while we chase Suarez, Rome burns....
Wolfsburg have confirmed they are closing in on a deal to sign Bayern Munich's Brazil midfielder Luiz Gustavo, but rejected reports that a deal was done.
The German side called a midday press conference at their stadium on Thursday, where they were expected to announce that a deal was struck for the out-of-favour player.
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger identified Gustavo as the midfield enforcer he needs weeks ago and is desperately hoping to see off competition from Wolfsburg and Rafa Benitez's Napoli for his signature.
Wolfsburg general manager Klaus Allofs said: 'He's going to leave Bayern and our chances aren't bad. The deal is not done. To report that is just false.'
Top-ranking Wolfsburg officials indicated earlier this week that they were on the verge of agreeing terms with Gustavo and Bayern to complete his signing.
It has been a frustrating summer so far for Arsenal and Wenger, who is despaerate to prise Luis Suarez away from Liverpool and is becoming increasingly anxious about landing the recruits he needs to convince the sceptics Arsenal are ready to challenge for the title.
Wolfsburg coach Dieter Hecking told SID: 'We can't confirm the transfer yet. He has been with the Selecao, so we haven't had more talks.
'But we hope he will decide for Wolfsburg. Of course we know there are several other clubs interested.'
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2c51PxuA0
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on FacebookSunday, August 28th, 2011. We will never forget !!
if you have 24 first teamer and 10 injured or carrying injury whose fault is that? Manay of the 17 players that left are not good enough for a decent first teamer and nearly all are at best bench warmers.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postif you have 24 first teamer and 10 injured or carrying injury whose fault is that? Manay of the 17 players that left are not good enough for a decent first teamer and nearly all are at best bench warmers.
We gave been on this journey before, where AW waits till the window is closing and then end up buying out of desparation, which leads to buying DUDS !!Sunday, August 28th, 2011. We will never forget !!
who you think he could have gotten before? He tried to get some top class players but they went elsewhere. Same problem Manu have. There is just so many world class players to go around. Nuff a the players out there now are overpriced. Number might not be there but many of who gone are also injury prone and woudn't be availabe or not better than the second teamers.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postwho you think he could have gotten before? He tried to get some top class players but they went elsewhere. Same problem Manu have. There is just so many world class players to go around. Nuff a the players out there now are overpriced. Number might not be there but many of who gone are also injury prone and woudn't be availabe or not better than the second teamers.
Ashley Williams - offer 6 they ask for 12... its months now and still we cant close the deal or go elsewhere.
Julio Caesar GK. From June we have been linked to him and we need an experience GK. We have 2 injury proned GK, and WS is so inconsistent.
Gustavo- been scouted long time, from early July, and now there is serious competition for his signature now.
We need a proflic striker, and we let Higuain go to Napoli, chasing Suarez, who we will NOT get. We sign an injury prone 20 yr old from the French 2 nd division. He is already injured.
When we nuh get Suarez, who is the back up striker ??Sunday, August 28th, 2011. We will never forget !!
Originally posted by Twan View Post
When we nuh get Suarez, who is the back up striker ??Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Arsenal is not that weak in goal. Do you think Ashley Williams is worth 12 million? I wouldn't pay more than 8 million for him and I like him as a player. How did he let Hiaguain go to Napoli???
Not many difference makers are available out there now. If you buy Ceaser, how many years you think he will be around? Joke business, most of the top Premier League teams have not been able to attract good players this summer.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostArsenal is not that weak in goal. Do you think Ashley Williams is worth 12 million? I wouldn't pay more than 8 million for him and I like him as a player. How did he let Hiaguain go to Napoli???
Not many difference makers are available out there now. If you buy Ceaser, how many years you think he will be around? Joke business, most of the top Premier League teams have not been able to attract good players this summer.
Higuain asked Napoli for 48 hrs to consider before he signed, hoping for AW to come back in for him. Arsenal was his first choice.
Ceasar have at least another 3 years left in him. Give him a 2 year contract. His experience will help pull WS to greater heights. How many games has the top 2 keepers missed last year ?? They both make crucial mistakes especially in big games. If you think we have world class keepers, you are mad!
Really ? City bought who they wanted, Chelsea too, and going for Rooney.
Manu still trying to get players, even though they have a deep squad.
spurs have been getting their targets.Last edited by Twan; August 15, 2013, 09:14 PM.Sunday, August 28th, 2011. We will never forget !!
Spurs buying a lot of players. What have their friendlies been like? Without Bale they will be crying. Yeah City got their players. Chelsea didn't spash the checkbook. How you know about Higuian decision? pure speculation. If Arsenal was his choice he would have been there.
Again speculation with Ashley Williams as you have no idea, we are just asuming. I doubt any ambitious top side planning for the future would get a goalie with his better days behind him long term..- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
HerpesHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Assasin View PostSpurs buying a lot of players. What have their friendlies been like? Without Bale they will be crying. Yeah City got their players. Chelsea didn't spash the checkbook. How you know about Higuian decision? pure speculation. If Arsenal was his choice he would have been there.
Again speculation with Ashley Williams as you have no idea, we are just asuming. I doubt any ambitious top side planning for the future would get a goalie with his better days behind him long term..
did i say sign Caesar long term? i said 2 years to allow WS to develop.
so lets agree that you stick with your speculation and i with mine.Sunday, August 28th, 2011. We will never forget !!
Originally posted by Assasin View PostSpurs buying a lot of players. What have their friendlies been like? Without Bale they will be crying. Yeah City got their players. Chelsea didn't spash the checkbook. How you know about Higuian decision? pure speculation. If Arsenal was his choice he would have been there.
Again speculation with Ashley Williams as you have no idea, we are just asuming. I doubt any ambitious top side planning for the future would get a goalie with his better days behind him long term.."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365