'Tuffy' to light up RSPL opener...... Champs Harbour View...

• 'Tuffy' to light up RSPL opener...... Champs Harbour View...

'Tuffy' to light up RSPL opener...... Champs Harbour View start without influential star

Published: Sunday | September 15, 2013

Waterhouse striker Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson (left) is the man to watch.

Harbour View start without star midfielder Jermaine Hue.

Nodley Wright, Gleaner Writer

Former champions and last season's runners-up, Waterhouse will start in pole position today when the 2013-2014 Red Stripe Premier League kicks off with a full slate of matches.

One of the key reasons for Waterhouse's tag is the Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson factor. Anderson, one of the most popular men in the country right now, is riding on the high of making good on the opportunity - a chance with the Reggae Boyz - that he has been pleading for, for some time and with his confidence sky high, he should be very difficult to contain.

Anderson, the competition's leading scorer for the past two seasons, will be gunning to prove that his strike on Tuesday last, which kept the Reggae Boyz' mathematical chance of World Cup qualification alive, was no fluke.

One man, however, does not make a team and Waterhouse have added to their experience of national goalkeeper Richard McCallum, midfielder/defender Nicholy Findlayson, the versatile Hughan Gray and Gary McIntosh, with the promising Lamar Nelson, Marvin Morgan, Romario Campbell, Lynval Wilson and Nicodie Haughton.

That aggregation, once it plays to form, should be able to get the better of a Boys' Town team that has not really retooled. The ageing Kirk Porter, captain Michael Campbell, Renae Lloyd and company will need reinforcements if they are to get the better of Waterhouse today and eventually mount a challenge for the title.

Like Waterhouse, Portmore United, themselves former champions, have strengthened as they seek to regain the trophy they surrendered to the then most consistent team, Harbour View. The pride of the 'Sunshine City' have brought in former national Under-20 representatives and proven goalscorers LeVaughn 'Country' Williams from Sporting Central and Romeo Parkes, who had his best season in the colours of Tivoli Gardens.

These two should significantly strengthen Portmore United, who travel away to Cavalier, one of the busiest teams in the transfer window. Cavalier recruited 20 players. Those that caught the eyes are Peter Keys, who excelled at Boys' Town, midfielder Severo Murphy formerly of Highgate, defender Dwayne Holmes and the duo of Elton Thompson and Dennis McKinley from Arnett Gardens.

Added to the consistent goalkeeping of Gariece McPherson and the goalscoring of Claudious Blackburn, Cavalier could find some consistency this season.

Defending champions Harbour View have not only changed coaches with Vin Blaine moving to assist Schäfer with the national senior team and Harold Thomas stepping up but will also be without the services of their inspirational leader Jermaine Hue. Kemeel Wolfe has also migrated to Clarendon to join elder brother Wolry in the hunt for a trophy at Humble Lion.

The 'Stars of the East' have brought in Damarley Oliver, Davieon Thorpe (Savanah), James Durrant (Arnett Gardens) and Anthony Marks of Reggae Youth, but none of them have the name or influence of Hue. They may have just enough to get by today's opponents Sporting Central, but could be found wanting in the long run.

Carlos Barrett should improve Arnett Gardens as he is a hard worker who also knows how to find the back of the net. The speedy, younger brother Layton Barrett is also a showman and will find favour with the Arnett Gardens crowd. André Clennon is another strong, pacy new man at the club, but while he can strike the ball, he does not score enough goals.

Tivoli Gardens had an off year last season and will be out to make a statement this season, and the return of old boys Robert Williams and Jameel Thompson may just be the start. They should get a taste of just where they are this season when they play Montego Bay United at home.

The Donovan Duckie-coached Montego Bay United should not be taken lightly and with young players like Jermaine Wozencroft and Allan Ottey eager to advertise themselves to the new national coach, fans could be in for a good game.

Promoted teams Rivoli United and August Town will meet in a game of more than bragging rights. Both teams know that even with a changed format two teams will be relegated at the end of the season and neither of them will want to be in that position.
    • Today's games
    5 p.m.: Waterhouse FC vs Boys' Town FC at Drewsland Stadium.

4:30 p.m.: Cavalier SC vs Portmore United FC at Stadium East.

3:30 p.m.: Humble Lion FC vs Arnett Gardens FC at Effortville Community Centre.

