‘I could have scored another goal’ — says ‘Tuffy’
STAR PLAYER
BY SEAN WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor
Thursday, September 12, 2013
JERMAINE 'Tuffy' Anderson's added time goal in Jamaica's 1-1 draw with Costa Rica in a CONCACAF World Cup qualifying match at the National Stadium on Tuesday night, may be the most precious of his career.
Not only did it rescue Jamaica from the throes of defeat in a match that they couldn't afford to come away with nothing, but it was also his vindication.
Jermaine ‘Tuffy’ Anderson on his knee during the Reggae Boyz World Cup qualifier against Costa Rica on Tuesday night. The game ended 1-1. (PHOTO: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)
The Waterhouse striker, and the most popular player in the land for his prolific goalscoring and infectious personality, must have felt relieved as he was under extreme pressure to deliver for himself and the fans who have protested his protracted exclusion from the national set-up for the final round of the Brazil 2014 qualifying campaign.
"As I have said, this country loves 'Tuffy', and 'Tuffy' has to go out there and please the country. There is a good vibe with this group of players, too, as I think they love me... I get a good vibe from them at team meetings and dinner. I really think they love me, especially Marlon King," said the charismatic player.
Anderson, 35, who last represented Jamaica at the senior national team level at the Caribbean Cup last December, said he knows that new Reggae Boyz coach Winfried Schafer believes in what he brings to the field of play.
"I think the coach believes in me. He told me I wouldn't play in the Panama game and that I should focus on the Costa Rica match, and I got that chance and grabbed it with my two hands... my job is to score goals and that's what I did," he told journalists after the game.
"I think I gave my best out there, and I think I could have won the game, but it was unfortunate as maybe I was too anxious to score, but I still kept my cool and got it done," Anderson said.
The no-nonsense player also got a glorious chance shortly after entering the field when he replaced King, but his effort zipped wide and he explained why.
"The first one (chance), two options came to me as I was wondering if I should dive and buck (head) that ball, and then I say no... but that passed and I went and scored another goal," he noted.
"Maybe if I had more minutes out there I would have got another goal. It's a long time I am scoring quality goals, so I know quality goals...long time I am hungry, so I am just keeping cool and hoping for the best," Anderson added.
The Montegonian, who has been the top-scorer in the Premier League for the past two seasons, said every time he enters the field of play he gives his all for the fans.
"As I said, each day I want to go out there and do my best whether for my country or my club. It's my fans who motivate me as they believe in what I can do," said the showman.
In typical Anderson style, the robust frontman, who is known to rough up defenders, was seen doing that in the game on Tuesday night.
"My game can't change, we have to rough up dem Costa Rican bwoy deh and mek dem know seh man dey yah, defenders haffi feel me because if dem nah feel mi, I don't feel good," noted Anderson, as he broke off into the Jamaican dialect.
And in response to his critics, some of whom argue that he is not ready for international football, Anderson said he is inspired by his detractors.
"Critics are the ones that build you and break you... it doesn't matter what people say as some will always say bad and others will say good, but everything is left to me, as I am the one who is going to go out there on a match day to still fight," he noted.
For his game-saving goal, as well as for his personality, Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson is the Jamaica Observer's Star Player of the game.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2egK43wVC
STAR PLAYER
BY SEAN WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor
Thursday, September 12, 2013
JERMAINE 'Tuffy' Anderson's added time goal in Jamaica's 1-1 draw with Costa Rica in a CONCACAF World Cup qualifying match at the National Stadium on Tuesday night, may be the most precious of his career.
Not only did it rescue Jamaica from the throes of defeat in a match that they couldn't afford to come away with nothing, but it was also his vindication.
The Waterhouse striker, and the most popular player in the land for his prolific goalscoring and infectious personality, must have felt relieved as he was under extreme pressure to deliver for himself and the fans who have protested his protracted exclusion from the national set-up for the final round of the Brazil 2014 qualifying campaign.
"As I have said, this country loves 'Tuffy', and 'Tuffy' has to go out there and please the country. There is a good vibe with this group of players, too, as I think they love me... I get a good vibe from them at team meetings and dinner. I really think they love me, especially Marlon King," said the charismatic player.
Anderson, 35, who last represented Jamaica at the senior national team level at the Caribbean Cup last December, said he knows that new Reggae Boyz coach Winfried Schafer believes in what he brings to the field of play.
"I think the coach believes in me. He told me I wouldn't play in the Panama game and that I should focus on the Costa Rica match, and I got that chance and grabbed it with my two hands... my job is to score goals and that's what I did," he told journalists after the game.
"I think I gave my best out there, and I think I could have won the game, but it was unfortunate as maybe I was too anxious to score, but I still kept my cool and got it done," Anderson said.
The no-nonsense player also got a glorious chance shortly after entering the field when he replaced King, but his effort zipped wide and he explained why.
"The first one (chance), two options came to me as I was wondering if I should dive and buck (head) that ball, and then I say no... but that passed and I went and scored another goal," he noted.
"Maybe if I had more minutes out there I would have got another goal. It's a long time I am scoring quality goals, so I know quality goals...long time I am hungry, so I am just keeping cool and hoping for the best," Anderson added.
The Montegonian, who has been the top-scorer in the Premier League for the past two seasons, said every time he enters the field of play he gives his all for the fans.
"As I said, each day I want to go out there and do my best whether for my country or my club. It's my fans who motivate me as they believe in what I can do," said the showman.
In typical Anderson style, the robust frontman, who is known to rough up defenders, was seen doing that in the game on Tuesday night.
"My game can't change, we have to rough up dem Costa Rican bwoy deh and mek dem know seh man dey yah, defenders haffi feel me because if dem nah feel mi, I don't feel good," noted Anderson, as he broke off into the Jamaican dialect.
And in response to his critics, some of whom argue that he is not ready for international football, Anderson said he is inspired by his detractors.
"Critics are the ones that build you and break you... it doesn't matter what people say as some will always say bad and others will say good, but everything is left to me, as I am the one who is going to go out there on a match day to still fight," he noted.
For his game-saving goal, as well as for his personality, Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson is the Jamaica Observer's Star Player of the game.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2egK43wVC