• David 'Wagga' Hunt Classic on tomorrow

David 'Wagga' Hunt Classic on tomorrow

Friday, August 09, 2013

THE Fifth Annual David 'Wagga' Hunt Classic will be held tomorrow at the UWI Mona Bowl with three games, the first of which begins at 1:00 pm.

Meadhaven Invitational Women's team will face Barbican/Mona Women's team,

Pelicans FC take on Harbour View FC (Master's game) and Kingston College tackle Calabar High School (Manning Cup teams).

According to organisers, last year's staging of the Classic was successful as they were able to provide scholarships for two students, one from Kingston College and the other from Calabar.

The scholarship period for each recipient covers grade eight to grade 13.
    This year, organisers will introduce two more grade eight students into the programme, bringing the number to 10 for the academic year 2013 to 2014.
    Private partner Victoria Mutual Building Society makes a contribution equivalent to funding one of the scholarships entirely.

Proceeds from this year's event, along with the expected additional sponsorship contributions, will go towards maintaining those scholarship initiatives, while honouring Hunt's name and principles that guided his life.

Hunt, a KC old boy, had a passion for football and dedicated his life to the sport and was deeply committed to his players' well-being, both on and off the field.

He was one of Jamaica's foremost track & field analysts, the co-founder of Meadhaven Football Club, a former Jamaica National Under-17 coach, and was Calabar's Manning Cup coach up to his death from a
    heart attack.

Hunt led Calabar to both Manning Cup and Oliver Shield titles before his untimely passing in October 2007.

There will also be a David 'Wagga' Hunt Memorial Scholarship Fund after party later Saturday night at Club India, 38 Lady Musgrave Road.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2bUZyVGlY

Where can I watch? ESPN or FSC.

Thanks.

A tournament for a man who died way too early, gave a lot to football in Jamaican and that is really what you decide to post.

For a big man, you should really do better.

True its not ah 'merican ting, him act dem way deh......smh

Originally posted by Me View Post
          A tournament for a man who died way too early, gave a lot to football in Jamaican and that is really what you decide to post.

For a big man, you should really do better.
          Please accept my apology. I must admit I did not know who the person you mention was...

Sorry:

Please accept my apology. I must admit I did not know who the person you mention was...

Sorry:
            There is usually a game/tournament here in S. Fl. for wagga as well...not sure if it will happen this year.

Big Man dat

A little bit of/on David "Wagga" Hunt!

Calabar, David Hunt and Walker Cup
                published: Tuesday | November 6, 2007

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure2.html

---------

At a function held at the Norman Manley Law School on Saturday, October 10, 2009, two inaugural David Hunt Memorial Scholarships were awarded in honour of the late Calabar High School and Jamaica national coach, David "Wagga" Hunt. The scholarship winners are Jehvaun Faulder of Calabar and Miguel Morrison of Kingston College.

http://www.kcobaatl.org/2009/Oct/ArticleD12.html

---------

Even in death David still gives - http://www.kctimes.org/articles.aspx...00&kcedtn=1018

----------

His reach stretches far and wide

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...n-USA_13259290

David Hunt Committee inaugural ball in USA

Saturday, December 22, 2012

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2bYv2A6Kt

WASHINGTON, DC, USA — The David Hunt Committee members in Washington, DC, will be hosting a 'Jamaican Inaugural Ball' on Saturday, January 19, 2013

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2bYusl5LB

Under the distinguished patronage of Jamaican Ambassador to the United States Stephen Vasciannie, the event will raise funds for the David Hunt Scholarship Fund. It will also honour and celebrate US President Barack Obama and vice-president Joe Biden on their second inauguration, and the continuing warm relationship between the American and Jamaican governments.

This formal event will be held at the elegant Atrium of the National Education Association (NEA) building, located at 1201 16th Street, NW in Washington, DC, from 8:00 pm - 12:00 midnight.

All proceeds will go to the David Hunt Scholarship Fund, which provides scholarships to deserving students at Calabar High School and Kingston College in Jamaica. David Hunt, a distinguished past student of Kingston College, was co-founder of Meadhaven United Football Club, a former general secretary of both the Kingston & St Andrew Football Association and the Minor League Football Association.

He was one of Jamaica's most notable track and field analysts, a former Jamaica national Under-17 football coach, and Manning Cup coach to Kingston College, Calabar and Meadowbrook High Schools. He led Calabar to both Manning Cup and Olivier Shield titles in 2005, before his untimely passing in October 2007 from a heart attack. His passion for youth and sports were unequalled.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2bYuWbB2H
                http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...n-USA_13259290

----------

Additionally - I have meet many wonderful persons in football...none better than David Hunt. David Hunt would be at the top of the list of wonderful persons I have met in my life.

Many persons do tremendous work for 'the football' but many of these persons are also 'not so nice'. The David Hunt I knew was a gentleman. Brilliant mind. Soft spoken committed individual - focused, passionate, who gave his all...always pleasant. Just a great person.

It is no surprise that others have seen fit to create meaningful memorials in his name. It would be no surprise if those efforts grow more and more meaningful in contribution to not just our football but to lives, period!!!

When one thinks on 'role model', David was a role model and dare I predict shall continue to be.

On the passing of David Hunt - RBSC website taken from The Gleaner:-
                http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...al=the&id=1203
                Last edited by Karl; August 10, 2013, 07:19 AM.

When yuh mek dem is some doozies baba

There is usually a game/tournament here in S. Fl. for wagga as well...not sure if it will happen this year.
                    Please Keep me informed. I am not far away. Might just make the trip to support the effort--and to learn more about this person.