3:30 p.m.: August Town FC vs Rivoli United FC at UWI Bowl.

3:30 p.m. Tivoli Gardens FC vs Montego Bay United FC at Edward Seaga Complex.

3:30 p.m.: Sporting Central FC vs Harbour View FC at Juici Patties Park.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html

Defending champions Harbour View have not only changed coaches with Vin Blaine moving to assist Schäfer with the national senior team and Harold Thomas stepping up but will also be without the services of their inspirational leader Jermaine Hue.
    Why?

Defending golden boot champ?

Yuh nuh reah a fiyahouse diss afternnon ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Rivoli more than Devon Hodges, says coach Fitzgerald

Sunday, September 15, 2013

OVER the years, the name Devon Hodges and Rivoli United have become inextricably linked, but that doesn't mean that the Spanish Town-based outfit is a one-man team, said coach Calvert Fitzgerald.

Hodges, 29, has been the man carrying Rivoli United on his shoulders with his goals, but this season, although he is expected to contribute again, the coach thinks the club has strengthened enough to take the burden off Hodges' broad shoulders.

File photo of Devon Hodges (right) in action against Tivoli Gardens a few seasons ago.

FITZGERALD… I think I have put together a very strong unit, so I am anticipating that we will have some good results in our first season back

"We are trying not to let a lot depend on him, because we have other people here that are quite capable of scoring," Fitzgerald pointed out.

Rivoli, formed in 1972, is now the heartbeat of Spanish Town with a large following and, despite their ups and downs in the Premier League, expectations are again high following their return to top-flight football this season after a three-year absence.

Naturally, their first objective is to hold their own and remain in the league.
          "I think I have put together a very strong unit, so I am anticipating that we will have some good results in our first season back. I am also not expecting us to struggle in the league," said Fitzgerald.

"Our ultimate goal is to win, but we would like to be in the top half of the table, that's our minimum expectation," he added.

Just like any promoted team, Rivoli United were busy in the transfer market hoping to improve the squad so as to bring glory back to the Spanish Town Prison Oval.

Players like Kenny Lee (Humble Lion), hard-tackling midfielder Raymond Williamson (Tivoli Gardens), Christopher Louden (Savannah FC), Mario Harrison (Arnett Gardens), and Kevin Graham (Volvo FC) are expected to significantly make Rivoli a stronger outfit.

The now much-travelled Marcelino Blackburn is also at the club, but is waiting to iron out some kinks in his transfer from Arnett Gardens before taking the playing field.

"We have brought in players that are not old. We have a nice blend in terms of age, our average age is about 24," said Fitzgerald.

"The kind of players we have are touch players, very attacking players and that's the only kind of football they know how to play, so we are expected to play some attractive football," he noted.

The red-and-black-clad Rivoli might not be seen as serious title contenders, but Fitzgerald believes that their opponents will not and cannot overlook them.

"We have played a lot of practice games and we have seen a lot of the other teams, so they will know what we are about. I don't think any team will take us lightly," said Fitzgerald.

-- Howard Walker

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2ezGGzw5J

New Sporting coach sets lofty goals

Oshane Tobias

CLARENDON, Jamaica — Merron Gordon, the newly promoted Sporting Central Academy head coach, said the club will be targeting nothing less than a top-four finish in this season's Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL).

Despite winning many admirers, with their attractive brand of touch football, Sporting are yet to demonstrate that they are title contenders — more often than not struggling to stave-off relegation from the 12-team league.

GORDON… we are aiming for the top (PHOTO: OSHANE TOBIAS)

But Gordon, who was put in charge of the senior team after impressing with the Under-21s last season, believes there is no reason why the club should not be challenging for silverware.

"It is now seven years since we have been in the league," he said, "but every season we have been fighting relegation, which is funny because we have a quality team.

"This season," he added, "it is a new format, and I am a new coach, so we are aiming for the top. If not, I want us to at least be in the semi-finals."
            Today, the south-west Clarendon outfit will begin their campaign against defending champions Harbour View at their new Juici Patties Park home ground in Clarendon Park.

Gordon is hoping the move will also signal a change in fortune on the field.
            He said: "The field is a bit smaller than we are used to — in time we will adjust to it — but this is a plus for the club, because it is a more family-oriented environment.

