A Belgian Blueprint:

• A Belgian Blueprint:

The story of how one man, armed with a brochure and tactical nous, changed a nation from championship no-hopers to global superstars

By Stephen Mcgowan
    PUBLISHED: 18:37 EST, 4 September 2013 | UPDATED: 18:37 EST, 4 September 2013 749 shares
    View
    comments

No one can say for certain when the tipping point was reached. When Belgian football looked deep into its soul and discovered an empty hollow.

Some say the European Championship of 2000 was the watershed. Co-hosts of the tournament with Holland, Belgian aspirations were high.

They would go on to reach a sixth successive World Cup in 2002, they were a nation to be reckoned with.

Shock: Belgium were humiliated when they were knocked out of the group stages of their own tournament

Change: The days of Enzo Scifo (right, with England's Paul Gascoigne) were over

Different style: And although there was some encouragement when reaching the World Cup in 2002, one man knew something had to be done...

Game changer: Michel Sablon had a simple, but effective, idea to inspire a footballing nation

But the days of Enzo Scifo and Franky Vercauteren had gone. When Turkey pipped the co-hosts as qualifiers from their first-round group at Euro 2000, there was humiliation. But no real surprise.

Their best young players were heading elsewhere. To France and the Netherlands. The Jupiler pro league was no longer seen as a place for young players to blossom and grow.

At the glass-fronted offices of the Belgian Football Association on the outskirts of Brussels, the technical director, Michel Sablon, saw football moving on and Belgium failing to move with it.

‘Our professional clubs were failing,’ he tells Sportsmail. ‘And the level of football from the national teams was not good enough.

‘We could not compete with the major countries like Spain and France.

‘So, in 2002 we started to look closely at France and had meetings with them twice a year. We did the same with Holland. Sometimes we met with Germany as well and tried to improve what we were doing.

‘At that time we were nowhere. Our Under-17 and Under-19 teams were ranked between 23 and 28 in the world. We really were nowhere. Now? We are top 10.’

It was hardly an overnight journey.

Time: Slowly but surely, players started to be produced, some in Belgium, like Vincent Kompany (left, with Celtic's John Hartson

Technique: While Eden Hazard plied his trade in France with Lille

A FRIGHTENING SQUAD...

Belgium squad for World Cup qualifers:
    Goalkeepers: Koen Casteels (Hoffenheim), Thibaut Courtois (Atletico Madrid), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Atletico Madrid), Laurent Ciman (Standard Liege), Guillaume Gillet (Anderlecht), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St. Petersburg), Sebastien Pocognoli (Hanover 96), Daniel van Buyten (Bayern Munich), Jelle van Damme (Standard Liege), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Nacer Chadli (Tottenham Hotspur), Steven Defour (Porto), Moussa Dembele (Tottenham Hotspur), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Timmy Simons (Club Bruges), Axel Witsel (Zenit St. Petersburg)

Forwards: Zakaria Bakkali (PSV Eindhoven), Christian Benteke (Aston Villa), Kevin de Bruyne, Eden Hazard, Romelu Lukaku (all Chelsea), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Kevin Mirallas (Everton).

Sablon, a member of the Belgian coaching team at the World Cup finals in Mexico, Italy and the United States, sat down with a blank notepad. What he wrote down was hardly reinventing the wheel.

But the blueprint produced was enough to create stirrings of unrest and dissent amongst clubs for years to come. Relationships built up over many years in the Belgian game were tested.

‘We made a brochure,’ Sablon recalls. It was more of a book, in fact.

‘We had a whole group of people around a table in the technical department and we decided to make a plan for three target groups.

‘First of all was the clubs, secondly the national team and third the coaches of the schools.

‘So we adopted the same vision for all three groups. We went to the clubs and asked them to play a certain way below Under-18 levels.

‘We asked them to play 4-3-3 with wingers and three midfielders and a flat back four. In the old days, it was always a flat back three, so this was brand new to them.

‘It took more than five or six years before everyone could bring themselves to accept it. Because for most of the coaches and the clubs, all they cared about was winning the game. Nothing else.

‘But that was absolutely wrong for the development of all the players. Totally wrong.

‘It wasn’t easy. In the beginning it was terrible. But eventually they began to see it. They went with us because they saw that what we told them worked. It made players better.

