Old...but interesting article about

Karl, I remember when the Metro Stars tried in more than one way to reach out to the Caribbean community and even had Caribbean day and used local Jamaican/Trini/Haitian promoters to carry entertainment such as Beenie, top Calypso band(can't remember which one it was, and Tabo(Haitian band) and had a carnival like atmosphere. It was not supported by the Caribbean community. I remember them going to the Bronx and recruiting players for the Metro B team. One of the youth made it unto the A team(Can't remember his name but he was a dreadlocks) but he didn't last. But if we don't support you think they are going to support us?
    LOL

Suh yuh tink Babylon muss juss run couple chune fi mek foolfool peeple jump up an dung inna publik like dem ah jackass...den wi agguh jine dem bandwagon fi dat??

But ah wha kina lickylick argument dis Faada
    Last edited by Don1; July 7, 2013, 09:31 PM.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
      This is exactly right.

Clint Dempsey nearly got left behind for precisely this reason. Luckily other parents of his youth teams offered to subsidize his expenses for travel, etc.
      Boo Hoo

Poor, poor whites

...yuh dun kno dat wen a rich kids dem ofen di 'kaa-nec-shan (& dunny) trump colour

ok boss

Paul if your ghetto youth is good enough trust me some of those club will pick him up and pay for him...
            That's the problem Sass - only a top kid will get treated like that...there is no PROGRAM for the inner city and under privileged or broader working class kids in soccer, no matter what colour they are, end of story. American soccer is doomed until they figure that component of the equation out.

we can't complain then. Where is the self pride and setting up our own?

But Paul what I am saying "WE" need to create programs for our kids.

Is it much easier in Jamaica when I wanted to start my D2 team? We had no money and some of us had no boots. We asked people in the community for bottles, keep parties, get some white TShirt until we could get a tailor to do some Jersey for free. We had no means of travel to play games but we struggle. Some game we had no sub as some players couldn't make it. We had to beg Banana board to cut the field and we use machete for the rest. Not to mention that we didn't get our prize money for placing second.

The fact is our hand and heart were in it and we made a team. Fact is we are looking for people to look after our kids while we go and play recreational soccer, not even taking our kids with us and not teaching them the game. Our kids are fat and are been fed the tv. High school sports can make you a football player and a baseball player, it will never make you a soccer player or tennis player in America.

Again when do you see us standing on street side with the kid with a pan, When do you see us doing car wash. You know a few people who play can come together and make a none profit and a program for different communities and look for support. There are Caribbean business entities etc. can support. Again we are waiting for people to come begging for us to join them.

I know you are trying. Keep on trying, which we had more people trying like you but the fact is most don't and rather play, St.Georges Against KC or Celebrity soccer games. You never hear they complain about the cost for that.

Some of that is priorty.
                Last edited by Assasin; July 8, 2013, 09:53 AM.

we can't complain then. Where is the self pride and setting up our own?
                  Yuh cyan walk an' whistle same time??

yeah but we only a talk, no whistle.

ok boss

But Paul what I am saying "WE" need to create programs for our kids.

Is it much easier in Jamaica when I wanted to start my D2 team? We had no money and some of us had no boots. We asked people in the community for bottles, keep parties, get some white TShirt until we could get a tailor to do some Jersey for free. We had no means of travel to play games but we struggle. Some game we had no sub as some players couldn't make it. We had to beg Banana board to cut the field and we use machete for the rest. Not to mention that we didn't get our prize money for placing second.

The fact is our hand and heart were in it and we made a team. Fact is we are looking for people to look after our kids while we go and play recreational soccer, not even taking our kids with us and not teaching them the game. Our kids are fat and are been fed the tv. High school sports can make you a football player and a baseball player, it will never make you a soccer player or tennis player in America.

Again when do you see us standing on street side with the kid with a pan, When do you see us doing car wash. You know a few people who play can come together and make a none profit and a program for different communities and look for support. There are Caribbean business entities etc. can support. Again we are waiting for people to come begging for us to join them.

I know you are trying. Keep on trying, which we had more people trying like you but the fact is most don't and rather play, St.Georges Against KC or Celebrity soccer games. You never hear they complain about the cost for that.

Some of that is priorty.
                        Sass, we agree that we have to start. However, all I am saying is that the road for the inner city kids is tougher because the system is designed to keep them out. Trying to overcome it will require a different approach. If I had a bit more stability in my life I would try a more aggressive tactic by finding sponsors to bring an inner city league to life. Before me dead, I will try it.

Paul the problem is, it start with a vision and too much of us lack it. We make the others tell us it impossible. Paul I think it is hard to do alone but any good 3 or 4 people can put a thing together. It is double stack against us because we do nothing Paul. Some people are doing and seeing success. I know in your area it might be hard now because it is such a well establish soccer area. I know Jamaicans who had things in your area so it is not impossible. The best place to do it is in a virgin area where others don't have things going.

Name the countries and some of the players. Thanks.

Not blaming anyone just being objective. Reaching is not taking the best players from a team in the city; thus weakening the team. Then go on to win and brag. The rule was once changed because a certain boys team from our league was dropping a lot of six, fives and above. The rule was you can't go beyond six goals or you face a fine.

Sass I could tell you stories. Parents from the suburbs spitting (I did not see my players complained) at my players because their kids' team lost. I saw them asking why didn't they get a penalty and why couldn't they win. Sass it's out there and you can't just say no it's not.

Name the countries and some of the players. Thanks.
                                Me nuh know weh Brickie get him stats from...