are just additional.

Karl any good team needs a player who can change the pace, direct the game, hold up the ball, switch the game and have an eye for the that killer pass that even many international players don't see. I don't know if they are creative midfielder in my book because to me Paul Scholes is no creative md but he adds effective arsenal to the game that brings other players in game.
            Scholes was a creative midfielder. He made his fair share of goals and often made that last pass but one that lead to a goal.

Scholes in my book was a good all-round player...forget the talk about his defensive work. As he such got older he arrived later on tackles. Which good player do not have such a problem as the years go by?

In American football term, you need more like a quarter back who can make the long passes, the short passes, tuck it away from the opponent, and change the game. Read the game and position himself well. This is more than just short passes. This is a special talent. Beating players and others are just additional.
            All I am saying, my friend, is the game has evolved to currently having all players being master at all facet of the game.

Many are the players on my GUNNERS or BoyU or Man-Sh@#$%$##@$$y or Chelsea or Barcelona or Bayern Munich or Real Madrid who can engage in pulling the strings, making the killer pass, score or defend!

It is the new game - all players fast as bullet - acceleration, pace and thinking, technically superb, makers of the killer passes, provide good defensive presence and score! If your TEAM does not have such players at every position then your team is not top world team. ...and the teams shall only get better as top players achieve greater and greater proficiency in all areas. Hey the goal is perfection! ...we may never get there but we surely shall get closer and closer to that ideal.

LOL...so in 1994 Jamaica possessed international level players?? Yuh ave sense yute?????

In 1994 all the RBZ had was potential energy which became kinetic when Simoes took over.... juss like the potential waiting to be unlocked in the best of the NPL and school leaguers have today via structured, high level exposure over a period of 2-3 years

Those players and moreso that TEAM were forged into steel in a player/team development crucible of well over 100 games and specialized training in < 4 years...many of those games and training sessions were in challenging foreign environments

It look like yuh waan try rewrite the glorious history...yuh flop
              Last edited by Don1; September 21, 2013, 06:06 PM.

Karl Scholes was always very poor at tackling. Yes he mad the very good passes but in my definition of creative mid goes beyond that.

Right now Man is lacking of a player who can "control" the middle and dictate the game. Yes they have some rounded players but it takes more than. In some cases you can cover the weakness but in others you see this glaring weakness in Manu team as Cleverly, Anderson etc.don't have the range and are only bit and part players depend on the situation.

So what you think bout Mattocks??? (because mi hear you singing him praises) and Sterling of Liverpool?

Maybe it is not the we are not producing the talent
                  Last edited by Assasin; September 21, 2013, 06:18 PM.

It appears you misplaced this post as it is non-responsive to what I posted..

I have lots of sense.. what avenues existed in 1994 to matriculate players out of the NPL.. relative to today ?

Yuh have sense yute ?

Mattocks and Sterling would be wasting their time playing in the NPL..

Does that clear things up for you ?

Definitely. The fact is we are producing talent. What we do with it is, is a different story.

If we even identify it.

I have lots of sense.. what avenues existed in 1994 to matriculate players out of the NPL.. relative to today ?

Yuh have sense yute ?

The absences of such avenues is eloquent testimony to.the bankrupt, myopic leadership of the JFF with their foreign mind mentality.... which you parrot

Thanks for highlighting this issue
                            Last edited by Don1; September 22, 2013, 12:27 AM.