Good call by the ref...defender would have cleared that shot...
What was this Jamaican ref thinking??
Originally posted by Peter R View PostKarl,
Note true that the goalie was the last defender when the infraction occurred. He was, on the initial head out which went to the opponent, but a defender kept his run and WAS behind the goalie when he handled the ball... AND as Paul pointed out the ball was shot straight into the man's chest.
See it here: Go to minute 54 +. The overhead shot on the replay shows the defender CLEARLY behind the keeper.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bgjft1n9ZEs"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
...you do know that it is possible that the goalkeeper at times become the last out-defender but one? i.e. 2nd-to-last defender?
(...and just to cover all bases - Sure the goalkeeper could also have 2 or more other defenders behind him/her both inside and outside of the penalty-area!)"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl...you see where the defender is when the ball is handled?Attached Files
Originally posted by Bricktop View Post...the goalkeeper was not the last defender...what is an "out defender"?
However in this case I think the referee was merely calling an offense committed by a defender against an attack which in his opinion was worthy only of a caution. ...and I made a defense of the ref by saying similar offenses have been called by other refs in similar circumstance.
I think a problem was caused because I differentiated 'outfielders' from the goalkeeper when it was not necessary to do so. On reflection, I should have just referenced the goalkeeper in this instance as 'the second last defender' or 'last defender but one'. He was second defender nearest to his goal.
NB: It has been most often that where expulsions have been given for 'preventing a goal-scoring opportunity' it is usually the last defender but one who commits the offense. Most often 'the but one' is Mr. Defender Goalkeeper.
Goalkeepers are merely defenders who can legally handle the ball in the penalty-area. It is usually rare for the goalkeeper to be the second last defender. Goalkeepers are instinctively and often considered as last defender/last line of defense when reality is, at times during play the goalkeeper is not the last defender.Last edited by Karl; July 19, 2013, 09:09 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Peter R View PostOk. So now that it is agreed he was not the last man, and having seen the video ( I assume), did the ref make the right call?
I have seen refs in other high profile matches make a similar call!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Peter R View PostOk. So now that it is agreed he was not the last man, and having seen the video ( I assume), did the ref make the right call?
On a related note, the analysts in this gold cup have been pathetic. I heard one of them say that the ref should have called a hand ball infraction because "intent didn't matter". And I think it was Coby Jones riding shotgun on this game saying that this was a clear red card. KMT."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365