• Tuffy!

‘I could have scored another goal’ — says ‘Tuffy’

STAR PLAYER
    BY SEAN WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor
    Thursday, September 12, 2013

JERMAINE 'Tuffy' Anderson's added time goal in Jamaica's 1-1 draw with Costa Rica in a CONCACAF World Cup qualifying match at the National Stadium on Tuesday night, may be the most precious of his career.

Not only did it rescue Jamaica from the throes of defeat in a match that they couldn't afford to come away with nothing, but it was also his vindication.

Jermaine ‘Tuffy’ Anderson on his knee during the Reggae Boyz World Cup qualifier against Costa Rica on Tuesday night. The game ended 1-1. (PHOTO: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)

The Waterhouse striker, and the most popular player in the land for his prolific goalscoring and infectious personality, must have felt relieved as he was under extreme pressure to deliver for himself and the fans who have protested his protracted exclusion from the national set-up for the final round of the Brazil 2014 qualifying campaign.

"As I have said, this country loves 'Tuffy', and 'Tuffy' has to go out there and please the country. There is a good vibe with this group of players, too, as I think they love me... I get a good vibe from them at team meetings and dinner. I really think they love me, especially Marlon King," said the charismatic player.

Anderson, 35, who last represented Jamaica at the senior national team level at the Caribbean Cup last December, said he knows that new Reggae Boyz coach Winfried Schafer believes in what he brings to the field of play.

"I think the coach believes in me. He told me I wouldn't play in the Panama game and that I should focus on the Costa Rica match, and I got that chance and grabbed it with my two hands... my job is to score goals and that's what I did," he told journalists after the game.

"I think I gave my best out there, and I think I could have won the game, but it was unfortunate as maybe I was too anxious to score, but I still kept my cool and got it done," Anderson said.

The no-nonsense player also got a glorious chance shortly after entering the field when he replaced King, but his effort zipped wide and he explained why.
    "The first one (chance), two options came to me as I was wondering if I should dive and buck (head) that ball, and then I say no... but that passed and I went and scored another goal," he noted.

"Maybe if I had more minutes out there I would have got another goal. It's a long time I am scoring quality goals, so I know quality goals...long time I am hungry, so I am just keeping cool and hoping for the best," Anderson added.
    The Montegonian, who has been the top-scorer in the Premier League for the past two seasons, said every time he enters the field of play he gives his all for the fans.

"As I said, each day I want to go out there and do my best whether for my country or my club. It's my fans who motivate me as they believe in what I can do," said the showman.

In typical Anderson style, the robust frontman, who is known to rough up defenders, was seen doing that in the game on Tuesday night.
    "My game can't change, we have to rough up dem Costa Rican bwoy deh and mek dem know seh man dey yah, defenders haffi feel me because if dem nah feel mi, I don't feel good," noted Anderson, as he broke off into the Jamaican dialect.

And in response to his critics, some of whom argue that he is not ready for international football, Anderson said he is inspired by his detractors.
    "Critics are the ones that build you and break you... it doesn't matter what people say as some will always say bad and others will say good, but everything is left to me, as I am the one who is going to go out there on a match day to still fight," he noted.

For his game-saving goal, as well as for his personality, Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson is the Jamaica Observer's Star Player of the game.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2egK43wVC

'My job is just to score goals' - Tuffy

'My job is just to score goals' - Tuffy grateful for faith shown by coach

Published: Thursday | September 12, 2013

Jamaica's Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson (centre) shakes off a challenge from Costa Rica's Christian Gamboa, while (from left) Jamaica's Christopher Humphrey, Westley Morgan, Joel (Jobi) McAnuff and Costa Rica's Bryan Ruiz look on, during the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying football match at the National Stadium on Tuesday night. Anderson scored in injury time to earn Jamaica a 1-1 draw. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter

Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson is pleased with the faith that the local football public and new head coach, Winfried Schäfer, has shown in him.

At the end of the day, though, Anderson believes it is all up to him to go out and prove his worth.

"I think the whole country believes in Tuffy, but it is not about the country, it is about Tuffy, and I have to go out there and do what it takes to please the country," Anderson shared.

"I know my job each day I turn out on the field. My job is just to score goals; I don't have any skill."

The 33-year-old striker was for months the centre of public debate, over whether or not he should be included in the country's World Cup Qualifying squad.

The situation even sparked small-scale demonstrations in the two cities - Kingston and Montego Bay, where he's from - by supporters, because of his continuous omission by former coach Theodore Whitmore, who also hails from Montego Bay.

