• Schäfer Picks Campbell For Special Training

Schäfer Picks Campbell For Special Training

Published: Friday | September 20, 20130 CommentsRomario Campbell (left).

Twenty-three-year-old former*Jamaica*Under-20 and Under-23 representative,*Romario*Campbell, has been put on a special*fitness*programme by national head coach,Winfried*Schäfer, after an impressive display in his debut for Waterhouse against Boys' Town in the Red Stripe Premier League on Sunday.

Schäfer was impressed by Campbell's "creativity, vision, an eye for the pass, scored a wonderful goal and showed a willingness to fight for his team, running back to tackle and defend when his team went a man down."

Following the game, Schäfer spoke with Campbell and invited him to a meeting at the Federation's office on Monday. Campbell was quizzed about his fitness and advised that with improved fitness he stood a chance of being a part of the*Reggae*Boyz*squad for the country's upcoming World Cup qualifiers against the United States and Honduras on October 11 and 15. A training schedule was then set up, in consultation with Waterhouse Football Club, with fitness trainer Andre Waugh.

fitness programme

Campbell is the second player that the national coach has put on a fitness programme ahead of the country's next set of World Cup qualifiers, with his clubmate, Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson having been placed on a similar programme.

"We have to give the talent the opportunity to improve now, but the talent must also have the self-discipline and ambition to develop," Schäfer said of his decision to invite Campbell to the squad.

Campbell, he said, was not the only talented youngster that he has seen in the matches that he has watched locally, but in order for young players to get into the national squad they must have the right attitude.

Schäfer, who presided over the development of former Germany internationals Oliver Khan, Mehmet Scholl, Jens Novotny and others at Karlsruher Soccer Club, is working closely with the Jamaica Football Federation and local clubs to identify and develop young talent across the island.

Stonigut, you must be liking this. I know I am! Seems like Schafer may stick around for a while? I doubt it, but I'm glad he's taking the time to look around and find for himself the abundance of talented players on the island.

6 Pack Of Questions -

1. What position does Campbell play???
      2. What's you assessment of him???
      3. How did the JFF/technical committee/national coaches miss or ignore these local players that Winnie sees as talented & an asset to the ReggaeBoyz???
      4. Was it necessary to recruit all those players (many near that end of their careers)???
      5. Why do these local players have problems with their fitness???
      6. Is Campbell the same player they called "wanka"??? (I think that's the name.....That player represented Arnett F.C. a year or two ago & was described as skillful & attacking)

Looks Like A TD In The Making

Stonigut, you must be liking this. I know I am! Seems like Schafer may stick around for a while? I doubt it, but I'm glad he's taking the time to look around and find for himself the abundance of talented players on the island.
        He is suppose to have pedigree, so maybe they'll find the money to keep him and hope the he might influence the building of a strong youth base for the future and a senior team for 2016-18. Time will tell my friend.

Sass please respond to these NPL related queries

Originally posted by USAF View Post
          1. What position does Campbell play???
          2. What's you assessment of him???
          3. How did the JFF/technical committee/national coaches miss or ignore these local players that Winnie sees as talented & an asset to the ReggaeBoyz???
          4. Was it necessary to recruit all those players (many near that end of their careers)???
          5. Why do these local players have problems with their fitness???
          6. Is Campbell the same player they called "wanka"??? (I think that's the name.....That player represented Arnett F.C. a year or two ago & was described as skillful & attacking)...
          Lamar Nelson name Wanka... nuh choo Sass??

Young players have a chance - Schäfer

Romario Campbell - File
            Young local footballers could soon have another hero to look up to if one of their own makes use of the opportunity offered.

Twenty-three-year-old former Jamaica Under-20 and Under-23 representative, Romario Campbell impressed national coach Winfried Schäfer with his performance for Waterhouse in his debut game on Sunday last. The former Harbour View player "showed creativity, vision, an eye for the pass, scored a wonderful goal and showed a willingness to fight for his team running back to tackle and defend when his team went a man down" against Boys' Town in Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL) action.

Campbell, following a meeting with Schäfer, is now on a training schedule that was set up in consultation with Waterhouse Football Club, with fitness trainer Andre Waugh.

"We have to give the talent the opportunity to improve now, but the talent must also have the self-discipline and ambition to develop," Schafer said of his decision to invite Campbell to the squad.

talented youngster
            Campbell he said was not the only talented youngster that he has seen in the matches that he has watched locally. He added that young players have a real chance of getting into the national squad, but they must have the right attitude.

"The young players should know that their time is coming but they have to work hard and be prepared. They have to operate like a professional, be inspired and self-motivated. They could learn from Tuffy's attitude and approach. He works hard at his day job and then goes to training and works just as hard. That is the kind of dedication that is needed.

"In my career I have seen many talent go down because of attitude. Good players work harder that the average players and they need to understand that," added Schäfer who presided over the development of former Germany internationals Oliver Khan, Mehmet Scholl, Jens Novotny and others at Karlsruher before selling them to Bayern Munich and other big clubs.

Scouring the island for talent such as Campbell, Schäfer said is a deliberate plan.
            "Captain (Horace) Burrell and I have decided that we need to cooperate with all club coaches. In order to take football in Jamaica to a higher level, we need to develop talents and make use of international training methods. All national coaches profit from the work done by good coaches. With good coaches we have good coaching from which good players will come to the national squad. Players in the national squad improve by competing with the best talents available. When they return to their clubs, they will be better players and will continue to improve. That way the club and the country benefit," said Schäfer who plans to work out a system where the best players are called to a camp for a few days each month. Schäfer said it was the coaches' job to improve players by individual training.
            Last edited by Karl; September 21, 2013, 03:08 PM.

"Schäfer who plans to work out a system where the best players are called to a camp for a few days each month"

Thank U. How's he progressing???

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                  Thank U. How's he progressing???
                  Sass know dem tings.. not me

I thought U lived in Jamaica.

Of course 1Don live in Jamaica!!

Assasin!!! Do U know how Lamar Nelson aka Wanka is doing???

So he doesn't attend NPL games???

The NPL season just started. He changed team to Waterhouse.

Concerning fitness the start of the NPL season is the worst as many players are not in shape. Shape is relative. I can remember a NPL defender came to college and the coach told him he had to lose 10 pound in the summer. He had to set him a fitness regime. Not all of these players are fit for international or pro level.

The NPL season just started. He changed team to Waterhouse.

Concerning fitness the start of the NPL season is the worst as many players are not in shape. Shape is relative. I can remember a NPL defender came to college and the coach told him he had to lose 10 pound in the summer. He had to set him a fitness regime. Not all of these players are fit for international or pro level.
                              Gwaan Sass!! On the ground contacts ah fiya!! LOL!!! woooiiiieee