Schäfer Picks Campbell For Special Training

Are you saying that there is an abundance of talent that is not being developed?

You made the sweeping statement that there is no quality defender in the NPL capable of making the RBZ squad.. without seeing any game or any defender play in that league. Then you tried to be deceptive by posting "I have not seen MANY games“

Not good

Listen, let's not overdo this talent thing, talent is nothing with our preparation, and process. We have weak preparation and we have no process.

What we have is an excellent system to identify good athletes and a tradition focused on making something out of nothing.

If we can put in place a better process, training, technical proficiency on an individual level and on a team and mini team level, we will see a rapid improvement. As I have said before we don't even measure anything in football, it is all about the vibz, goal setting, measurement versus goal, gap analysis and improvement plans to reach goals is totally missing.

As shown in the Ronaldo article, on secrets of his success, much of it started when they started setting formal goals for each season, if he was scoring ten then they looked at getting twenty, then they kept breaking down the detail of why he was not converting on some chances, looking specifically at where in the box he got the ball, what side of the body, identifying where the goal keeper is before receipt of all and after, every single action can e analyzed and broken down and best practices kept and throw out the bad stuff, with that method e improved from a decent player to today being discussed as one of the best players. Forty plus goals in one season don't just come via talent, it come via improvement processes focused on the best athletes who have a predisposition to fight and take charge, don't know if Romario is a fighter or a leader but if he is and can take instruction watch out!

so what you call the Adrian Reids and the Decoy Williams etc. Man start talk sense. Aren't those some of the the top NPL players???? Remember I said "currently". don't take that lightly next time you fell to run off your mouth.

Do we have any defender in Jamaica currently can match with Wes Morgan, Mapp or Jermain Talylor? Again answer that.

=Assasin;446138]so what you call the Adrian Reids and the Decoy Williams etc. Man start talk sense. Aren't those some of the the top NPL players???? Remember I said "currently". don't take that lightly next time you fell to run off your mouth.
            This would tend to disprove your ignorant, sweeping statement so I suggest you should take heed about any run mout ting.

Also you should be aware of Alvas Powell, an 18 y.o. plucked straight from the NPL recently to play for the RBZ then that MLS side.

I suppose at 18 y.o. he was the best in the NPL at the time??

Do we have any defender in Jamaica currently can match with Wes Morgan, Mapp or Jermain Talylor? Again answer that.
            That is NOT the issue you posed so don't try that silly tactic of moving the bar.

The issue YOU posed is your belief that there is no defender in the NPL currently with sufficient quality to make the RBZ squad.... and neither you nor I have any substantial basis to say yes or no since we have both never seen any NPL game

But you do have the right to make suppositions as you did based on relative ignorance of the quality of NPL defenders

Is Alvas Powell currently an NPL player?????

Alvas Powell is a talent that was around for a while. Notice the word "currently". Everybody knew his quality, and Alvas is just learning the game. Very good talent but needs some work and exposure. Don't for one minute think Powell is a finish article and he still need a little cover. This is why the "currently" was added in case you don't realize.

At the level we are playing in the final stage of world cup qualifiers, we simply currently do not have the quality in the NPL to play in defense. Yes they can play in practice match and better their craft but none in the NPL currently can unseat, Wes Morgan, Nosworthy, Jermaine Taylor or Mapp. That is the point I am making. Maybe in a year or two with good development and playing at higher level. You also have 3 good backs in school, one is a former NPL coach's son, Sergio Campbell who is Rudy Austin nephew and Nandi Lowe's son.

Just relax and stop shouting loud, I don't know what you trying to prove.

"Do we have any defender in Jamaica currently can match with Wes Morgan, Mapp or Jermain Talylor?" Again answer thatThis is what I posted from day 1 that unnu choose to ignore. The quality that is already there is what I based my point on.
              Last edited by Assasin; September 21, 2013, 02:42 PM.

I can't reason with persons who ignore the fundamentals of discussion.. i.e. keep moving goalposts

Continue making your uninformed suppositions though... that's what Rum Bars are for
                Last edited by Don1; September 21, 2013, 02:42 PM.

yes because you prefer just run with it. As long as that is your intention you won't comprehend anything.

ok boss... wateva yuh seh ah suh it guh

Sass has asked me to submit this response because his computer is down for the next few minutes.

