Luis Suarez in new cheat storm

Paul was wearing his Liverpool glasses when he watched that game. I watched in it's entirety on Saturday morning and I must say Suarez made the most of both situations.

The penalty, did the defender boots touch him? Possibly, but not to cause both of Suarez's legs to be taken from under him causing him to be flung in the air in the manner in which he went down.

The second incident causing the red card, if Paul bought that the I have a fifty gallon trash bag of air to sell him. I'm not saying the defender did not touch Suarez with his thigh on the rear of Suarez's thigh, but it was not anything to cause him to go down writhing and behaving as he did. Even 5 minutes after Suarez is walking with a limp as if he got seriously hurt. I thought the behavior was disgusting to say the least.
    Tilla - in the first incident he was CLEARLY stepped on - there is ZERO argument about that. Whether he was animated or over animated is subjective, you can see that is you may, but to say he wasn't stepped on and deserving of a penalty is counter factual. By the way - you only have to look at the defenders actions - very little protest by the player who made the foul.

The second incident he was CLEARLY kneed in the hip. Ask anyone to stand behind you and put a knee in your hip bone and tell me you won't fall on the ground. Again, whether he over animated or not is irrelevant as that is impossible for you to determine unless you are wired into Suarez's neocortex. What is relevant is that the defender kneed him in the hip - PERIOD! Hence the infraction. As I said, it was to me a yellow, but the ref's decision to give a red has nothing to do with whether the player got kneed in his hip or not.

Y'all need to put your haytrid for Suarez aside and look at facts, it has become ridiculous that everything the guy does is viewed as cheating. I am certainly not defending the times he has cheated - e.g. the dive against stoke, the bite on ibrahimovic, but these latest two are just plain out and out bias. Ghana lost - get over it.

Paul, so someone step on you and it takes both your feet off the ground and hurl you into the air like Suarez did. I'm not buying that. The issue was not the stepping on Suarez's foot that caused the problem with me. It is the subsequent dive to get the referee's attention that I have problem with.

The second incident where the guy ran behind him and his knee hit him at the back of his thigh. Not sure how you see hitting in the hip desso. After the incident, Suarez was not holding his hip, but his rear. That though is similar to the sending off of John Terry in Champions League semi, where terry ran Upp behind the guy and basically ran into his back. The guy want down like he was fighting for dear life. The reff quickly dismissed Terry. There was no need for that type of play and there was no need for Suarez to over act like he did. He is a good player, he needs to grow a pair and stop acting like a spoilt child on the field.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Paul, so someone step on you and it takes both your feet off the ground and hurl you into the air like Suarez did. I'm not buying that. The issue was not the stepping on Suarez's foot that caused the problem with me. It is the subsequent dive to get the referee's attention that I have problem with.

The second incident where the guy ran behind him and his knee hit him at the back of his thigh. Not sure how you see hitting in the hip desso. After the incident, Suarez was not holding his hip, but his rear. That though is similar to the sending off of John Terry in Champions League semi, where terry ran Upp behind the guy and basically ran into his back. The guy want down like he was fighting for dear life. The reff quickly dismissed Terry. There was no need for that type of play and there was no need for Suarez to over act like he did. He is a good player, he needs to grow a pair and stop acting like a spoilt child on the field.
        Two questions (simple yes or no answers will do):

1. was the first incident a penalty or not?
        2. was the second incident a foul or not?

Tilla - in the first incident he was CLEARLY stepped on - there is ZERO argument about that. Whether he was animated or over animated is subjective, you can see that is you may, but to say he wasn't stepped on and deserving of a penalty is counter factual. By the way - you only have to look at the defenders actions - very little protest by the player who made the foul.

The second incident he was CLEARLY kneed in the hip. Ask anyone to stand behind you and put a knee in your hip bone and tell me you won't fall on the ground. Again, whether he over animated or not is irrelevant as that is impossible for you to determine unless you are wired into Suarez's neocortex. What is relevant is that the defender kneed him in the hip - PERIOD! Hence the infraction. As I said, it was to me a yellow, but the ref's decision to give a red has nothing to do with whether the player got kneed in his hip or not.

Y'all need to put your haytrid for Suarez aside and look at facts, it has become ridiculous that everything the guy does is viewed as cheating. I am certainly not defending the times he has cheated - e.g. the dive against stoke, the bite on ibrahimovic, but these latest two are just plain out and out bias. Ghana lost - get over it.
          Funny thing is refs are trained to not react to level of players antics after contact is made....save only as it relates to injury.

The ref is trained to react to perception as to whether or not 'The Law' was violated. Matters not if the player falls dramatically or 'took it like a man'.

Interestingly, refs are aware that when players are seriously hurt most often (not in every instance) when the player goes down he/she 'does not move' (or does not move limb or body part where contact was made).

99.999999+% of the time a player goes down and rolls around he/she has no injury...or is feeling any appreciable pain. That rolling around is all about acting. Faked action.
          Last edited by Karl; September 10, 2013, 01:18 PM.

Funny thing is refs are trained to not react to level of players antics after contact is made....save only as it relates to injury.

The ref is trained to react to perception as to whether or not 'The Law' was violated. Matters not if the player falls dramatically or 'took it like a man'.

Interestingly, refs are aware that when players are seriously hurt most often (not in every instance) when the player goes down he/she 'does not move' (or does not move limb or body part where contact was made).

99.999999+% of the time a player goes down and rolls around he/she has no injury...or is feeling any appreciable pain. That rolling around is all about acting. Faked action.
            Karl - you are underscoring my point. The issue of his antics are irrelevant to whether a foul was committed or not. That's the point I am trying to make. In both cases - antics aside - the man was fouled. Plain and simple. Do I like the antics? No. But it doesn't mean it negates the fact that he was fouled.

Simple yes or no answers will not work here Paul. The referee reacted to Suarez's dramatics, not the stepping on a foot. I would say no to the dramatics and maybe to the stepping on the foot. From where I sit, the defender could have stepped on his foot, but he did not foul Suarez intentionally.

2nd incident is a foul of course. It was not a cardable offense though or worth a red.

The referee influenced the game with both decisions.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

yes or no ...

Penalty and red card offence?

Simple yes or no answers will not work here Paul. The referee reacted to Suarez's dramatics, not the stepping on a foot. I would say no to the dramatics and maybe to the stepping on the foot. From where I sit, the defender could have stepped on his foot, but he did not foul Suarez intentionally.

2nd incident is a foul of course. It was not a cardable offense though or worth a red.

Tilla - don't be ridiculous. How do you know that the ref reacted to Suarez's dramatics? You wired into both Suarez AND the ref's neocortex now? LOL!! Bredrin, if you stick to the facts, you will see that he was fouled in both cases - drama or no drama. Had he not been fouled in either case, you may have had an argument, but he wasn't, so you don't.

yes or no ...

Penalty and red card offence?
                    Yes to penalty - no to red card offence, but fouls in both cases.

If you want to see an infraction of FAR GREATER cheating dimension than anything you all have cried out against, this is the one you should be vexed about...now Besler misses the game against Mexico. Now this is shameful.
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uk-6lGY92NA

why yuh think he got the red card?

Agreed, boss.

why yuh think he got the red card?
                            Because the ref sey so...*probably* because the Peruvian *deliberately* kick the youth in him hip which could be taken by the ref as being flagrant.

Can't they appeal this? Utterly ridiculous. That guy, Campbell? should get a season long ban... he could then try out for some Hollywood roles... this is shameful and he is shameless. Suarez looks like a choir boy compared to this animal!

You are being a disingenuous and a HYPERCRITE!