Much better than way back then!!!
    Bears watching or you will miss history being made.

Generally speaking - the MLS?
    ...all those who back in the days claimed the MLS was...and would be destined to remain "Bush League"...and the USA would never be a world football power, what do you say now? Change of heart?

M
    Is the M at the end of your post a typo...?

As you would say: "just asking".

Thanks

Originally posted by Twan View Post
      Powell positional play is awful !! needs nuff work.
      That can be learned. Overall I thought he had a solid outing. The kid has great potential.

MLS ranked 7th best soccer league in the world...

MLS ranked 7th best soccer league in the world by Sporting Intelligence

By Ryan Carreon, Deseret News
        Published: Tuesday, April 23 2013 3:05 p.m. MDT

Real Salt Lake midfielder Sebastian Velasquez (26) competes with Seattle Sounders FC midfielder Steve Zakuani (11) during MLS action in Sandy Saturday, March 30, 2013.

Summary

Major League Soccer is the seventh best soccer league in the world according to Sporting Intelligence.

Major League Soccer is the seventh best soccer league in the world, according to Sporting Intelligence.

The survey of world leagues takes into account attendance, finances, goals, competitiveness, caliber of players and managers, stadiums and success in continental competitions, according to ProSoccer Talk.

The German Bundesliga is the top league in the world followed closely by the English Premier League, according to the rankings. Spain, Italy, Brazil, Mexico, MLS, Holland and France round out the top 10.

According to tweets by Sporting Intelligence, the English Premier League was severely docked for quality of stadiums, and while MLS has built many new soccer specific stadiums, Sporting Intelligence noted that MLS scored well in competitiveness and other areas.

One of the reasons the MLS has vaulted up the rankings may be parity of play. Many of the world's top leagues are dominated by a small group of elite teams. Manchester United recently won its 20th league title, and fifth in seven years. Bayern Munich has won five of the last 10 Bundesliga titles, and nine of the last 10 La Liga titles have been won by either Real Madrid or Barcelona.
        In contrast, five different teams have won the MLS Supporters' Shield for best record, and seven different teams have hoisted the MLS Cup in the last decade.

In 2012, the MLS ranked eighth in total attendance for soccer leagues across the world, and had a higher average attendance than the NHL and NBA. In 2012, the MLS set records for total attendance with Seattle Sounders FC leading the way for the fourth year in a row with an average attendance of 43,144.

Despite the increasing attendance figures, MLS lags far behind other league in player salaries. The lack of a major television deal has kept average salaries relatively low. MLS teams have a salary cap of $2.95 million with non designated players making as little as $35,125. The lack of salary money has made it hard for MLS clubs to attract top-tier talent in their prime.

New York Red Bulls striker Thierry Henry has openly stated his displeasure with the MLS salary cap structure.

“If you’re in any other league in the world, you keep your good players. Not in this league,” said Henry in an interview with MLSSoccer.com. "It is an American way of dealing with things, salary cap, draft, trade. In Europe, we don’t do that. In Europe, if you perform for your team, you’re sure of staying. But here it’s different and if you want to be compared to some of the big leagues in Europe, something has to be changed. I don’t know what, but something has to be changed.”

Ryan Carreon is a web editor for DeseretNews.com. E-mail him at rcarreon@desnews.com

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/8...ce.html?pg=all

Originally posted by Me View Post
          Many of the top teams definitely are not mechanical. RSL, Galaxy, KC, Portland all play with an attractive short pass and move style of football.
          Mi nuh find dem attractive puppa

Is the M at the end of your post a typo...?

As you would say: "just asking".

Thanks
            Typo...I shall remove it.

I still can't watch it...and US is not a world football power
              Please name the world football powers?
              ...and if you may, you could list the criteria used make your pick or picks?

MLS ranked 7th best soccer league in the world by Sporting Intelligence

By Ryan Carreon, Deseret News
                Published: Tuesday, April 23 2013 3:05 p.m. MDT

Real Salt Lake midfielder Sebastian Velasquez (26) competes with Seattle Sounders FC midfielder Steve Zakuani (11) during MLS action in Sandy Saturday, March 30, 2013.

Summary

Major League Soccer is the seventh best soccer league in the world according to Sporting Intelligence.

Major League Soccer is the seventh best soccer league in the world, according to Sporting Intelligence.

The survey of world leagues takes into account attendance, finances, goals, competitiveness, caliber of players and managers, stadiums and success in continental competitions, according to ProSoccer Talk.

