Davis: New Under-15s lack basic skills

you guys looking at it the wrong way...that kinda discipline isn't going to work in Jamaica...and nobody is throwing anything at us...investor is in it to profit...if the talent is there a prudent investor will take advantage of it...

How you a go know if the talent is there if man a kick ball pon street?

Most progressive company will not associate themselves unless there is the intial progress. This is where Jamaica get it wrong most times. You have to give a little to get. All it need in most community is three or 4 people, one or two who know a little about ball and all 4 willing to work with the youths. Nobody is coming to invest inna anything more.

You know what mi notice? Jamaicans rather over 40 ball than youth games. Them like talk bout how dem did good, and there past days, them really nuh get the youth concept until them start play dcup, or unless you going to an elite prep school.

But high schools can and have.....

A quote from Traffic Academy in Brasil:

Traffic exist not for the love of football, but because someone realised it's good business
          An investor cares not what Jamaican people like...it's not about Jamaican people...it's about selling that 19 year old you just developed...

they can afford to do that now. You think they were always a money making entity??? The big mistake you make is thinking because you start with volunteer or because volunteer involved, it doesn't involve been a business.

Somebody have to go out there and start something with the intention of building and develop relationship. Nobody is going to come and invest big money in Jamaican football looking for big returns as it currently is.

Chances is if we organize ourselves we can build relationships and turn a profit eventually.

As one millionaire quote "not because it is not for profit, it means there is not money been made".

There you go again...who is talking about investing money in Jamaican football? that is where your thinking is...it's not about Jamaican football...it's about the balance sheet...if Jamaican football benefits in terms of having top class players to pull from well so be it...

can't take Jamaican football out of the equation. It has to be a part of the equation. How you going to get the best kids.

Karl...stop talking about HVFC...this is a crappy little semi-pro club that has no idea how to develop a footballer...private academies will be the ones to develop the players and try and sell them overseas...we are bypassing the NPL...
                  I am impressed with HVFC's work. It is a continuing process. The club is on a journey.

Bricktop: Yuh jus a come. Yuh ever si henny a dem ole tape (videos) of top English clubs from more than 100 years past?

The then type top football would be termed horrible today. It took hard work over time to have, for example, my GUNNERS roll baal as they presently do.
                  HVFC is in its early days. Hopefully the club shall move more rapidly towards current top quality play than The GUNNERS did.

HVFC is at the top of our current game. Give the club encouragement and time to move to producing more world class young players - (They produced 'Bibi"...'memba'?) - and teams.

Holy sweet sister Mary Frances... I understand now! You at stuck in time warp. How do they do it in Egland these days .... Public schools or academies associated with clubs?

You need to read up on "how they do it in England these days".

Check with Dunny on what happens in schools, the Government's push on sports, community clubs, conference and lowest of leagues...up to top professional and top academies. It appears you are a member of the ignorant who do not recognize that it has been and always shall be an integration of efforts across many different fronts.

It appears you have been duped and the nonsense about academies being the only entities that cater to development of players have been bought by you hook, line and sinker.

NB: Never overlook the role of 'volunteerism'...usually associated with relatives (inclusive of parents)...in the process.
                      Last edited by Karl; August 12, 2013, 11:05 PM.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                        He is right. It shows here we dont get it. The results is not a factor here and should not matter. What is key is that these players are past the so called golden age of learning for the sport without the proper technique and that is alarming. That is a problem that need to be fixed. 8-12 are crucial years. Fabian is saying what everyone in first world football knows.
                        Wow!! 8-12 is the critical period?? No shiit!!

I've seen many "experts" here claim that HS ball is to blame for Jamaica's poor player skills.. so HS ball is the problem and should be scrapped.. lol

Funny I've not seen many 8-12 y.o. players in Manning. They must all be in D'Cup I suppose.... Wooooiiiieee

Do you know there is a debate going on in Britian right now

about the decreasing opportunities for the less privileged...as private schools provide greater access to top quality facilities and environment for development of sporting talent in what has been termed "privilege perpetuating schools"?

Money or access to money driving access to quality learning environments that exclude vast numbers of talented youngsters from the less privileged classes?

Sure there are these schools and there are the academies - club academies and private academies...where some talented kids are welcomed. ...but there is a waking up to that curse that leaves vast numbers of talented kids denied access to quality learning facilities and environments.

The question for which answers are being sought is, how to halt that 'locking out' of vast numbers of the talented and the provision of excellent facilities and learning environment for the development of 'all' the talented kids. ...introduction of a process that ensures the very best talent as an avenue to the top.

...all that within a stated recognition that generally the level of technical quality has fallen behind that of say the football player in Spain?

The FA appears to be leading the charge on calling for at various age-grouping improving learning environment (inclusive of but not limited to size field, equipment, etc.) in which development takes place and improving coaches competence specific to the teaching at/for each age-group.
                          Last edited by Karl; August 14, 2013, 11:47 AM. Reason: Corrections

Wonderful wrtten effort, but if you we're asked to submitt this to the JFF by the JFF they would more than likely not understand saying to complicated for us. So much has been given to them before that they have rejected. It's useless to them...........Sad

I sat down with Fabina yeserday and today in the Cayman Island where we are for the CONCACAF U15 TOURNAMENT and asked about a future academy program or whether he would be able to continued with the U15 after this tournament. They JFF have not said this was to be part of the plan. His answer to me about what was happening with a future academy was that he only knew they were doing a 'grassroots' program. He's a good guys and he wants more for Jamacia, but from what I got was that just like all other teams that go to tournaments and come back home loosers is that there is no plan by the JFF to want to even move these players upward and forward. They lerave it to the schools and clubs. So Sad because the talent is all over the place in Jamaica, but the JFF could care less. Actions will always speak louder than words.

PB

Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
                              So Sad because the talent is all over the place in Jamaica...
                              Talent abounds?!?!

Karl yuh inna categerry