Reggae Boyz Cry - We cast aside a team for 11 individuals!

• Reggae Boyz Cry - We cast aside a team for 11 individuals!

Ryon Jones, Staff ReporterTwo Reggae Boyz who helped the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]country[/COLOR][/COLOR] reach the final round of the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers, before being cast aside, are now crying foul.
    Last year, [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] advanced to the CONCACAF six-team round-robin play-offs for the first time since 2002 and it sparked a total overhaul of the squad.
    The Jamaica [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Football [COLOR=blue !important]Federation[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] (JFF) went on a massive recruitment drive with seven British-born players and one Germany-based player being called to the squad last November, with a few others drafted along the way.
    The influx of British players, who were eligible to play for the country as a result of their parents or grandparents having hailed from [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]the [COLOR=blue !important]island[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], left some of the Jamaica-born players on the sidelines.
    "I felt hard done by that, because after being a key player in the team that helped the team to qualify for the final round, played 90 minutes in all the games and then I'm not in the 23-man squad," central midfielder Jason Morrison said.
    "How can you justify that? That's hard to take. The first game against Mexico, I was on the bench, didn't even play, and then I'm not even in the 23."
    The 29-year-old Morrison had formed a central midfield partnership with Rodolph Austin during the semi-final round, but this role was taken over by Marvin Elliot, who currently plays for Bristol City in England's second division.
    Morrison, who plays for Norwegian Premier League club, Aalesund, made the bench for the opening final-round game away to Mexico, after which he underwent a minor knee surgery.
    LACKING CHEMISTRY
    "After I recovered, they took their own decision and I was left out. I don't know why," Morrison shared. "If you notice, the team that we had for the semi-final round and this team in the final round are completely different teams. You don't have the same core or the same chemistry."
    Morrison believes the lack of this chemistry has resulted in Jamaica being on the brink of missing out on the next World Cup, as the country now sits at the foot of the six-team standings with a mere four points from eight games.
    "Even the team that won all three games in the final round at the stadium, when we defeated [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]America[/COLOR][/COLOR] for the first time, most of those players have not been seen after that," Morrison highlighted.
    "So I think the mentality of the federation has a big part to play in why we are struggling so much. You can't have a team that qualify you for the final round, which you haven't reached in a long time, and then you're going to go for so many new players that have never ever played for Jamaica before.
    "You don't need so many new players. You have to just look at where you need strengthening and strengthen [that]. If your team was so bad, they wouldn't have qualified for the final round. So when you bring so many players from England, thinking they are going to qualify you for the World Cup, it is not going to happen, because there is no chemistry, no core. We lost the root of Jamaican football."
    Another central midfielder, Damion Williams, who formed part of Jamaica's 2011 Gold Cup squad, which made it to the quarter-finals and played some of the best football in the country's recent history, believes that crop of players should have formed the core of the current squad.
    "The last Gold Cup squad, which was mainly local players and players who were born here, was gelling together nicely, and coming up to the World Cup qualifiers, they just made a drastic change and you have to be playing in England," the Portmore United man, Williams, shared.
    "That squad should be playing in the World Cup Qualifiers right now, and then look at the squad and bring in players to strengthen it, but you can't just weed out everybody.
    "A lot of the players feel a way about it. (Even players now in the squad) feel it, too, because we were like a family and I don't know what went wrong."
    At the start of the second half during Jamaica's match against Costa Rica on Tuesday, there were nine United Kingdom-born players on the field of play representing the country.
    And it does not seem that the practice of recruiting overseas players will be changing anytime soon, based on what the president of the JFF, Captain Horace Burrell, said during an interview with The Gleaner on Sunday, September 8.
    "One of the reasons why it is difficult to select our local footballers is that they have no international exposure and, therefore, our football cannot improve as much as we would want to. Thankfully, those players who play in the overseas clubs are exposed and continue to get that exposure and, therefore, they can benefit us. Without our overseas players, we have no chance," Burrell said.
    ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com