‘I knew the coaches over many years. I convinced them that we were serious people.

‘That this was no b*******. We knew what we were doing.’

Destined for glory? Belgium now have a team of stars, many of whom play in the Premier League

Even so, telling Anderlecht and Standard Liege how they should raise their young players and what formation they should play was a thorny, complex issue. Calling in university boffins, Sablon asked the academics to film 1,500 youth games and analyse them.

The conclusion? That winning at all costs was over-rated. In response, the Belgian FA urged five against five games at youth levels, seven against seven for older kids and a delayed introduction to full-size pitches.

At youth international level, promising young players were moved up to the next level as quickly as possible, even when it meant weakening the chances of qualification for European championships.

Yet, in 2007, a youth team featuring Eden Hazard and Christian Benteke made the last four of the European Under-17 championships for the first time in Belgium’s history. The next year, a slightly older group featuring Marouane Fellaini and Vincent Kompany had a good Olympics.

PL stars: Tottenham pair Moussa Dembele (left) and Nacer Chadli (right) are mainstays in the Belgium team

Squad: Marouane Fellaini (left), now of Manchester United, while Thomas Vermaelen (right) plays for Arsenal

Solid: Kompany (left) captains the side, and is helped at the back by Jan Vertonghen (right)

‘It was working,’ adds Sablon. ‘Players like Fellaini, Hazard, (Jan) Vertonghen and (Thomas) Vermaelen were good at 17 or 18.

‘But I have no doubt. What we did with our development system made them better. It made them the players they are now.

‘The clubs looked at the FIFA rankings and saw us moving up. Finally they said: “This works”.’

Unsurprisingly, Sablon’s blueprint has been adopted wholesale by SFA performance director Mark Wotte.

The Dutchman offers no apology for looking at a golden generation of Belgian players containing Kompany, Hazard, Fellaini, Benteke, Vertonghen, Moussa Dembele, Nacer Chadli, Vermaelen and Romelu Lukaku and saying: “This is the way to go”.’

Mark McGhee, Gordon Strachan’s assistant, believes it’s less simple than that. The Belgians have a population of 11 million. They have also benefited from a huge wave of multicultural immigration.

Way to go: Mark Wotte, formerly manager of Southampton, is now using this Belgian bluebrint on Scotland

Tough job: Gordon Strachan (left) helped by Mark McGhee (right) have the job of bringing youngsters through

In Brussels, Europe’s business and political heartland, footballers of African descent were born. Benteke and Kompany are of Congolese parentage, while Fellaini’s background is Moroccan. Yet almost all of the team are born in Belgium.

Sixteen now play for the biggest clubs in the English Premiership. Kompany is Manchester City captain, Fellaini has completed a £27million move to Manchester United, while big-spending Spurs have Vertonghen, Chadli and Dembele in their ranks.

To try to ape this, the SFA have invested £20m in seven performance schools and indoor training centres. Yet the bricks and mortar is the easy part.

Beat this: Alex Witsel is chased by Jamie Mackie of Scotland

Hope? James McArthur (left) and Robert Snodgrass (right) are two of Scotland's most influential players

Sablon tried to change the psychology of a nation. To change the entire footballing culture from a win-at-all-costs mentality.

‘Scotland is in the shadow of England. But you know what? That makes England a target.

‘We compare ourselves in Belgium to the best in the world now. That started with Spain and France.

‘We are not the best in the world — but we are working hard to be there.

‘We didn’t want to be condemned to the role of also-rans any longer. But we didn’t sit around feeling sorry for ourselves.

‘We did what Scotland is trying to do — we went out and we did something about it.’
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Funny how the man list the squad and not have Vincent Kompany in the lineup among defenders. Hell, I think Kompany is even their captain!
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

good read.... the federation can take a look at this.

OJ. Is there anywhere to watch the game later in the T.O.

Funny how the man list the squad and not have Vincent Kompany in the lineup among defenders. Hell, I think Kompany is even their captain!
          He is injured so he isn't in the squad.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
            OJ. Is there anywhere to watch the game later in the T.O.
            http://espn3.com

Thanks bredrin.

here is the deal. Normally i watch at http://scallywags.ca/ they dont have it listed however they can get it but they are showing the usa costa rica game on one feed and Chile uraguay on the other. So if no one is watching either of these they can show the Jamaica game. You can call them..

espn 3 shows in toronto?