The appointment of Schäfer in July brought about a change in fortunes for the country's local premier league leading scorer for the past few seasons, as he was called up for the squad to play against Panama and Costa Rica.

He did not even make the bench against Panama, but when given the chance on Tuesday night, he wasted little time in silencing his critics and giving his supporters something to cheer about.

Anderson, who came on as a 68th-minute substitute, came close with his first attempt in the 86th minute, before notching an equaliser for the Boyz in the 90+2 minutes.

The goal scored by Anderson was the first the team was scoring from open play in the eight games contested in the CONCACAF Hexagonal.

"I think I put out a lot of work, and I think the coach has belief in me, and I have to give him thanks," Anderson said.

Keep Focused
    "I know I was not going to play in the Panama game, he told me to keep focused on the Costa Rica game. I stayed focused, as he gave me the time that I was going to go out on the field, and I kept cool and calm and hoped and when I got my chance I just grabbed it."

Anderson's doubters might have wondered why he was being introduced into the game when the team was trailing and desperately needed a win, with the likes of Theo Robinson, Ryan Johnson and Darren Mattocks on the bench. But there was some method to the madness, Schäfer explained.

"I know this player could change the match, especially for our supporters," Schäfer said. "The moment he (Anderson) comes in he gives our players a second power. If you notice, he made pressure and that's what I wanted.

"If I played Tuffy from the first minute, after 20 minutes I would have had to take him out, he would be finished and can't run, as he is not in season," Schäfer explained.

"Tuffy is a player (who) maybe he runs and the ball goes against his knee and it is a goal, he is a lucky man and that's what I want," the German coach outlined. "I am happy about him, that's why I take him in."

ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html

'My job is just to score goals' - Tuffy grateful for faith shown by coach

Published: Thursday | September 12, 2013

Jamaica's Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson (centre) shakes off a challenge from Costa Rica's Christian Gamboa, while (from left) Jamaica's Christopher Humphrey, Westley Morgan, Joel (Jobi) McAnuff and Costa Rica's Bryan Ruiz look on, during the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying football match at the National Stadium on Tuesday night. Anderson scored in injury time to earn Jamaica a 1-1 draw. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

"Tuffy is a player (who) maybe he runs and the ball goes against his knee and it is a goal, he is a lucky man and that's what I want," the German coach outlined. "I am happy about him, that's why I take him in."
      - new head coach, Winfried Schäfer

ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html
      What a terrible back-handed compliment to give to his most successful striker?

In light of when one opens mouth emanating therefrom reflects and enlightens on on one's own character and personality: What does that terrible utterance say about Winfried Schäfer?

is he 33, 34 or 35? i think i have reports caliming all 3 ages over the last few days...

Boyz for giving ‘100 per cent’

Outcast striker makes glorious return but few J'cans saw it

BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor
          Thursday, September 12, 2013

These are certainly not the best of times for Jamaica's football, but in the gloom a bright spark emerged in its fading Brazil 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign in the shape of the irrepressible striker Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson.

Sadly, not many Jamaicans were inside the National Stadium to witness the spectacular return of 'Tuffy', as local fans frustrated with the performance of the Reggae Boyz surrendered the home turf to thousands of Costa Rican supporters who filled out the grandstand.

Jamaica’s goalscorer Jermaine ‘Tuffy’ Anderson (right) prepares to block a clearance by Costa Rica’s Giancarlo Gonzalez during their CONCACAF World Cup Qualifier inside the National Stadium on Tuesday night. The match ended 1-1. (PHOTO: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)

Reggae Boyz midfielder Garath McCleary (left) prepares to shoot as Costa Rica’s Junior Diaz closes in during their CONCACAF World Cup qualifier inside the National Stadium on Tuesday night. The match ended 1-1. (PHOTO: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)

Jamaica’s goalscorer Jermaine ‘Tuffy’ Anderson (right) prepares to block a clearance by Costa Rica’s Giancarlo Gonzalez during their CONCACAF World Cup Qualifier inside the National Stadium on Tuesday night. The match ended 1-1. (PHOTO: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)

The proverbial 12th man that the players had so banked on for support, did not show for the game. Instead, the once impregnable 'Office' was transformed into a sea of red, blue and white of the Costa Ricans, who drowned out the faint Jamaican chorus in the distance.

'The Office' was conquered.

The Waterhouse striker — who is very popular with the people of Jamaica with his free-scoring ways in the local Premier League, showmanship and his onfield enthusiasm — made a glorious return to the national set-up by scoring in the Reggae Boyz's must-win match against Costa Rica on Tuesday night inside the National Stadium.