Originally posted by Time View Post
    Ryon Jones, Staff ReporterTwo Reggae Boyz who helped the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]country[/COLOR][/COLOR] reach the final round of the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers, before being cast aside, are now crying foul.
    Last year, [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] advanced to the CONCACAF six-team round-robin play-offs for the first time since 2002 and it sparked a total overhaul of the squad.
    The Jamaica [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Football [COLOR=blue !important]Federation[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] (JFF) went on a massive recruitment drive with seven British-born players and one Germany-based player being called to the squad last November, with a few others drafted along the way.
    The influx of British players, who were eligible to play for the country as a result of their parents or grandparents having hailed from [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]the [COLOR=blue !important]island[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], left some of the Jamaica-born players on the sidelines.
    "I felt hard done by that, because after being a key player in the team that helped the team to qualify for the final round, played 90 minutes in all the games and then I'm not in the 23-man squad," central midfielder Jason Morrison said.
    "How can you justify that? That's hard to take. The first game against Mexico, I was on the bench, didn't even play, and then I'm not even in the 23."
    The 29-year-old Morrison had formed a central midfield partnership with Rodolph Austin during the semi-final round, but this role was taken over by Marvin Elliot, who currently plays for Bristol City in England's second division.
    Morrison, who plays for Norwegian Premier League club, Aalesund, made the bench for the opening final-round game away to Mexico, after which he underwent a minor knee surgery.
    LACKING CHEMISTRY
    "After I recovered, they took their own decision and I was left out. I don't know why," Morrison shared. "If you notice, the team that we had for the semi-final round and this team in the final round are completely different teams. You don't have the same core or the same chemistry."
    Morrison believes the lack of this chemistry has resulted in Jamaica being on the brink of missing out on the next World Cup, as the country now sits at the foot of the six-team standings with a mere four points from eight games.
    "Even the team that won all three games in the final round at the stadium, when we defeated [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]America[/COLOR][/COLOR] for the first time, most of those players have not been seen after that," Morrison highlighted.
    "So I think the mentality of the federation has a big part to play in why we are struggling so much. You can't have a team that qualify you for the final round, which you haven't reached in a long time, and then you're going to go for so many new players that have never ever played for Jamaica before.
    "You don't need so many new players. You have to just look at where you need strengthening and strengthen [that]. If your team was so bad, they wouldn't have qualified for the final round. So when you bring so many players from England, thinking they are going to qualify you for the World Cup, it is not going to happen, because there is no chemistry, no core. We lost the root of Jamaican football."
    Another central midfielder, Damion Williams, who formed part of Jamaica's 2011 Gold Cup squad, which made it to the quarter-finals and played some of the best football in the country's recent history, believes that crop of players should have formed the core of the current squad.
    "The last Gold Cup squad, which was mainly local players and players who were born here, was gelling together nicely, and coming up to the World Cup qualifiers, they just made a drastic change and you have to be playing in England," the Portmore United man, Williams, shared.
    "That squad should be playing in the World Cup Qualifiers right now, and then look at the squad and bring in players to strengthen it, but you can't just weed out everybody.
    "A lot of the players feel a way about it. (Even players now in the squad) feel it, too, because we were like a family and I don't know what went wrong."
    At the start of the second half during Jamaica's match against Costa Rica on Tuesday, there were nine United Kingdom-born players on the field of play representing the country.
    And it does not seem that the practice of recruiting overseas players will be changing anytime soon, based on what the president of the JFF, Captain Horace Burrell, said during an interview with The Gleaner on Sunday, September 8.
    "One of the reasons why it is difficult to select our local footballers is that they have no international exposure and, therefore, our football cannot improve as much as we would want to. Thankfully, those players who play in the overseas clubs are exposed and continue to get that exposure and, therefore, they can benefit us. Without our overseas players, we have no chance," Burrell said.
    ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com
    Dem man yah ah tief mi argument dem

Yet anedda Don1 prophecy manifest
    Last edited by Don1; September 13, 2013, 02:12 PM.

