Impotent, lethargic, ambitionless!

Not the same...or as you say, "same difference".
    ...just not the same.

Just consider that at the two extremes with the excellent program Stoni requests we put in...you can on one hand have best team and no local player and on the other you can have best team with no foreign based player.

Why would one even consider a situation of putting less than our best team on the field of play...even creating a policy to ensure that at sometime that must occur? A policy to ensure such a 'handcuffing' of our nation appears faulty to me. ...and yes, I am biased towards 'best for our football representatives and Jamaica'.

btw - Do you realize that instituting policy of allowing for less than best team and thus less than best performances could limit marketing opportunities for individual player, team, Jamaica's football and country as the difference in value on exposure in the world's market-place as team advances in world tournaments and on building demand for nations to request our teams for friendly performances measure in ten of millions...even billions of dollars? ... not advancing equals opportunities at reaping such value lost?

Consider we are still reaping world awareness as a result of the 1998 World Cup appearance? ...consider opportunities lost as a result of our non-appearance at tournaments - CONFED Gold Cups, CONFEDERATION CUPs and World Cups and the junior tournaments and the Women tournaments?

Consider the marketing boon, for example, a Brazil gets for its players, coaches and country?

Again, why would you wish to institute a policy that would hinder progress to even a smidgen of value that could accrue to our country?

Simply put... the best team can ONLY be formed from playing together over an extended period... since we have neither a settled playing style nor exceptional players.

Since ONLY local players are available for extended periods.
      ... then..
      Ergo...

Simply put... the best team can ONLY be formed from playing together over an extended period... since we have neither a settled playing style nor exceptional players.

Since ONLY local players are available for extended periods.
        ... then..
        Ergo...
        If as you say only local players are available for extended periods then
        A-OK.

Certainly agree about the age-group teams (teams at levels below the national senior teams). ...and have called for that over and over and over and...ad infinitum.

...but at the national senior team level?
        No!

The local senior based players have their own club "issues" to overcome. Quality of coaching (the samfie about poor fields being the cause of our failure to produce quality players is...well...samfie crap!) and club organization on provision of needed quality games. ...so again certainly agree that the local senior players, like the age-group players are together for the extended time requested. However, even being together for extended periods have us getting that which we have - poor players and teams.

The national senior teams' players need their time together but they need no more time together than say *Brazil's or England's players or Belgium's or Croatia's or Japan's or USA's. Our problem is leadership or rather lack of leadership provided by our JFF

*Use these teams because of our attraction to Brazil's team, England's EPL, recent discussion on Belgium's approach to development, Japan and Croatia our 1998 opponents and our then distance apart in terms of quality of play of our national teams and the present reality...and the USA as top dog in our CONCACAF Confederation.

Just a reminder of thoughts as allowed by 'short' article: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=45

If as you say only local players are available for extended periods then
          A-OK.

Certainly agree about the age-group teams (teams at levels below the national senior teams). ...and have called for that over and over and over and...ad infinitum.

...but at the national senior team level?
          No!

The local senior based players have their own club "issues" to overcome. Quality of coaching (the samfie about poor fields being the cause of our failure to produce quality players is...well...samfie crap!) and club organization on provision of needed quality games. ...so again certainly agree that the local senior players, like the age-group players are together for the extended time requested. However, even being together for extended periods have us getting that which we have - poor players and teams.

The national senior teams' players need their time together but they need no more time together than say *Brazil's or England's players or Belgium's or Croatia's or Japan's or USA's. Our problem is leadership or rather lack of leadership provided by our JFF

*Use these teams because of our attraction to Brazil's team, England's EPL, recent discussion on Belgium's approach to development, Japan and Croatia our 1998 opponents and our then distance apart in terms of quality of play of our national teams and the present reality...and the USA as top dog in our CONCACAF Confederation.

Just a reminder of thoughts as allowed by 'short' article: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=45
          Karl... our players do not learn the basics of team play at 8-18 years.... so even if they were to play together consistently against worthy opposition (WHICH THEY CURRENTLY DO NOT!!!) the results would not be the best.

So every facet of the program must be integrated

A. Proper youth development 8-18
          B. Coach development
          C. Age group teams playing together using the SAME playing style against quality opposition
          D. Structured progress of players from through age group teams to the RBZ
          E. RBZ playing together consistently against quality opposition using a consistent playing philosophy.

Practice makes perfect... and also makes the best team

Not necessarily the "best players" make the best team.

Wake mi when Jamaica realizes that reality

He will be gone...no more money for senior football until 2016 and more than likely less money available to the JFF than 2012 if the present leadership stays in place. Once this coach finds out what's in store for him he choose another path that is wide open for him than stay in Jamaica. Hope NY is going well for you. Just got back from Antigua and should be returning with a new contract in place with thte ABFA soon. More later. cheers. C

Don, I am being a realist here, This is how Jff always does it, am I now expecting a change in strategy. No! I am not and since I am not part of the Jff board or have any kind of influence then it is back to looking at the next cup. Short term vision rules with the Jff, what you cant see immediately really does not exist. 8-)

Good thing is that we have some nice talent out there, nice young players popping up all over some nice new yardiez, that is where we stand.

ok boss

Yuh pan pint!

