Davis: New Under-15s lack basic skills

Do you recognize there being a 'period of development'? A time during which growth and development occurs?

...do you think the young talents arrived at academies - club or private - or in club's first team having been taught something about how to 'kick a ball'? If you do, do you thing any development told place previous to arrival? ...or do you assume they were just 'blank slate'?

Massa talk sense...please!!!

If there was not growth and development previous to the kids arriving at your academies or clubs tell me how they would have been 'spotted'?

What would there be about a kid who had never been introduced to the 'game' or played (=had had no period of development of skills necessary to 'kick on') that would suggest to the technical 'experts' in an academy 'that one'?
    Last edited by Karl; August 15, 2013, 04:51 PM.

full circle ......

pick them out of the school to develope them because if they stay in the school systme their football growth will be retarded.

you have to find them at 10 and 11 though maybe the odd one here and there at 12/13 to send to the academy school used to spot talent? OK but not to develope it. 4-6th form ...is too late

full circle ......

pick them out of the school to develope them because if they stay in the school systme their football growth will be retarded.

you have to find them at 10 and 11 though maybe the odd one here and there at 12/13 to send to the academy school used to spot talent? OK but not to develope it. 4-6th form ...is too late
        Pick them up young to further develop them.
        The origin of the discussion was and it still is - How best to develop our (Jamaica) talented youngster at football.

It makes no sense ignoring our school - the talent pool.

Interwoven in an inseparable manner is, how best leverage the investments - persons trained to teach football and in need of even greater training i.e. ongoing improvement of tools necessary to accomplish best teaching or the oft stated "continuous education" in and at the schools.

It has been recognized that of paramount importance in any development program is, "development of well rounded individuals"....therefore a 'strong' academic program must also be wielded to any academy program. ...another reason why that total development must be foremost even as there is stated aim of graduating excellent potential top world football players.

Look - It must never be forgotten that more than 99% of the talented will never make it to the professional leagues.

Our academies will, as do all other academies, face the reality of that 99% even as it trumpets its few 'stars'.

There are no offers or promises and you are requested to be abundantly clear that it remains exceptionally difficult to succeed as a professional footballer ; almost all who make the attempt will fail. But if one is talented enough, associations with professional football entitles will allow for the offer of a pathway to becoming a professional player.
        The above has been and is just above verbatim what is communicated to youngsters deemed having the potential to grow and develop into being professional footballers.

In our Jamaica talent abounds...but that talent is in just about 99.9999+%age case being led to a dead-end as the resources at our disposal are being ignored and the teachers are not being themselves introduced to best practices or given the required tools to do 'best' by our talented youngsters...similar to our teachers of mathematics and the sciences.

It is clear that there must be maximizing on use of our resources. Ignoring 'the talent pool' by not improving the learning environment for the young talents in the formative years is 'nonsense policy'.

Let us face facts -
        a) If the academies are finishing schools then the intake must be of a standard such that the academies receive students with foundation on which to build;

b) If academies are elite schools then it is the reality that there will never be enough academies to provide access for all deserving of entry.

In such a situation the very many other schools become only option those who for whatever reason of a myriad of possible reasons have “fallen through the net” i.e. did not gain a place in an academy although of required talent to have been gained entry.

Providing at schools the best possible learning environment just plain makes sense....and it matters not if it academics or sports or other area. In the final analysis it is all about excellence in specialty along with development of well rounded individual.

c) There is also the fact that each individual (... and that includes even if with all things being equal) develops at (his/her) unique pace.

There is such a thing as late development.

d) We in Jamaica are in no position to deliberately *discarded even one talented potential professional footballer. We cannot (in all sense of the word) afford it.

*Comparison - Last year Brazil with its vast pool of talented academy and club footballers exported 1300 players.

http://www.localsoccernews.com/argentina-overtakes-brazil-to-become-main-source-of-professional-footballers-worldwide/

Ignoring our schools even from self-interest (perhaps, even moral depravity=cold calculating selfishness) makes no sense...as a Jamaica players agent or Jamaica's football clubs or a JFF or a Jamaica Football Industry would definitely under-develop entities (schools) limit the pool from which talents are drawn/from which talent could be found to financially enrich.

Schools do not = high schools!
          High schools are merely a part of our school system.

At 5 years old Karl? You are telling me that they develop them in kindergarten?