Nuh nuff a tem player yah man did a say fi drop cause them couldn't cut it??? Some of these players got their chances and what did they do?

The Caribbean Cup was an embarrassment. After the fact everybody have talk.

Your are forgetting who coaches and developed them. They got very very little football, i.e. what they (players) needed . Still antiquated coaches methods and the training sessions are not very valuable. Have you watch their training session over the past 3 years? They have no clue and that is sad. The technical team of the JFF does not even show up at training session as they don't know, either.

There are many local players if brought together and trained as they did before 98' W/C the JFF would not be in what they think is "still have a slim chance". They simply do to get it and if they stay in power Jamaica will go further backwards and the players will not be pro footballers. The JFF are way behind on the world in football development. They do not understand that either and a process that could work for their country men and their players in the "Land they are suppose to Love". SO VERY SAD for the players. If is the players that need to speak out and it's about time. Maybe more will step up the the plate and be the radical they need to be a share just how crappy it's been for them.

Sass is merely interested in superficial arguments.... whatever he may see on TV

This is a guy who claims to "follow" the NPL yet he probably has never seen a game... go figure

We all have to share the blame. The team that went to the Caribbean cup had MANY players playing in the MLS and Nordic leagues. These players including Jason Morrison was a very big disappointment.

I am not saying we are not lacking from the JFF but we should all take personal responsibility. THERE is absolutely no reason for us to leave the Caribbean cup without a win. and 0 or 1 goals.

do you follow any sport??? How much games you go to???

How did you expect him not to be a disappointment? He hadn't played football in ages, his league was shut down and that was the first he played since completing rehab on his knee. People kept asking JFF why the players weren't in camp and their was silence. The same sort of bush preparation we saw in the HEX.

Go back and read this forum how many people were calling for Morrison to be axed. I remember when he got injured, man was even saying it was a blessing in disguise.

How quick we forget. Not so long ago many were calling for most of the players to be replaced. I said then we only needed a few good players. However the Caribbean cup was a big disappointment for the Jamaican team. The blame have to go around.

do you follow any sport??? How much games you go to???
                    Guhwhey yute.

Yuh try fi mek peeple believe seh yuh know wat a gwaan wen yuh nuh know nutten

Mi juss expose yuh ignorance

answer the question nuh.

Don1 ah nuh follower... mi lead

Now yuh did seh yuh "haven't seen too many NPL games" ... dont?

I guess "not too many" can = zero

woooooiiiieee

Go back and read this forum how many people were calling for Morrison to be axed. I remember when he got injured, man was even saying it was a blessing in disguise.

How quick we forget. Not so long ago many were calling for most of the players to be replaced. I said then we only needed a few good players. However the Caribbean cup was a big disappointment for the Jamaican team. The blame have to go around.
                          So what is the significance of many people calling for Morrison to be axed??????

Does that mean Morrison's opinion on the state of affairs is incorrect?? No it has no bearing on that

Stop trying to shoot the messenger with these inane, red herring non-issues ...you are on the wrong side of the message.... and looking foolish.

Whether or not many persons were calling for players to be axed is irrelevant ..... the strategy was clearly wrong and we're seeing the results today

The JFF foolishly panicked after the Caribbean Cup by making wholesale changes.... importing one long bag ah mediocre English Snow Ballas

Now yuh fi repent ar kip quiat like Snowigut an tap support ar try excuse fcukery

Repent yuh evilous ways yute!!!!! wooiiee
                          Last edited by Don1; September 13, 2013, 07:31 PM.

Ohhhh laawwwwd...repent...lol...oooh Don...yuh killing me...eye wata reach mi.

Mine im come wid im facts.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yug delete it...lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.