I advocated this route awhile back , the JFF needs to have a meeting with the football diaspora to chart the way forward, coaches , players and clubs, it cant be the same B.S every 4 years.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Thanks again.

I seem to remember telling Bricktop, Gamma...

and some others...as fact, I tried to drag them kicking and screaming to believe and absorb the fact that no country in the world can ignore the great talent pool of school kids?

...I seen to remember being asked...repeatedly to name the countries which worked with schools and school-kids. ...and I also seem to remember I responded ALL COUNTRIES?

...or perhaps, Bricktop, Gamma and others did not resist such a fact by pulling a bawling and kicking and screaming as they dug in their heels as it maybe my Shady Pines resident brain telling me they did?

for the umpteenth time, schools are not academies nor can they perform that funstion! you are acting as if it was being said football should be removed as an extra-curricular activity ...

beispiel
                          Thomas Vermaelen (Dutch pronunciation: [ˈtoː.mɑs vər.ˈmaː.lə(n)]; born 14 November 1985) is a Belgian footballer who captains Arsenal and is vice-captain of the Belgian national team.
                          Vermaelen joined the AFC Ajax youth academy in 2000 (he was 14/15) and won the 2003–04 Eredivisie title in his first season with the club. He had a loan spell with RKC Waalwijk before rejoining Ajax and winning the KNVB Cup and Johan Cruijff Shield. After Klaas-Jan Huntelaar's departure in 2009, he served as club captain for the remainder of the season. He joined Arsenal in 2009 and was included in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year for that season. Following Robin van Persie's transfer to Manchester United in August 2012, he was named club captain.

for the umpteenth time, schools are not academies nor can they perform that funstion! you are acting as if it was being said football should be removed as an extra-curricular activity ...

beispiel
                            Thomas Vermaelen (Dutch pronunciation: [ˈtoː.mɑs vər.ˈmaː.lə(n)]; born 14 November 1985) is a Belgian footballer who captains Arsenal and is vice-captain of the Belgian national team.
                            Vermaelen joined the AFC Ajax youth academy in 2000 (he was 14/15) and won the 2003–04 Eredivisie title in his first season with the club. He had a loan spell with RKC Waalwijk before rejoining Ajax and winning the KNVB Cup and Johan Cruijff Shield. After Klaas-Jan Huntelaar's departure in 2009, he served as club captain for the remainder of the season. He joined Arsenal in 2009 and was included in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year for that season. Following Robin van Persie's transfer to Manchester United in August 2012, he was named club captain.
                            ...and for the umpteen time...all schools are academies - matters not the discipline.

The nonsense that is being foisted on...rather being attempted to be foisted on Jamaica is that football academies are anything more than a facilitator at particular stage of the development of the young footballer and not where the young footballer will be go through the development process from alpha to omega!

The purpose of the school/academy in the role of development is not to be confused with the quality learning environment or the delivery of teaching done there.

Surely it is not too difficult to discern that quality of graduates leaving different Jamaica education institutions 'tells' something about each school's learning environment and delivery of teaching qualities?

The point is all our schools where football is being taught should strive to present excellent learning environment and top quality teaching.

The nonsense being pushed that schools offering football should be offering substandard teaching in football must be seen for what it is, nonsense!

It is nonsense to suggest only those entities named 'football academies' should have top quality environment for learning the game and top quality teacher's of the game.

*Good for Thomas Vermaelen that he went a particular route after he was 14/15...but we are making decisions on the future of Jamaica's kids and they do not start along the "development road" at 14/15. ...and I dare say neither did Thomas Vermaelen.

Not to mention the absolutely silly suggestion that we ignore the vast majority of our talent pool and subject them to mediocre or worst teaching as we pander only to establishing one or two 'so-called football academies'. Such a suggestion ranks right along with stupidest of suggestions.

Well we are right back where we started. What possible advantage could vermaen have had joining an academy? He should have stayed in school.

If the more developed powers do not have that confidence in the their school system then......How can we develop an extra curricular activity to a competitive level? Many schools are challenged with finding desks for christake!