• Pool is broke, cant compete with Spurs for top 4

Financial reasons behind Liverpool missing out on Willian, says Rodgers

22 Aug 2013 22:45Anfield manager has warned the club must start spending big to avoid being cast adrift in the race for Champions League qualification

Share on printShare on email

da Silva Willian, Shakhtar Donetsk

Liverpool FC manager Brendan Rodgers has revealed financial rather than football reasons were behind Liverpool missing out on the signing of Willian.
    And the Anfield manager has warned the club must start spending big to avoid being cast adrift in the race for Champions League qualification .
    Only last week, Liverpool were considered in pole position for the Brazilian wingerhaving opened negotiations with the Russian outfit over a fee.
    An agreement, though, could not be reached, with Chelsea now poised to gazump Tottenham Hotspur for the player’s signature.

View gallery

• "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "

Liverpool FC in training before Aston Villa game. Pictures: Getty Images
    View gallery

And Rodgers has given a glimpse of his frustration at missing out on another target with Liverpool having previously failed to lure Henrikh Mkhitaryan from
    Shakhtar Donestsk or Diego Costa from Atletico Madrid.
    Asked if it was for a purely football reason Willian is heading elsewhere, Rodgers said yesterday: “No, it wasn’t a football one and I don’t really want to go into it… that’s for us as a club really.
    “The bottom line is he hasn’t come here for whatever reason and we move on.
    “We identify the targets and then try and get the deal done financially. That’s how it was. The club has pushed financially as hard as they felt they could but it wasn’t to be.
    “It’s disappointing because this was a player who would have been perfect for us.”
    Rodgers added: “The biggest thing you need as a Liverpool manager is perseverance.
    “We expect to be the best we possibly be, but that means getting the best players. It’s not just any player, but the right player. Where they can, the owners will finance that.
    “Who makes the call ‘we’re out’? That’s obviously beyond me. It’s the owners’ money and they will always have the final say because it’s they who run the club.
    “I can push and do everything to get the player in, but it’s their money.”

View gallery

• "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "

Largest transfer fees Liverpool FC have received for players
    View gallery

Missing out on Willian with less than a fortnight before the transfer window closes on September 2 has raised fears of a repeat of last summer, when Rodgers was left short of attacking options after the Anfield board refused to release funds for the signing of Clint Dempsey.
    The manager is loathe to criticise Fenway Sports Group , who have made significant funds available to snare a marquee signing.
    But with their near rivals now spending heavily, Rodgers believes Liverpool have to splash the cash if they are to maintain a genuine top-four challenge.
    “I think the owners will spend the money,” he said. “They are ambitious for the club to progress and get into the Champions League places, and we also know in order to not get left behind you have to spend money.
    “That’s rightly important, to get quality in to help you progress, and the owners want to do that. We just need to make sure we can compete and get some players in.
    “What they have taken on here is a huge job. You have seen over the few years they will finance a project we are trying to develop and what we have to make sure of is we get the right players and the value and worth of the player is right.”
    Asked if Liverpool were too ambitious with their targets, Rodgers added: “Not necessarily too ambitious but there is a demand here to always get the best and you can’t always.
    “There are obviously unrealistic targets but we have to do our best to get the best players we can here.
    “We can’t accept defeat or excuses, that’s not the standard here, so we will have to keep plugging away and get best players we can.
    “We’ve sat down with the recruitment guys, working tirelessly really, so we hope to unearth something before the window shuts.”
    Meanwhile, Rodgers has stated Real Madrid will receive no encouragement from Liverpool over a bid for Luis Suarez with rumours Tottenham want to sign Karim Benzema as part of the deal to take Gareth Bale to the Bernabeu.
    “It’s very difficult at this time, we are trying to get one or two more quality players in through the door,” said Rodgers.
    “If we lose Luis at this stage… there might have been a point a few months ago where there was time to do it, but with 11 days to go it would be difficult to replace him.
    “I’m sure there will be plenty of activity in these last number of days. It is what it is, we will deal with it like we have during the summer. We’ve had no further bids for Luis, though.”