1. What position does Campbell play??? He's an attacking midfield player.
                      2. What's you assessment of him??? For years he was considered the heir apparent to Maestro. They are alike in terms of thinking the game, their guile and being left-footed. He does not have that one-touch ability like Maestro, tending to hold the ball more and creating the play. He shields the ball brilliantly. Although Jermaine was never really threatened since no one but Iniesta has that kind of a passing range, we are all aware of Jermaine's faults and his age. I personally...Sass believes that Harbour View could have done a better job working Rom-rom into the HVFC team on more occasions.
                      3. How did the JFF/technical committee/national coaches miss or ignore these local players that Winnie sees as talented & an asset to the ReggaeBoyz??? Rom-rom had a contractual dispute with HVFC in the earlier part of the year that kept him out of football. But he was never going to be selected over Maestro, and rightly so.
                      4. Was it necessary to recruit all those players (many near that end of their careers)??? Sass has no comment on this.
                      5. Why do these local players have problems with their fitness??? Not playing competitively for more than half of the year, Rom-rom would not be in the best physical condition right now. Not sure about the other players because I know some NPL players are as fit as anyone on the planet. Tuffy...I think is usually in peak condition but carries himself lazily.
                      6. Is Campbell the same player they called "wanka"??? (I think that's the name.....That player represented Arnett F.C. a year or two ago & was described as skillful & attacking) Wanka is Lamar Nelson, another attacking midfielder who transferred from Arnett to Waterhouse.

Sass has asked me to submit this response because his computer is down for the next few minutes.

2. What's you assessment of him??? For years he was considered the heir apparent to Maestro. They are alike in terms of thinking the game, their guile and being left-footed. He does not have that one-touch ability like Maestro, tending to hold the ball more and creating the play. He shields the ball brilliantly. Although Jermaine was never really threatened since no one but Iniesta has that kind of a passing range, we are all aware of Jermaine's faults and his age. I personally...Sass believes that Harbour View could have done a better job working Rom-rom into the HVFC team on more occasions.
                        3. How did the JFF/technical committee/national coaches miss or ignore these local players that Winnie sees as talented & an asset to the ReggaeBoyz??? Rom-rom had a contractual dispute with HVFC in the earlier part of the year that kept him out of football. But he was never going to be selected over Maestro, and rightly so.
                        4. Was it necessary to recruit all those players (many near that end of their careers)??? Sass has no comment on this.
                        5. Why do these local players have problems with their fitness??? Not playing competitively for more than half of the year, Rom-rom would not be in the best physical condition right now. Not sure about the other players because I know some NPL players are as fit as anyone on the planet. Tuffy...I think is usually in peak condition but carries himself lazily.
                        6. Is Campbell the same player they called "wanka"??? (I think that's the name.....That player represented Arnett F.C. a year or two ago & was described as skillful & attacking) Wanka is Lamar Nelson, another attacking midfielder who transferred from Arnett to Waterhouse.
                        wooooiiieeee

Elaboration on some answers or correction on same:
                          3. How did the JFF/technical committee/national coaches miss or ignore these local players that Winnie sees as talented & an asset to the ReggaeBoyz???

First: Throw out the #3 answer in the quote above. It does not answer the question but plays to the same silly type thinking found within all our JFF management tiers. A diversion is trotted out and an agenda is proffered.

The short answer is: The JFF coaches and technical committee members are clueless on recognition of "good footballers" and therefore 'discover' some of the best talents not by accurate assessment but by the 'a good clock is usually right twice each day' method='buck up'!!!

Elaboration: Just think on it carefully - Talent abounds but our TEAMs are less than the sum of their parts and less than what the abundance of talents should be producing. That is what results when the 'workers' lack the requisite knowledge (know how) to identify talent and to (therefore) complete the task of developing talented players and building quality TEAMs.

What other alternative is there when there is no planned development of local talent to even the levels of these third-rate recruits?

Elaboration: The recruits merely underline the failures of the local coaches and administrators.

Our performances are the result of poor management teams at schools, clubs and the entire JFF football totem pole (Parishes, Confeds, National team management structure, the top leadership of the JFF).

It makes no sense hiding from our truth: The JFF is led by persons ignorant on management mores and ignorant on football technical matters.

The first part of the response on length of our competitive football season is accurate but it does not go far enough. The rest of the answer in the quotation is a playing to the same nonsense of diversion and proffering an agenda.

The main obstacle to having our representatives at or near full fitness is found within "The short answer" above, IGNORANCE...ignorance of those 'at the controls'.

Elaboration:The truth is our local coaches inclusive of the JFF's national local coaches and the JFF's technical committee members are clueless on what it takes=the how to become fully fit and recognition of type performances fully fit players display.

Yes, there are many, many examples of performances by fully fit players displayed on our television screens but there are also more performances of players less than fully fit being seen day in, day out and it takes an awareness of the difference to player's or players' performance what the level of fitness makes.

Based on results of our teams - local and national - there is no other conclusion to be drawn but that our JFF leaders, our technical people and our coaches are ignorant to the part full fitness plays in performance out-put of the individual player and the TEAM.