"On Sunday, we are aiming for three points. Being the defending champions I think they are the ideal team to start with. Playing against them can give us an indication of where we are."

Sporting's first competitive game at the venue ended in a 2-1 victory over Jamalco in the first-round of the Flow Champions Cup on Thursday.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2ezHzO9ds

Expect good quality football from Cavalier

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com

AFTER surviving their first year back in top-flight football, after a 17-year hiatus, Cavalier Soccer Club have turned their attention to playing good football, which will translate into good results and eventually the title.

Coach w said special emphasis will be on playing attractive football more consistently and that will prove enough.

"I expect Cavalier to play a more improved game than last season. Good quality football, and I believe in playing good quality football we can just about achieve anything. If we play good football we can just get the title," said Laylor.

"So our objective really is to play good football and see what comes at the end of the day," he added.

Cavalier, formed in 1962, won the Premier League title 32 years ago, back in 1981. Back then they were known as the 'Duncan Destroyers' and were a perennial force to be reckoned with.

But following the death of their founder Leighton Duncan, the club that played host to some of Jamaica's legendary footballers went into a slump and are just recovering.

In their first season back in top-flight football, Cavalier performed creditably, finishing eighth with 49 points, inclusive of 13 wins, 10 draws and 15 defeats from 38 games.

The black-and-white-clad outfit from Stadium East has dipped into the transfer market acquiring at least 20 players as they push for Premier League glory.

In come Peter Keys of Boys' Town and Waterhouse fame, Severo Murphy (Highgate United), Peter Morris (Humble Lion), Elton Thompson (Arnett Gardens), Dwayne Holmes (St George's), and former national Under-17 goalkeeper Odean Clarke from Holland United in Trelawny to name a few.

"We realised that we had to create more depth in terms of quality players. A couple of players left midstream last season, and so we had a little struggle. This will give us more stability," explained Laylor.

Cavalier had some notable upsets last year, knocking off a number of the 'big name' teams, and this year, Laylor admitted his team is no longer an unknown factor and will be a marked team.

"It could be a plus for us, in that these teams will come more tentative, more nervous, thinking that Cavalier is this team that you can't take check with. But at the end of the day, for us, if we play good football against anyone of these teams we can come out on top.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2ezIgeBQI

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com

AFTER surviving their first year back in top-flight football, after a 17-year hiatus, Cavalier Soccer Club have turned their attention to playing good football, which will translate into good results and eventually the title.

Coach w said special emphasis will be on playing attractive football more consistently and that will prove enough.

"I expect Cavalier to play a more improved game than last season. Good quality football, and I believe in playing good quality football we can just about achieve anything. If we play good football we can just get the title," said Laylor.

"So our objective really is to play good football and see what comes at the end of the day," he added.

Cavalier, formed in 1962, won the Premier League title 32 years ago, back in 1981. Back then they were known as the 'Duncan Destroyers' and were a perennial force to be reckoned with.

But following the death of their founder Leighton Duncan, the club that played host to some of Jamaica's legendary footballers went into a slump and are just recovering.

In their first season back in top-flight football, Cavalier performed creditably, finishing eighth with 49 points, inclusive of 13 wins, 10 draws and 15 defeats from 38 games.

The black-and-white-clad outfit from Stadium East has dipped into the transfer market acquiring at least 20 players as they push for Premier League glory.

In come Peter Keys of Boys' Town and Waterhouse fame, Severo Murphy (Highgate United), Peter Morris (Humble Lion), Elton Thompson (Arnett Gardens), Dwayne Holmes (St George's), and former national Under-17 goalkeeper Odean Clarke from Holland United in Trelawny to name a few.

"We realised that we had to create more depth in terms of quality players. A couple of players left midstream last season, and so we had a little struggle. This will give us more stability," explained Laylor.

Cavalier had some notable upsets last year, knocking off a number of the 'big name' teams, and this year, Laylor admitted his team is no longer an unknown factor and will be a marked team.

"It could be a plus for us, in that these teams will come more tentative, more nervous, thinking that Cavalier is this team that you can't take check with. But at the end of the day, for us, if we play good football against anyone of these teams we can come out on top.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2ezIgeBQI
                Wi affi aks Sass if dem opinion yah mek sense

Ki-ki!