Davis: New Under-15s lack basic skills

Private academy would not be a pay for play...they identify the talent that they think will develop into a player able to earn a wage playing overseas...it is in the academies best interest to provide top of the world instruction or their investment will be lost...the JFF and the GOJ cannot do this...this is not Track & Field...this is a lot more technical...
    This not track and field this more technical?
    What a load of crap!!!

Guess you would say on academic subjects something along the line of this is not Physics this is Math more technical? ..or for Languages v History or whatever...this is not...the other is more technical..?
    ..and that would be a load of crap!

Aims must be the same development to FULLEST ABILITY!!! Effort must be same, FULL EFFORT!

Great...can you provide evidence of a top footballing nation that develops footballing talent in the school system...just name the countries no need for a long winded response...does Spain? Does Germany? Do the Netherlands? Does Italy? Does Brazil? Does Argentina?

You Know The Truth

Talent abounds?!?!
        Hope are doing well my friend. Coach

the problem is hs foster win at all cost and poor technique and play... the outcome is the important factor of hs. so by itself its not good.

What are you talking about?
            All these nations are actively working on improving instructions on football in these schools.They obviously do not believe in ignoring those school kids or being satisfied in 2nd rate instructions/teaching or 2nd rate teaching environment.

Bricktop: Read slowly - please?
            All the top football nations use an approach of integrating instructions linked across various providers of conduits for development of football players.

It is not a ignoring of either the schools, volunteerism, academies or clubs, etc. It is recognizing that all have a part to play.

Your screams suggest we in Jamaica reinvent the wheel. You are suggesting we ignore what these top footballing nations are doing.

After basically condemning football (soccer) to second tier sporting activity, in the USA at this present moment there is ongoing discussion on upgrading (finding) of teachers/instructors with improved/first rate qualifications to mentor the school teams. At every level where instruction is given to aid development of football players (and football) there is concerted effort to upgrade. Hell you would be comparatively speaking, yesteryear v present, difficult to find a school that does not now have a football team or enter a competition. There is a forward movement to provide access to all talent(ed) kids and to unearth 'best talents'. There is a recognition that quality instructions/quality teachers with quality facilities at every level is essential to development of top quality players and to improve 'the football'.

What top footballing nation DEVELOPS players in the school system...mi not into reading your epistle...just name the nations...

...so why do you think you get to choose say 'x' kids and there should be no provision for the other talented kids of top quality learning environment?
                The ones with the talent to reach the top are culled...the others go study dem books...go look girl...go smoke weed...do whatever di hell dem waan do...

The first obstacle for these millions of potential Brazilian footballers is the peneira, which means “strainer” in Portuguese. All the nation’s talents are thrown in, and out come the very best the world’s greatest football country can offer. Meanwhile, the unwanted, weak elements are left behind. It’s survival of the fittest; Darwinism applied to football.

Karl yuh inna categerry
                  I can understand your review of the game in various countries and but not your failure to grasp the significance of part the schools play.

It is understandable in these days of well organized and well funded professional sports for the vast majority to ignore the part amateur organisations and state sponsored efforts play in development of the sport.

It is, however, not readily understood the turning away from recognition that the youth through formative years will for the most part be found in schools. ...and additionally why today there is any person who does not recognize that schools are where a nation's young particularly in those formative years, those early-childhood years, spend appreciable time being acquainted with individual sports.

It is also not understandable why some persons cannot grasp the concept that in any learning situation but particularly during the formative years that in schools the young, particularly during the early-childhood years, should be taught and nurtured by teachers in each discipline who have had expert training to teach at that early-childhood age.

An example on part schools and other entities play in development of talented footballers in England: It is understandable that in the English game the work of the Professional Game Board (PGB) and its associated groups, largest of all being the Premier League Clubs, derive most attention. After all it is where the professional players are found, where inordinate amounts of funds are plowed into the game and where players transition into the national teams.