Emphasis: Our problems lie in having ignoramuses 'at the control'.

To solve our problems...to start producing the quality players and TEAMs our raw top level abundance of talents deserve we must root out *the ignorance.

*Deliberate use of the ignorance as recognition of man being an animal that has the ability to and is constantly learning. One can move from being an ignoramus to learned!

PS: Please forgive the use of red as it appeared to me easier to read than what would be my normally preferred green.
                          Last edited by Karl; September 23, 2013, 12:04 PM.

Sass, I believe Karl thinks your report has been less-than-adequate. Please try to do better next time.

Letterhead would be a good start!

Flow Champions Cup players eye top goal-scorer title
                              Friday, September 27, 2013

FORMER national Under-20 and Under-23 player Romario Campbell has set his sights on becoming the leading goal-scorer in this year's Flow Champions Cup.

The 23-year-old attacking midfielder, who now plies his trade at Waterhouse FC, has already begun his move in that direction having netted a hat-trick in his team's 7-1 demolition of Port Morant United in round two of the all-island knockout competition.

Jeanette Lewis (centre), public relations manager at Columbus Communications, operators of Flow and Columbus Business Solutions, caught up with two of the top goal-scorers in the Flow Champions Cup, Huggart Nugent (left) of Sporting Central Academy and Romario Campbell of Waterhouse FC at the quarter-final draw of the competition at the Jamaica Football Federation offices yesterday.

1/1
                              Campbell, along with Black Stars striker Davian Ash and Huggarth Nugent of Sporting Central Academy, leads the goal-scoring table with three goals each.

Ash also recorded an impressive hat-trick when the St Elizabeth-based team blanked Logwood FC 7-0 in round one of the competition, but failed to impress when his team was stopped 6-1 by Sporting Central. In that same match, Nuggent recorded two goals, adding to his first in round one in a 2-1 match against Jamalco.

For Campbell, winning the goal-scorers title would be a big boost for the former Harbour View player, who has been eyed by national coach Winfred Shafer.

"It would be a great honour for me to win the golden boot award as a midfielder, I have been working hard and that hard work has been paying off big time for me", Campbell said.

Waterhouse FC has just one game under their belt in the Flow Champions Cup, and with their upcoming match in the quarter-final round, Campbell has set his target on becoming the leading marksman in the competition.

"I believe I can score between six and seven goals in this competition, my team is playing well in both the knockout and league, and once I continue to get myself in goal-scoring positions, I know I will finish well."

Campbell, who recently returned to the island having spent some three months participating in the Caribbean Cup in North America, says he has been put on a special training and fitness programme by Reggae Boyz coach Shafer who plans to include the creative midfielder in his squad for the next World Cup qualifier.

"Coach Shafer called me and told me that he likes my style of play and that I should work hard on my fitness and get into better match shape because he wants me to be a part of the Reggae Boyz squad when they travel to play the US in the first week of October," he noted.

The former Norman Manley Manning Cup player has been hailed by local football pundits as one of the most agile and skilful midfielders in the land. His strength has been his composure on the ball as well as his passing and dribbling skills.

It is with these qualities he hopes to emulate his best international and local players.

"I am an Argentine by heart, so I mimic my game of Lionel Messi of Barcelona as well as Jermaine Hue of Harbour View, both players are very skilful on and off the ball and I want to fashion my game off those two players."

The wily midfielder believes that Waterhouse can lift the 2013 Flow Champions Cup with players the likes of Marvin Morgan, Lamar Nelson and Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson in their squad.

"We have a solid unit and the team chemistry is beyond anything that I have seen in local football, with the help of God and the team executing on the day, no one can beat Waterhouse," Campbell said.

On the other hand, 21-year-old Nugent also has his eye on the top scorer title. The former Jamalco player is now in his first season with Sporting Central FC. Nugent, playing for the first time in the Flow Champions Cup attributes the team's success thus far to teamwork and great talent.

"It has been a great experience. I'm happy to be one of the top goal-scorers, it's been really rough so far to achieve, but I know I will do well. I think we have a good chance of going far in the competition, actually our aim is to win."

Nugent is looking forward to getting a scholarship to play collegiate football for an overseas team, but for the moment he is working on scoring more goals to lead his team to lift the championship cup.

"I think our chances are great. We are a skilled team and we gel well. My teammates will create chances so I have to be quick and just score goals," Nugent said.

Nugent and Campbell will go head to head on Thursday, October 3 when Sporting Central tackleWaterhouse FC at the Juici Patties Park at 3:00 pm.

The Flow Champions Cup continues with eight teams advancing to the quarter-final round of the competition with four matches to be played on October 2 and 3.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2g9h5Agph
                              Last edited by Karl; September 28, 2013, 12:40 AM.