View gallery

• "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "
    • "

Players LFC fans want the Reds to sign this summer
    View gallery

From around the web

[FONT=Georgia, Palatino, 'Palatino Linotype', Times, 'Times New Roman', serif]Each English Premier League Team's Coolest Celebrity Fan
    [FONT='Helvetica Neue', Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif](Bleacher Report)

[FONT=Georgia, Palatino, 'Palatino Linotype', Times, 'Times New Roman', serif]Best- and worst-case scenarios for every EPL team in 2013-14
    [FONT='Helvetica Neue', Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif](Sports Illustrated)

[FONT=Georgia, Palatino, 'Palatino Linotype', Times, 'Times New Roman', serif]The 22 Worst Trades in Sports History
    [FONT='Helvetica Neue', Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif](The Fumble)

[FONT=Georgia, Palatino, 'Palatino Linotype', Times, 'Times New Roman', serif]What If The Best American Athletes Played Soccer?
    [FONT='Helvetica Neue', Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif](ThePostGame)

[/font]

[FONT=Georgia, Palatino, 'Palatino Linotype', Times, 'Times New Roman', serif]
    [FONT='Helvetica Neue', Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]

[/font]
    [/font]

[/font]
    [/font]

[/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]

[/font]
    [FONT=Georgia, Palatino, 'Palatino Linotype', Times, 'Times New Roman', serif]2 Comments

To leave a comment, you need to login via Facebook by clicking the button below

[FONT='Helvetica Neue', Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Sort:
    • Newest
    • Oldest
    • Most Popular
    • Most Active

Report Abuse

Boo Bird

11:48 PM on 22/8/2013
    Matthew: you don't think the £40 million they spent earlier in the summer was factoring in the Bale sale? Interesting...

Report Abuse

Matthew Priestley

11:26 PM on 22/8/2013
    It doesn't make sense though...

How can Spurs spend more money than we can? And I mean the targets they bought before they factored Bale going into their spending.

They bought Capoue, Soldado, Chadli and Paulinho before they knew they were selling Bale. At a net spend of around £37m.

We have a bigger ground (so more ticket sales), more fans worldwide (more merchandise sales and tv rights deals), more shirts sold, plus better sponsorship deals.

The only advantage they have over us financially is that they are in the Europa League, and that doesn't make them that much more money.

So WHY do we have a net spend of -£5m while they have a net spend of £37m?

[/font]

[/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]
    [/font]

Share on printShare on email

[FONT=Georgia, Palatino, 'Palatino Linotype', Times, 'Times New Roman', serif]Recently Published

Rodgers: Huge challenge for Liverpool to compete with big spenders

£93million exit of the Gareth Bale to Real Madrid has impacted on Liverpool FC

[FONT=Georgia, Palatino, 'Palatino Linotype', Times, 'Times New Roman', serif]Previous Articles

Liverpool FC: When will the Luis Suarez saga end?

IT’S a saga that is threatening to go on for as long as one of his suspensions.

[/font]
    [/font]
    Related Tags

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Murinho is up to his tricks and trying to distract and derail his competitors' plans.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

How do you determine from that article that the club is "broke"? Anyway, I have told you several times but you are still beating a dead horse, Liverpool's owners are simply not rich enough to compete with the top 5 clubs in the league - it is that simple. However, the club is FAR FROM broke. Things will not change until they build a new stadium and/or sell to deeper pockets. You can blame Rick "coco the clown" Parry for not selling to DIC when we had the chance.

X, you could learn something from Danny Agger...

“Barcelona are obviously a big club, but I have never thought about leaving Liverpool, unless they want to sell,” he was alleged to have said. “Everyone at the club is an integral part of my life -- I even have a YNWA [You’ll Never Walk Alone] tattoo! Frankly I don’t mind if we don’t finish in the top four, I love the club.”

http://espnfc.com/news/story?id=1528929&cc=5901

Now your standards have dropped , you dont mind , I mind !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sorry - being pragmatic has nothing to do with standards. Ranting and pouting about our lack of funds or transfer success won't change the team's fortunes. Again, I have told you thins MANY TIMES, FSG simply DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO COMPETE. That said, I am not a Liverpool fan only when they are a top 4 club, they could be relegated to the Blue Square Premier League and I would still PROUDLY support them. I have ZERO control over their on field success other than to make my voice part of the collective feedback to the club. So far, most fans are supportive and have developed a cautious optimism about our future. Afterall, would you dump your rich girl friend just because she hit upon hard times? If the answer is YES, then there is nothing further to discuss, if the answer is NO, then maybe there is hope for you yet.

YNWA

X - why would Willian choose Chelski over Spurs? Seems like even Spurs can't hit their transfer targets when the really rich clubs come along...look at Arsenal...the FACT of the matter that no one wants to deal with, is that the sport has been taken over by MONEY, skill and astute management is now secondary.

yep, as long as "my" club get a rich investor I am alright.

I am so happy to see Villa turnaround this season so far without any big transfer and sending bent the other way. Knowing Villa could have had 4 points from two game if not robbed by the big money spending Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

Mi waan know is which guy remove mi noice football post

Impertinent