• Help? - Phoenix Academy player rises in KRC Genk

Seeking more info on the below?

Just curious - Is this a signing from Phoenix Academy to KRC Gent? ...or is this purely the player's remuneration? Was manager(s), guardian(s) or Players Agent(s) or attorney/legal firm representing the youngster?

Cannot find any 'google' info substantiating KRC Gent doing this deal save that from Craig Butler/Phoenix?

Help? Would love to see supporting info as Craig Butler has been working at building Phoenix and developing his relationship with Gent for a number of years. Great if he pulled this off.

Also seem to remember some time past another youngster from Phoenix having signed a professional contract? Just have not been able to find info to enable a following of progress. In fact, I gave up some time past on trying to find info on that player (or was it players?) and do not even have that youngsters name in my Shady Pines memory bank.

Please post any links or info found.
    Thanks!

-------------------------------

- Phoenix Academy player rises in KRC Genk

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, August 05, 2013

YOUNG Jamaican prodigy Leon Bailey has signed a three-year Euro$2m contract with top Belgium club KRC Genk, it was announced at a recent press conference by the Craig Butler-led Phoenix Academy.

Bailey, 15, a former Kingston College student who at 12 years old walked away with three KSAFA MVP awards at the Under-13, Under-15 and Under-17 categories in 2010, was seen in a video signing with Genk executives.

"The main focus of this is to announce the highest ever youth transfer in Belgium by a youth player from Jamaica in Leon Bailey," claimed Butler.
    Butler, whose six-year ban was lifted by the Kingston and St Andrew Football Association (KSAFA) recently, showed videos of Bailey and Genk officials signing documents.

In that video, the Genk official told Bailey that the contract was the biggest for someone his age, and that he hoped to see him on the field soon.
    According to Butler, Phoenix Academy and Genk have an arrangement to physically build an academy in Jamaica.

"We are returning home to build our academy here in Jamaica. The funds are already appropriated and we will be providing all the tools necessary for our young players," said Butler.

"We will also be developing our coaching staff and we will have one person here at all times from Genk," he added.

The prolific Bailey is just one of several Phoenix Academy players overseas hoping to secure contracts. Kevaughn Atkinson, Romario McKnight, Travis Blagrove, Kyle Butler, and Jason Wright will be joined by four players soon.
    Shawn Lawes is set to have a trial with Genk as well as Standard Liege and Anderlecht. Chevonne Marsh will travel to PSV Eindhoven, Lille and Genk, while Jevaughn Hutchinson and Odane Walters will journey to Genk.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2b9oEoO7k

Help? What help yuh need?

Info that can enable tracking of the youngster(s) and substantiating of the deal(s).

Among other things tried the KRC Gent's website and either there is no mention of the deal or I did a poor job searching.

Some time ago Butler announced that 2 members of Phoenix had secured contracts with Bayern Munich & Lille, BUT I couldn't find any info about that at either club. Then about 2 months later a picture surfaced with Butler & the kid that should have gone to Bayern in the stands at a Genk game & he announced that the kid was now with Genk, BUT again I couldn't find any info on that.
        Now this report is even more puzzling, because it's reported as the club's biggest youth signing, BUT you can't find any info apart from Butler's announcement & how/why would he make an announcement about Genk building an academy in Jamaica without any Genk officials present???

Originally posted by USAF View Post
          Now this report is even more puzzling, because it's reported as the club's biggest youth signing, BUT you can't find any info apart from Butler's announcement & how/why would he make an announcement about Genk building an academy in Jamaica without any Genk officials present???

"...the highest ever youth transfer in Belgium by a youth player from Jamaica..."

Butler must be rich by now. LOL

http://www.krcgenk-jeugd.be/nl/club/teams

Karl, this is all I could find, but very interesting they have teams all the way down to under seven, for every year, wow!

dont watch that.... He was on sportmax and said the youth did sign. Good for him and the player.

While I want to believe him it would be nice to have a second source.

If all the signing Craig said took place since the last 2 years, he must be in a good place. Haven't heard much from the club or much of their performance since signing.

Let us see if this is any different

I visited that and its English counterpart and did not see the youngsters. Did I miss them?

Butler is always shady when it comes to providing accurate details of what happens with his footballers.

However, what the website at Genk does show is that Leon Bailey is no longer with the youth teams and has been promoted to the Belofter (reserve team), which means that they definitely think he is an abnormal talent.

The "Bayern one" joined a Bayern affiliated club, not the team themself. Just like the one going to Lille was really going to be going to Mouscron in the Belgium second division. For whatever reason, neither worked out.

All the scouts from Europe are interested in Bailey. I suspect he is able to leverage things for the others because of him.

thanks for that info.

Thanks....please post the link?

http://www.krcgenk-jeugd.be/nl/club/teams

Last year on that page, he was on the Elite 16, then quickly got put up to the 17-19 and now is listed under the Beloften (third name). I think he is also in the picture at the top of the page. The one with his back to the camera.