That is a part of the process!!!
              The motor skills may be 'wobble-ly'...but kids start even before that -e.g. 3 year olds?

Now how you go about teaching at those early years is for expert teachers. Many are the papers claiming the very best teachers should be at early-childhood years=early formative years.

Why not for football?
              Just another area of learning! ...isn't it?

Karl...stop...

Schools do not = high schools!
                  High schools are merely a part of our school system.
                  Karl - if you use schools in the equation, how do you get "the best to play with and against the best"?

It is a ladder -
                    The top 'best' would be culled enter an academy or if we have more than one academy then hopefully a ranking system will obtain.

To focus on your 'best against the best' - Perhaps at this time (in the era of no academies) the 'best should be played against parish best X1 at each age group...and against older teams...perhaps even our NPL teams. Certainly any at the level of a best of the best at say U-15 level...should be able to defeat most of our current NPL teams considering the poor standards of the NPL??? Perhaps???

When a number of academies come on stream then as in, say the EPL, we institute an academy league.

However it would be vital that each entity (academy) ape the track and field model - seek international competition as supplement to local competition. ...e.g. JFF academy (when it comes on stream...and others as they come on stream) supplement by arranging tournaments involving visiting quality academies or even comparable age-group national teams...and also make overseas trips to attend tournaments.

The next on the ladder for 2nd tier quality at comparable age group would be school v school.

Paul,
                    Underlying message: Those who suggest ignoring of the schools send -
                    a) 'no place for the slow developer'.
                    That cannot be our pathway.
                    We, as culling of talent especially at the youngest of ages is a mixture of science (objective choice) and 'art' (subjective choice) and percentage probability of development into top quality professional player is low, cannot afford to overlook even one talent that is a late bloomer.

b) talent dropping from the sky like manner i.e. no formal introduction of the game to the mass wherein the extremely talented reside.

If not the schools...where is the alternative residence of our talent pool?
                    Who would introduce those excellent talented - with great potential to become top footballers - to the game and put same in 'viewing situations' whereby the academy scouts could made choices on quality of talent/potential for development to top class footballer?

...asked Bricktop, Gamma and others that question for years and it is always dodged... Where will the kids with talent be seen or found by the recruiters to fill or satisfy the academies if there are no kids (who were introduced to the game)?

Would it be say at 5/6 years old the scouts for the academies just grab any 30 kids off the streets? ...or would they prefer to at each age-group going forward to say U-15...even U-17 have an outside source where the recruitment occurs either for at the youngest ages en masse and at later stages as supplement to others already in attendance (poor ones dismissed/dropped or even excellent ones for personal or family reasons departing) and replacements found or not found)?

I am saying the schools provide the talent pool...having that talent properly prepared (prepared as best can be) is good for the academies and our football.

The child is 5 years old...he is just entering first grade...it is the academy that prepares him...if they don't make the cut they don't move to the next tier in the academy...duh...

When do you stop 'culling' talent and start teaching football ?

Are you saying HIGH SCHOOLS provide the talent pool ?

High School nuh start at 12 fi most pickney ?

Your brain is addled..

Do High Schools compete for players ?

What is the premier stage for display of 16-18 Age group players in the country ?

What would happen to the glorious Manning Cup and DaCosta cup if they put on display the what-leff players.. ones dat could not mek di Academy cut ?

Getting the picture.. ?

Good.

For someone who has zero experience in HS ball yuh ave nuff mout.

Yuh ah one ah di neanderthals who claim HS ball is "the problem" and it should be scrapped... utter rubbish

By the time ballers get to 16-18 and are in Manning D'Cup the die is already cast...it's cast from the U-10 level where there's no player development...and by 16-18 it's generally too late for anything but remedial work.

What would happen to HS ball if an academy is built??? It would continue...as it has for 100+ years...All Whirl War nuh tap dat... it's a tradition you have zero comprehension of

Instead ah yuh ignorant yapping betta yuh guh fine one nex Horse's Ass fi gi yuh some football tips cause yuh nuh reddy fi dis yet bwoy...wooooiiiieeeee
                            Last edited by Don1; August 16, 2013, 10:34 PM.

Zero experience in High School ball ?

Lol ! woiee !

Wrang and Strang per usual..

start again..

Wi naw tawk jacks yuh play ah yuh skool
                                Aldo dat involve ball as mi si mi sista dem did play