• USA capture Gold Cup with 1-0 win over Panama

No Klinsmann, no worries as U.S. lift Gold Cup

Even with Jurgen Klinsmann suspended, the United States' golden touch with substitutes continued and now, the Americans are Gold Cup champions after beating Panama 1-0.

Brek Shea scored the game's only goal just minutes after coming on, slamming home Alejandro Bedoya's low, goal-bound shot in the 69th minute. It marked the second time in the tournament that Shea had scored the game winner as a sub and with the U.S. defense playing its most complete game of the tournament, the Americans were left to celebrate their fifth Gold Cup title in front of sizable crowd (57,920) at Soldier Field.

(continue)

Good tournament for USA. Nothing new there, the challenge is to step to the next level for the USA and that is where they hit the glass ceiling of their talent. My thought on this is when high school ball start getting some regular attention is when we will see a paradigm shift in US ball and the business side of world ball.

Congrats, but why wasn't that goal considered offside?

It would have been had Donavon touched it, but he didn't.

That's why the rule must be changed. Only a slow motion replay can confirm he did not touch the ball. What is not in dispute is whether he was intimately involved in the play.

For me...Offside! No goal!

Because it was not.
              When the ball was played by the player on the 'right-wing' both players were so on-side that it just could not be questioned -
              i) They both had more than 2 defenders nearer their goal-line than they were!= Not Offside!

ii) When Donovan missed kicked the player who eventually helped the ball over the goal-line was behind the ball! = Not Offside!!!

Both "i" & "ii" each...as per Laws of the Games rules that a player in such position cannot be Offside.

It would have been had Donavon touched it, but he didn't.
                No it would not...as his teammate who scored was behind the ball i.e. the ball was nearer the defenders goal-line than he was when Donovan (#10) misfired (68M 38 sec) - The ball was then on the '6 yard line'!

Brek Shea (#23), the goal-scorer was at that moment about 3' in-field from the '6 yard line' i.e. 'behind the ball'=ball nearer opponent's gaol-line than he was.

An attacking player or the entire attacking team cannot be Off-side if the ball is nearer to the defending team's goal-line than that player is or the entire set of attacking players is (and although unlikely that could be the entire attacking team)!

NB: Incidentally a replay of the video using slow-mo or slow-slow mo will make relative positions of each player and ball clear.

As far as I know all our cable boxes and satellite boxes can provide such slow-mo of recorded programs.
                Last edited by Karl; July 29, 2013, 10:33 AM.

Because it was not.
                  When the ball was played by the player on the 'right-wing' both players were so on-side that it just could not be questioned -
                  i) They both had more than 2 defenders nearer their goal-line than they were!= Not Offside!

ii) When Donovan missed kicked the player who eventually helped the ball over the goal-line was behind the ball! = Not Offside!!!

Both "i" & "ii" each...as per Laws of the Games rules that a player in such position cannot be Offside.
                  Gwane King Karl...hahahaa

That's why the rule must be changed. Only a slow motion replay can confirm he did not touch the ball. What is not in dispute is whether he was intimately involved in the play.

For me...Offside! No goal!
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXXC5UoP-DA
                    Mo - not so. Checkout the video. On closer inspection, even if Donovan touched the ball, Shea was onside. He was still behind Donovan at the time the ball got to Donovan (See 12 second mark on video). What is without dispute is that at the time the ball was crossed, he was CLEARLY onside (See 1st second).

Class dismissed.

And by the way...the calls for an earlier penalty for the US were bogus...no way that the Panamanian defender knew where the ball was much less have any intent of handling it.

No it would not...as his teammate who scored was behind the ball i.e. the ball was nearer the defenders goal-line than he was when Donovan misfired!

An attacking player or the entire attacking team cannot be Off-side if the ball is nearer to the defending team's goal-line than that player is or the entire set of attacking players is (and although unlikely that could be the entire attacking team)!
                      Agreed. I thought he was in front of Donovan when Donovan wiffed...but he was not. See 12 second mark here: : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXXC5UoP-DA).

Landon Donovan awarded Golden Ball as player of the tournament

Early in the 2013 Gold Cup, everyone was watching Landon Donovan to see how he would fare being back in the US national team setup.

By the end of the tournament, you couldn't take your eyes off of him because, arguably, he was playing better than ever as he led the Americans' to their 5th Gold Cup title.

(continue)

Got you!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXXC5UoP-DA
                              Mo - not so. Checkout the video. On closer inspection, even if Donovan touched the ball, Shea was onside. He was still behind Donovan at the time the ball got to Donovan (See 12 second mark on video). What is without dispute is that at the time the ball was crossed, he was CLEARLY onside (See 1st second).

Class dismissed.

And by the way...the calls for an earlier penalty for the US were bogus...no way that the Panamanian defender knew where the ball was much less have any intent of handling it.
                              He needs to stap watching that likkle 13" fuzzy fuzzy B/W TV... wid the wire hanger as antenna.