Anderson's time-added goal gave Jamaica a stay of execution in the hexagonal play-offs when he equalised against the Central Americans after coming on as a sub in the 68th minute.

Another substitute, Randall Brenes, had given the Costa Ricans the lead in the 74th minute.

Jamaica head coach Winfried Schafer praised Anderson for the role he played since entering the field of play.
          "When 'Tuffy' came in he changed the game for us, he came in with power, I am not happy that we got only one goal as he had a big chance for one before, but he got one after that," said the German, in charge of his second game after guiding the Boyz in last Friday's 0-0 tie away to Panama.

Schafer, speaking to reporters after Tuesday night's game, said it was always a part of the plan to inject Anderson at some point of the contest.

"We will need 'Tuffy' at home for the last 15 minutes or so, I had said... for this match we needed a good stadium, as you see there were more Costa Ricans in the stadium than Jamaicans. When 'Tuffy' came in, the supporters gave us the second power to our players," said the former Cameroon coach.

But Schafer responded to queries of why the Waterhouse man was not given more time on the pitch. "You cannot play a player against Costa Rica (for the whole match) and he is not (fully) fit... but I am happy about why I take him in," he noted.

Reflecting on the match itself, the new Boyz head coach said it was an "up and down" game where his players "gave 100 per cent".

"This team played for mama, papa, grandpa, friend. I am very happy about this team. Wes Morgan, who got his passport only three weeks ago, fought like a tiger for Jamaica and (Jobi) McAnuff, like in Panama, gave everything for this team," Schafer said as he fielded questions at a post-match press conference.

As the Boyz look to their next assignment against the USA on October 11 in Kansas City, the German said he's hoping to get Demar Phillips back as the left-sided player would bring an offensive boost cutting inside as he likes to do.

"Phillips is one of the best players on the left side and I hope he will come back in time from injury," Schafer noted.

Costa Rica, meanwhile, moved to 15 points in the CONCACAF hexagonal play-offs, and secured qualification along with the USA, who defeated Mexico 2-0 at home to boost their points tally to 16, for a safe passage to the Brazil 2014 World Cup Finals.

Honduras followed up their 2-1 victory over Mexico at the Azteca last Friday with a 2-2 result against Panama at home to move to 11 points, while Panama inched up a place to fourth on eight points, the same as Mexico.

Jamaica advanced to four points, but remained firmly rooted at the bottom of the six-nation group, but having failed to gather maximum points and with nearest rivals Mexico and Panama doing likewise, the Reggae Boyz were kept on life support, as they still have a mathematical chance of stealing fourth place, should they register maximum points from their two remaining games, and neither Mexico nor Panama score a win in either of their games. The team that finishes in fourth place will earn another chance at qualification when they engage the winner of the Oceania region, New Zealand, in a home-and-away play-off series in mid-November.

Jamaica will oppose the USA on October 11 in that country, and then Honduras at home four days later, while Mexico welcome Panama to the Azteca on October 11, before travelling to the already qualified Costa Rica on October 15, as Panama entertain the US on the same day.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2egxBuQiO

I was just about to ask. Poor reporting

and gerd muller? how different was he? ian rush? some people have a knack .. that knack cannot be taught.

would love to see tuffy being defended by luis suarez, not so much the vice versa as it nuh tek nutten fi suarez tek off like a bird on wing ...

That's a fact.

...but one database I use has "Tuffy as -
                  DOB: 22 February 1979

Maybe he's expressing how he truly feels about Tuffy, BUT the FACT is that the "bumbling" player he just described gave HIM & the team a life line.

and gerd muller? how different was he? ian rush? some people have a knack .. that knack cannot be taught.
                      Just that I think all those players were and Tuffy is much more than 'a coach's hope and prayer'!

Even as we hear from Tuffy's own mouth that he has no skill (someone should get to him and go over with him the very important skills he takes to his job of scoring goals) that is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay far from the truth.

Originally posted by Fluffy View Post
                        "I don't have any skill."
                        Weh bighead Mosiah deh? When football genius like miself talk...tek heed

foo fool bwoy, "skill" in Jamaican football language means ability to shift n beat defenders. di man simply a say him is not a brucky boo. how u a talk bout Gaza and u nuh know the culture. U a long distance gaza man lol

may be self deprecating by tuffy ...

explain this statement, as succinctly as possible please, otherwise i will not read it because your long posts are very convoluted ...

thanks in advance.

Just that I think all those players were and Tuffy is much more than 'a coach's hope and prayer'

were? were what? werewolf?

:d :d :d