...except exactly what is meant by "that SAME playing style"? ...and my wondering on that is not your fault as I have been wondering for years on exactly what is meant by "playing the SAME style" each time a different person uses that phrase???

..so many teams for example use a back 4 and all play it - perform differently? They certainly in my sight do not use the same playing style...
                  Last edited by Karl; September 9, 2013, 12:07 AM.

Yuh pan pint!

...except exactly what is meant by "that SAME playing style"? ...and my wondering on that is not your fault as I have been wondering for years on exactly what is meant by "playing the SAME style" each time a different person uses that phrase???

..so many teams for example use a back 4 and all play it - perform differently? They certainly in my sight do not use the same playing style...
                    Does Brazil have a Brazilian ball philosophy or Germany a German style??

Jamaica has to develop a Jamaican ball philosophy or style suited to our natural attributes and inclinations... our speed & flair combined with the best formations to utilize that. Of course this must be flexible enough to accommodate changes based on the game situation.

That way when we have 12-18 y.o. kids playing that style consistently...we have organic team cohesion right thru to the RBZ ..aka... a virtuous & self affirming circle

It's past time that we know what we're about instead of flipflopping based on the whims of whatever coach is in charge at the moment...
                    Last edited by Don1; September 9, 2013, 03:46 PM.

[quote=Don1;444181]Does Brazil have a Brazilian ball philosophy or Germany a German style??

Jamaica has to develop a Jamaican ball philosophy or style suited to our natural attributes and inclinations... our speed & flair combined with the best formations to utilize that. Of course this must be flexible enough to accommodate changes based on the game situation.

That way when we have 12-18 y.o. kids playing that style consistently...we have organic team cohesion right thru to the RBZ ..aka... a virtuous & self affirming circle

It's past time that we know what we're about instead of flipflopping based on the whims of whatever coach is in charge at the moment...
                      Brazil is noted for flair.
                      ...but is that more about the past and present perception? Is Brazil much more than flair? Is it about playing the 'modern game' - lots moving and passing/passing and movement more than any other thing?

Saw them put a whipping on Australia on BeIN last night...flair? There is always flair when someone is bruked...or a ball is flicked...but that ass-whipping was all about sensible football.

Germany is known for organization and strength.
                      ...but is it only about organization and strength? ...isn't Brazil as organized and strong?

...one thing you shall see from the Germans every time they step on the field is, sensible football...lots of passing and movement/movement and passing.
                      They are as efficient as Brazil!

Is there inherent bias - the Brazilians are samba men...the Germans are ice-cold stoic statue-like men? One set of players paler than the other?

Well...I wish my Jamaica TEAM to be as efficient as Brazil and German...as strong as either...as fast as either...score as often as either..pass and move/move and pass as either...just for starts!!!!

Later I wish my Jamaica team to be more efficient than both, stronger than both, faster than both... better at movement and passing/passing and movement than both...in short just better than each whenever met on the field of play!!!

This latter...better than both...would be the Jamaica way!!!
                      I just do not buy into that old oft repeated instruction that our way must be anything other than/different than any other team...save that we must be uniquely "the best"!

[QUOTE=Karl;444193]
                        Does Brazil have a Brazilian ball philosophy or Germany a German style??

Brazil is noted for flair.
                        ...but is that more about the past and present perception? Is Brazil much more than flair? Is it about playing the 'modern game' - lots moving and passing/passing and movement more than any other thing?

Saw them put a whipping on Australia on BeIN last night...flair? There is always flair when someone is bruked...or a ball is flicked...but that ass-whipping was all about sensible football.

Germany is known for organization and strength.
                        ...but is it only about organization and strength? ...isn't Brazil as organized and strong?

...one thing you shall see from the Germans every time they step on the field is, sensible football...lots of passing and movement/movement and passing.
                        They are as efficient as Brazil!

Is there inherent bias - the Brazilians are samba men...the Germans are ice-cold stoic statue-like men? One set of players paler than the other?

Well...I wish my Jamaica TEAM to be as efficient as Brazil and German...as strong as either...as fast as either...score as often as either..pass and move/move and pass as either...just for starts!!!!

Later I wish my Jamaica team to be more efficient than both, stronger than both, faster than both... better at movement and passing/passing and movement than both...in short just better than each whenever met on the field of play!!!

This latter...better than both...would be the Jamaica way!!!
                        I just do not buy into that old oft repeated instruction that our way must be anything other than/different than any other team...save that we must be uniquely "the best"!
                        Karl you have pretty descriptors here...but not a system

Jamaica needs a system imho

Oh yes!