...but all these players were first attending schools and were first introduced to football by some entity affiliated with or associated with in some way the rarely spoken of or even known National Game Board (NGB).

Contrary to the belief of Bricktop and Gamma tremendous resources are poured into youth development at these amateur stages. The consensus on methods (teaching methods) at these early childhood years is gaining traction by leaps and bounds as it spreads throughout schools and what is now termed the 'grassroots movement'.

You do not abandon the schools and their resources you incorporate them in the Youth Development process.

Specific to Jamaica (which has always been the focal point of this discussion), the resources in the schools cannot be underestimated...or ignored...or wasted. It bears underscoring once again that:
                  a) In terms of physical resources - playfields, equipment, teachers, etc. not one club or collection of clubs can match the schools;

b) In terms of talent - potential players as a resource - the clubs youth arms cannot absorb the numbers of the talented;

c) In terms of financial resources - At this stage of our football development, all the clubs combined cannot access financial resources equal to or even 50% resident in the schools playing fields, classrooms (physical buildings) and other material resources brought to bear on football development of the young;

d) Never was it contemplated or proposed that i) private or club academies should not be created;
                  ...or...
                  ii) private or club academies should not upgrade selves towards 1st world football academy status.

It would be as silly as ignoring the schools, our vast talent pool and tremendous resources available therein to suggest abandoning creation of quality academies and an *acknowledgement of the part such academies can play in our football.

Unlike Bricktop and Gamma who know of countries that ignore development of young footballers in their school systems, I know of not one single solitary country that does not exploit their school system in the development of not just footballers but all their sports.

*After reading of the results gain by the West Ham Academy, Chelsea Academy, Barcelona Academy, the French Football Association Clairefontaine Academy to name a few, it would be silly to ignore the role such similar quality academy could play in our development of talented footballer.

...but certainly a thinking on where the young talents were introduced to the game previous to entering these academies must be of interest and some importance? For example, it was reported that Thierry Henry arrived at the the French Football Association Clairefontaine Academy when he was 14. Where was he during the years 6 through 14?

...where there players who arrived at academies at later ages who went on to make comfortable living as professional players? ...and others who become top quality professional players? If so, where were they in their formative years? ...where any being taught the game at school at any time during those years? ...where any engaged in learning/improving their football skills while at school?
                  Last edited by Karl; August 14, 2013, 03:53 PM.

Unlike Bricktop and Gamma who know of countries that ignore development of young footballers in their school systems, I know of not one single solitary country that does not exploit their school system in the development of not just footballers but all their sports.

Show me evidence of the development of Brazilian footballers in public schools...do that and I will apologize...

or the dutch ...

Show me evidence of the development of Brazilian footballers in public schools...do that and I will apologize...
                        Come up with the stats of Brazilian footballers who never played or where taught anything on football at their school out of total population of Brazilian footballers?

Start with number of professional footballers in Brazil? ...say pick any year 1990 to present...or provide numbers for a number of years?

...then move on to when each left school system and entered a football academy?

...knock yourself out!!!

Do you know the difference between the word DEVELOPED and the word PLAYED?
                          "We have a mass production of players," Parreira said. “I call it the factory. When a player is nine, he is already being evolved by a club. At 19, he has already had 10 years’ organised football. That’s why Brazil have so many good players, playing in the first division of Brazil aged 19.” …
                          There are no street players in Brazil any more. Players are built in clubs. This is the strength of Brazilian football. It is not about Pele, Kaka, Ronaldinho – it is about the system that produces them. This year we will transfer 1,300 players abroad. Ronaldinho at Barcelona and Kaka at Milan are role models for young Brazilian players to follow.”

or the dutch ...
                            http://www.jasondevos.com/wp-content...evelopment.pdf

Organized Club football from the age of 5
                            The best players play with the best against the best
                            At 5 years old they haven't done squat in school for a child's football development Karl...but the crap...and you can't play with the best against the best unless you discard marginal talent...

How the hell can high schools compete with this?!!!!

Karl is a joker...