The German Bundesliga is the top league in the world followed closely by the English Premier League, according to the rankings. Spain, Italy, Brazil, Mexico, MLS, Holland and France round out the top 10.

According to tweets by Sporting Intelligence, the English Premier League was severely docked for quality of stadiums, and while MLS has built many new soccer specific stadiums, Sporting Intelligence noted that MLS scored well in competitiveness and other areas.

One of the reasons the MLS has vaulted up the rankings may be parity of play. Many of the world's top leagues are dominated by a small group of elite teams. Manchester United recently won its 20th league title, and fifth in seven years. Bayern Munich has won five of the last 10 Bundesliga titles, and nine of the last 10 La Liga titles have been won by either Real Madrid or Barcelona.
                In contrast, five different teams have won the MLS Supporters' Shield for best record, and seven different teams have hoisted the MLS Cup in the last decade.

In 2012, the MLS ranked eighth in total attendance for soccer leagues across the world, and had a higher average attendance than the NHL and NBA. In 2012, the MLS set records for total attendance with Seattle Sounders FC leading the way for the fourth year in a row with an average attendance of 43,144.

Despite the increasing attendance figures, MLS lags far behind other league in player salaries. The lack of a major television deal has kept average salaries relatively low. MLS teams have a salary cap of $2.95 million with non designated players making as little as $35,125. The lack of salary money has made it hard for MLS clubs to attract top-tier talent in their prime.

New York Red Bulls striker Thierry Henry has openly stated his displeasure with the MLS salary cap structure.

“If you’re in any other league in the world, you keep your good players. Not in this league,” said Henry in an interview with MLSSoccer.com. "It is an American way of dealing with things, salary cap, draft, trade. In Europe, we don’t do that. In Europe, if you perform for your team, you’re sure of staying. But here it’s different and if you want to be compared to some of the big leagues in Europe, something has to be changed. I don’t know what, but something has to be changed.”

Ryan Carreon is a web editor for DeseretNews.com. E-mail him at rcarreon@desnews.com

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/8...ce.html?pg=all
                After the 25 years of sustained effort in "soccer" development, tens of billions in spending on the game and 15 million or so active players in organized "soccer".... I'd say the net result is decidedly underwhelming

Keep up the good work though.... in anedda 25 years US "soccer" with additional billions expended may just be world class... or not

...I think during the next 10 years progression towards top of the world will be rapid...after that it becomes increasingly harder to make huge jumps forward.

Hey...look at JA with a well managed JFF we could jump to top 30 in relatively...a flash (5 years, I would think? Remember Talent Abounds???!!!)!!!

Typo...I shall remove it.
                    I thought the M was for Mosiah.

At least that is how i will start referring to him (depending on the situation)

Will U be agent 007???

...I think during the next 10 years progression towards top of the world will be rapid...after that it becomes increasingly harder to make huge jumps forward.

Hey...look at JA with a well managed JFF we could jump to top 30 in relatively...a flash (5 years, I would think? Remember Talent Abounds???!!!)!!!
                        Yes I think with a solid development program in 10 years JA could be a fixture in the Top 30... no doubt.

Our competitive advantage over the USA is that as a NATION we have football in our hearts. We will play just for the fun of it.

Most Americans will only play in some organized league or structured practice. The players are over-coached but under-inspired. Consequently the players can make effective teams but generally no great players.

Football is not a national game in the USA...it is mostly a suburban pastime to give an outlet for bored children and busybody housewives aka "soccer moms"... a healthy alternative to videogaming for kids

If somehow the USA develops a passion for the game they would in short order be a world power... there is no shortage of money, infrastructure or human resources to make that happen. There is, unfortunately, a shortage of passion

gwaan live inna your castle. Soccer has change drastically in the US.

Yes I think with a solid development program in 10 years JA could be a fixture in the Top 30... no doubt.
                            The Top 30 in CONCACAF, no doubt.

JA in 5 years!!!

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                              The Top 30 in CONCACAF, no doubt.
                              Frankly as things stand...mainly the USA's insistence of overlooking her best talents...JA with good leadership could harvest and harness its talent and be top CONCACAF team in 5 years.
                              There, I said it!
                              Last edited by Karl; August 29, 2013, 01:34 AM.

Damn dude!!! No respect for the ReggaeBoyz???
                                Remember they were once ranked 36, in the world.