Jamaican Football Coaches

• Jamaican Football Coaches

The Jamaican football coach is a teacher. He/she is the one that will be teaching & nurturing the players that will one day represent Jamaica. If you have weak, poorly prepared & inexperienced teachers, then that's the type of students you can expect. Once again the JFF has failed with another very important segment of Jamaica's football, as they have not provide the necessary training & experience to develop & grow promising coaches so you can have the quality players Jamaica needs to be successful.

Whitmore - Showed promise & had some success (that you can't deny nor ignore), BUT at some critical points his lack of training & experience let him down. From about 6 years ago he was drafted by the JFF, but they did not make any investment in his development to be an asset to Jamaica's football. They have now used him as a scapegoat for THEIR failures & cast him on Jamaica's coaching scrap heap.......Lead like a lamb to be slaughtered, like others before him.

"Tegat" Davis - A few years ago he showed promise & was having success & sparked interest about his inclusion into the national setup. That didn't happen. I remember an interview he had back then & he said that after watching the Uruguayan team being put through their paces he realized how far behind they were & how much they needed to learn. This is a promising young coach WANTING to learn & grow so that he can be an asset to Jamaica's football, BUT his pleas were ignored.

Jamaica MUST put a stop to the JFF continually ignoring the NECESSARY development & growth of its promising talent, if they want to be successful & respected in world football.

Infinite% in agreement with your post. This is the most crucial ingredient that is needed to advance our program. All this talk about academy and better fields and whatnot comes down on the priority list. We need to select a group of promising coaches and send them abroad to work in professional settings. We also need to bring in qualified teachers of the game to lecture and work with our coaches. This was how our T & F program was developed over the years. We have become experts in the field and our coaches are in high demand worldwide. This method needs to be adopted by our football program.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The crazy thing is, getting these promising local coaches a solid start would cost very little. The Black Coaches Association, in the U.S., was co-founded by a Jamaican - Lorne Donaldson, & their mission is to get coaches from the Caribbean, Africa, etc. trained & certified, as well as exposure/experience. He has continually offered his services & expertise,*BUT the JFF keeps ignoring him.

The "damningest" thing about our coaches is they fail to organize and criticize each other at the simpliest chance they get. We will got nowhere like this.

Jamaican coaches will not excel until they start working as a team. There are places for differences but there is also the need to work for betterment of the system, of the coaches. We can blame all we want and the JFF will pick a Tappa or a Carl Brown and the rest of the coaches instead of helping out will stay in full view or in the media and lambast their peers not knowing the effect it has on coaching in Jamaica and themselves.

Jamaican coaches have to come as a unit and pick the best players and work with them, work with the national team coaches and get the best out of our players. Understand more about each other methods and decide what works and what doesn't and force the federation and FIFA etc. to move.

That UNITY you're looking for will come when these coaches are properly trained & exposed to a professional working environment & culture. Right now the culture is SURVIVAL AT ANY COST, so every coach is going to do what is NECESSARY to get his piece of the pie, & they know that the pie, which the JFF has, is getting smaller. The JFF can do this because it knows that the coaches have no REAL power. For this to change pressure has to come from the government, private sector & the public.....You don't do what is needed to have a real & workable COMPREHENSIVE national football program, THEN you'll get NO support.

whats the difference to date between tappas performance and the German.. ?

Not really true. You have a good amount of trained coaches in Jamaica. For some reason many choose not to be involved with the JFF or many other organizations. On a local level many coaches in the US are not much better trained but they work as a team. The fact is in Jamaica we sideline our professionals and it is that way with football coaching.

lots of bad coaches in the U.S too.. actually more bad coaches, but they are expose to standards. So NSCAA and so on create a process which allow standards.

The fact is because of the willingness to work as a team while the US coaches are successful. I am personally impressed how the college division coaches sit down and pick all star teams. They work as a team to set out their schedules and select committees. There are a lot of bad ones but I think if our coaches were organized they could force changes. When you look at coaches like Lebert Aliman, Vernon Bell and so many others who just wish to opt out of the system other than coaching a little team, you see a trend.

Good cigar!!!

To date?

NONE!

...but he has 2 matches to turn it around. No if he loses both of those matches...then...????

Here is the 'funny' thing...I think this last match was our best...but the core of the TEAM is Tappa's...

...and surely they were bound to improve???!!! Right???

After all is said they had had...they are having their first set of preparation matches during this HEX! Go figure (or...just think on it)???

some would argue the two you mention are not good. One is recruiter and the other one is a name

point i making is you cant throw players together no preparation and expect miracles. Its not baking bread...

Winnie is undefeated

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                              point i making is you cant throw players together no preparation and expect miracles. Its not baking bread...
                              Agree FULL 100!