What was this Jamaican ref thinking??

• What was this Jamaican ref thinking??

Courtney Campbell officiated the USA's 1-0 win over Costa Rica tonight.

In the 56th minute the Costa Rican goalkeeper was at least 5 yards outside of his box when he punched away a U.S. shot. Campbell then showed him a yellow card when the rules clearly call for an expulsion.

Stimulants maybe?

Refs have been making bad calls all tournament, not just the Jamaican ref. or you only watch one game?

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
        Courtney Campbell officiated the USA's 1-0 win over Costa Rica tonight.

In the 56th minute the Costa Rican goalkeeper was at least 5 yards outside of his box when he punched away a U.S. shot. Campbell then showed him a yellow card when the rules clearly call for an expulsion.

Where do the laws "clearly" call for an expulsion? If you are referring to the denial of a goal scoring opportunity provision for expulsion, I submit that the ball was smacked directly at the keeper. If he had his arms out of the way, it would have hit his chest...and even if it did not, are you sure the strike would have hit the back of the net? I don't see this as clear cut as you do and agree with the yellow card.

Costa Rica then caught a huge break just a minute later. A communication mix up between Pemberton and defender Giancarlo Gonzalez saw the two collide as the goalkeeper came out of his box to clear. The ball fell to Wondolowski, whose shot was blocked by Pemberton outside the box in a clear case of handball. It seemed to be a clear sending off, but referee Courtney Campbell issued a yellow card.
          http://espnfc.com/blog/_/name/soccerusa/id/2964?cc=5901

In the 55th minute, Costa Rica goalkeeper Patrick Pemberton had been coaxed from his box and subsequently pawed away a Wondolowski shot. Having denied the Americans a clear scoring opportunity by purposely using his hands, he should probably have been expelled from the game. Referee Courtney Campbell made no such decision, however.
          http://msn.foxsports.com/foxsoccer/g...-report-071613

Costa Rica goalkeeper Patrick Pemberton came rushing out of his 18 to clear the ball, but collided with his own defender in the process, leaving Wondolowski an empty net. However, Pemberton used his hands to block shot, leading to vehement shouts from the US for a red card, only to see referee Courtney Campbell show yellow for the offense.
          http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter...SA-v-CRC/recap
          Last edited by Zeppo; July 17, 2013, 01:12 AM.

Courtney Campbell's act could be considered 'grandfathered'

...in, that is, it is an act that is clearly outside previous accepted norm yet after frequent application becomes accepted as norm. More and more we are seeing acts by the last 'out defender' or the last defender (in this case, the goalkeeper) prevent what is deemed (by whom? ...seem as) 'denying a clear goal-scoring opportunity' being cautioned when the applicable rule demands an expulsion.

Campbell's act is in line with previous recent acts by some refs.

...in, that is, it is an act that is clearly outside previous accepted norm yet after frequent application becomes accepted as norm. More and more we are seeing acts by the last 'out defender' or the last defender (in this case, the goalkeeper) prevent what is deemed (by whom? ...seem as) 'denying a clear goal-scoring opportunity' being cautioned when the applicable rule demands an expulsion.

Campbell's act is in line with previous recent acts by some refs.
              He was not the last defender, there was a player behind him.

So I guess you are saying I must subordinate my own observations and senses to the musings of these clowns who are not beyond bias...sorry...I know what I saw and I don't agree that the infraction met the standard of denying a clear goal scoring opportunity:

1. the ball would have hit him square in his chest regardless, he was guilty of being foolish or guilty of a mental lapse in using his hands (or both)

2. there was a player behind him

3. I am not certain if the shot was on target, but even if I accept that this was the case, the above two points still hold.

Re: ...Jamaican ref thinking=Courtney Campbell...

If you were pointing out as a matter of not having anyone think on reading my post that a was miss-stating fact on what occurred or miss understand exactly the instant circumstance...then - OK!

However if you were thinking I 'mis-spoke' then that would be an error as you would have missed -
                  More and more we are seeing acts by the last 'out defender'...
                  The last 'out-defender' in the context used meant that at the moment the offense was committed 'keeper was nearer to the goal than he/she is.

NB: Was comment on topic under discussion but post was stated as being applicable to broader 'any match' in which a ref acts in like manner.

Refs have been making bad calls all tournament, not just the Jamaican ref. or you only watch one game?
                    Good one, Sass!

Don't you know the guy Zeppo has a part time job as a critic of Jamaica??

Whe yuh deh??? woooiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeee

If you were pointing out as a matter of not having anyone think on reading my post that a was miss-stating fact on what occurred or miss understand exactly the instant circumstance...then - OK!

However if you were thinking I 'mis-spoke' then that would be an error as you would have missed -

The last 'out-defender' in the context used meant that at the moment the offense was committed 'keeper was nearer to the goal than he/she is.

NB: Was comment on topic under discussion but post was stated as being applicable to broader 'any match' in which a ref acts in like manner.

That makes sense, but not to me... [can someone please check what the staff is spiking Karl's mint julep with please?]

He has a Canadian masseuse, male trainer or masseur too??? LOL

There is a Puerto Rican ref who should not be all owed to officiate another game. He ref the Haiti v. El Salvador game.

Terrible!!!!